Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expendable Alfie
This takes no time at all to read
You're done in half an hour
It shows how far a man will go
to prove he has some power
To win the love of Mrs. S.
He pulls a clever ruse
If he can make her tortoise grow
He knows she won't refuse
Tortoises with matching shells
He plays his clever game
It takes an awful lot of...
Published on 28 Feb 2006 by Amanda Richards

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner
Plot: Mr Hoppy longs for a tortoise and looks at mrs silver down in her balcony. He was a lonley man and he heard mrs sliver say be your slave for life.He thought that he could marry her. She wondered what he was doing. What do you think he was doing...?
Review: I think this book is wonderful. It has lovely illastrations and is a real page turner!
Published on 7 July 2009


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expendable Alfie, 28 Feb 2006
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This takes no time at all to read
You're done in half an hour
It shows how far a man will go
to prove he has some power
To win the love of Mrs. S.
He pulls a clever ruse
If he can make her tortoise grow
He knows she won't refuse
Tortoises with matching shells
He plays his clever game
It takes an awful lot of work
To win his dizzy dame
ESIO TROT (spelled backwards please)
Gets larger as he'd said
And when he even shrinks it down
He gets inside her head
The moral of this leery tale's
"All's fair in love and war"
If you really want your lady's heart
Then it's worth cheating for
ADNAMA SDRAHCIR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 31 Mar 2005
I think this is an excellent story because I read it in two nights as it is short, but it has a good beginning and a good end. Another good story from Roald Dahl !
Reviewed by my 7 year old Daughter Rosalynn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best book that I have ever read.!, 9 Mar 2000
By A Customer
The best book that I had ever read was called ESIO TROT by Roald Dahl. It had a lot of humour in it and a bit of romance. I read this book in my school library. This book is about an old man who seems to like Mrs Silver but just cannot say how he feels about her. But eventually he gets married to her due to a little bit of help from a tortoise and a bit of sneakiness. You should read this book because it will put a smile on your face and laughter in your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 12 Feb 2008
Plot: Mr. Hoppy lived in a flat. So did Mrs. Silver - the love of his life. Mr. Hoppy wanted to marry Mrs. Silver but he was too nervous. Find out how one small tortoise brings them together...

Fact: As well as being an author, Roald Dahl was an inventor - he actually invented the tortoise-catcher in the story but he used it to pick up things because he had back pains. Plus, Roald Dahl had two children and when they were small, they kept one or two tortoises in the garden!

Rating and recommendation: I would rate this brilliant book 7/ 10; I would recommend this perfect paperback to all Roald Dahl fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A review of Esio Trot, 28 July 2001
By A Customer
A funny book, written by Roald Dahl and illustrated by the magic pencil of Quentin Blake, Esio Trot is a must for all young people. The book contains a single story, without chapters, and you would be well advised to start it when you have a bit of time on hand, as you won't want to put it down till the end. The book sounds good when read aloud, too, especially some parts which go like this: Esio Trot, Esio Trot, Teg reggib reggib! Emoc no, Esio Trot, Worg pu, fupp pu, toohs pu! Egrog! Elzzug! Futts! Plug! Tup no taf, Esio Trot, Tup no taf! Teg no, Teg no! Elbogg doof! Doesn't make sense? Read again! And again! The story starts with the author's note about pet tortoises and North Africa and other things besides. Based in England, the story is about a bachelor named Mr. Hoppy, who is desperately in love with Ms. Silver, the woman living in the flat just under his own. But Ms. Silver cares for her pet tortoise and nobody else, or so it seems to poor Mr. Hoppy. And as he is of a shy nature, the most he ever manages to say to Ms. Silver is good-morning as he waters his plants above her. And then one day Mr. Hoppy finds out that Ms. Silver would like nothing more than that her tortoise, Alfie, should grow bigger. This is the beginning of Mr. Hoppy's great plan, interesting chiefly because of the hilarious way he goes about executing it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner, 7 July 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Esio Trot (Hardcover)
Plot: Mr Hoppy longs for a tortoise and looks at mrs silver down in her balcony. He was a lonley man and he heard mrs sliver say be your slave for life.He thought that he could marry her. She wondered what he was doing. What do you think he was doing...?
Review: I think this book is wonderful. It has lovely illastrations and is a real page turner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is by Roald Dahld the book is Esio trot., 5 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This book is about a man called Mr Hoppy and a lady celled mrs silver.Mrs silver has a toroist how never grow so Mr Hoppy went to all of the pet shops in the town he bought them home they covod the floor.Mr Hoppy waigth them all and pick one and lowed it down to Mrs Silver how lived in the flat below Mr hoppy.Then Mr Hoppy married Mrs Silver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funny, funky, fiction book !!!!, 17 May 1999
By A Customer
This book is about a man who is trying to win the love of a lady who lives in the flat below him. He impresses her by boasting that he could make her tortoise bigger. This is definitely one of Roald Dahl's finest books. It is suitible for all ,complete with dashes of comedy and laughable phrases. By Ronan and Poppy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would you like to become a tortoise?, 27 April 2004
By A Customer
I'm a Year 3 Teacher. I'll let my kids do the talking...
Amrit - Have you ever dreamt of being a tortoise? Well, here's yourchance!!! Check out Esio Trot. If you read it backwards, you'll find outwhat it means. Do you think Mr. Hoppy will succeed? I thought that thebook was very exciting because after Mr. Hoppy's invention, I wanted toknow what was coming next. It was clever because Mr. Hoppy thought abouthis invention and designed it first. The book was funny, interesting andhelpful, because it taught me how to look after a tortoise. If youenjoyed this, try other Roald Dhal books, like The Twits, The MagicFinger, and Fantastic Mr. Fox.
Jasdeep, Hiran and Amardeep - This is a story about a man and a woman andAlfie. Mr. Hoppy loves Mrs. Silver. Mrs. Silver gives all her love toAlfie the tortoise. Mr. Hoppy is sneaky and makes a tool to catch Alfie. Will Mrs. Silver love Mr. Hoppy and Alfie. We thought this book was funny,because when Mr. Hoppy wrote some magic words, it had lots of words thatsounded like 'Poo'! It was clever and interesting, with Mr. Hoppy workingout some good plans. If you enjoyed it, try reading some more Roald Dahlbooks, like George's Marvellous Medicine or the Twits.
Aisha - Esio Trot is about a man whose name is Mr. Hoppy. His second Loveis a lady called Mrs. Silver, but Mrs. Silver gives all her love to alittle Tortoise called Alfie. Mr. Hoppy can't tell Mrs. Silver that heloves her because he is a very shy man. Will he be able to marry her? Ithought this book had all the things that you need to make a perfectstory. It had funny bits without being rude and it is superbly written byBrainy Author Roald Dahl. If I had to pick out one thing, it would be allthe words that sound like 'poo' when they are read backwards. Childrenwould love reading this book and other books by Roald Dahl including Boyabout the author himself.
Rabia - Mr. Hoppy is a really shy man. He did not tell anyone his specialsecret. Mrs. Silver is a really kind woman. Will they ever get together? This book is as brainy as the plan Mr. Hoppy thinks of. It has abrilliant middle and an excellent happy ending. Look out for when Mr.Hoppy changes the tortoise. If you enjoy it, try reading Fantastic Mr.Fox.
Sameerah - Esio Trot is a funny book. Mr Hoppy is in love with Mrs.Silver. Mr. Hoppy wants to be a tortoise because Mrs. Silver's tortoiseAlfie gets all the treats. There were lots of funny words that weresilly, because Mr. Hoppy writs in tortoise language. It has a happyending and taught me how people can get together. Children will love thisbook and could then enjoy other Roald Dahl books, like Fantastic Mr. Foxor George's Marvellous Medicine.
Hoomera - Mr. Hoppy has feelings for someone, but he wouldn't share itwith anyone. Mr. Hoppy is very shy. He liked this lady called Mrs.Silver. A tortoise called Alfie brings them together. SO what happens toMrs. Silver and Mr. Hoppy? I liked it when Mrs. Silver had to say all thewords backwards. It was interesting enough to want to read all the waythrough. Mr. Hoppy's plan was so brilliant that Mrs. Silver hardly evennoticed. The best thing was when Mr. Hoppy bought all the tortoises. Ifyou enjoyed it, try James and the Giant Peach.
Adam, Hamzah and Fathi - This is an excellent story with very clevercharacters. The brilliant Mr. Hoppy is very sneaky in order to win hisLove, Mrs Silver. Will he win his downstairs Love and take over from hertortoise, Alfie? Mr. Hoppy's plan is excellent and the story is good inbeginning, middle and end. It has no rude stuff and some brainycharacters. If you enjoy it, try the Marvin Redpost books by LouisSachar.
Bhavisha - Mr. Hoppy is a lonely and shy man. He has two loves. One loveis the flowers he grows on his balcony and the second one is Mrs. Silver. But Mrs. Silver gives all her love to a tortoise called Alfie. Will Mrs.Silver ever love MR. Hoppy? The book is well set out from cover to cover. The story is interesting and funny. It would be great for anyone wholoves tortoises. There are funny bits when lots of words sound like'poo'. Try other books by Roald Dahl, like the Twits or The BFG.
Karisma and Amena - Mr Hoppy was so shy, he didn't tell anyone his specialsecret. Mrs. Silver was a very kind Woman. Could a tortoise bring themtogether? Mr. Hoppy's plan was brainy, the story was brilliant and it hasa very happy ending. I loved the bit where all the tortoises get changed. Other great books by Roald Dahl are The Magic Finger and Fantastic Mr.Fox.
...they loved it, I hope you do too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ' "Hello Alfie", Mr Hoppy said, "You are about to go for a little ride.", 31 July 2014
By 
sally tarbox (aylesbury bucks uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Esio Trot (Paperback)
I borrowed this from library today for my 6 yr old grandson - the first 'proper' book I've ever read him. Despite having poor concentration, he listened right through and really enjoyed it.
Wonderful tale of shy Mr Hoppy seeking to impress the woman in flat downstairs by making her beloved tortoise grow. While Mrs Silver is reading her pet a 'magic spell' (we enjoyed reading the spell backwards and trying to decipher it), Mr Hoppy is surreptitiously removing tortoise once a week (using his tortoise-catcher) and exchanging it for a progressively bigger model...All well and good until it becomes too big for its little house...
Great illustrations by Quentin Blake bring the whole thing to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Esio Trot [Complete and unabridged]: Complete & Unabridged
Esio Trot [Complete and unabridged]: Complete & Unabridged by Roald Dahl (Audio Cassette - 9 Jun 1994)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews