Gaz's Rockin' Blues has been added to your Basket

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: Fulfillment Express
Add to Basket
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: skyvo-direct
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Gaz's Rockin' Blues
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Gaz's Rockin' Blues CD

1 customer review

Price: £11.32 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
32 new from £9.09 4 used from £7.79
£11.32 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Product details

  • Audio CD (5 Sept. 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Ace
  • ASIN: B000A8SXNI
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 142,448 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Good Rockin' Daddy - Etta James
2. Mary Lou - Young Jessie & The Cadets
3. Open The Door - Little Booker (Aka Joe Tex)
4. Oh! Oh! Get Out Of The Car - Richard Berry
5. Yama Yama Pretty Mama - Richard Berry
6. Tough Lover - Etta James
7. Have Mercy Miss Percy - Long Tall Marvin
8. Gotta Boogie - John Lee Hooker
9. Shake Holler And Run - John Lee Hooker
10. Who's Been Jivin' You - Jimmy Witherspoon
11. She's Dynamite - B.B. King
12. Whoopin' And Hollerin' - Preacher Stevens
13. Strange Kinda Feeling - Elmore James
14. Texas Hop - Pee Wee Crayton
15. I May Be Wrong (Boogie Woogie) - Little Johnny Jones & The Chicago Hound Dogs
16. Sweet Little Woman - Little Johnny Jones & The Chicago Hound Dogs
17. Come On Let's Dance - Van Robinson
18. Love My Baby - Robbin Ray
19. I'm Twisted - Cookie & The Cupcakes
20. The Blacksmith Blues - Chuck Higgins Orchestra
See all 28 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Product Description

• Compiled by Gaz Mayall, eldest son of blues legend John Mayall, and owner of the legendary London club "Gaz’s Rockin’ Blues", this CD updates the original LP released in 1981.

• The first 14 tracks replicate the 1981 release, and Gaz has selected a further 14 for this CD. Eleven tracks are new to CD, including John Lee Hooker’s sensational ‘Shake, Holler And Run’.

• Gaz’s Rockin’ Blues celebrates its 25th anniversary this year and Gaz tells the club’s story in his entertaining and lavishly illustrated sleeve notes.

BBC Review

London's longest-running club night, Gaz's Rockin Blues first opened its doors in 1980 and now celebrates its 25th anniversary witha double-CD of feel-good dance music from yesteryear.

Disc 1 is mostly 1950s R&B, while Disc 2 collects vintage ska and bluebeat. A handful of the 51 tracks will be familiar to a wider audience, but the majority are obscurities, many getting a very welcome first outing on CD. Stand-outs are a killer version of "Drinkin Wine Spo-Dee-O-Dee" by New York guitarist Larry Dale, and the divine voice of Desmond Dekker telling the tale of "Fu Manchu'".

There's also room for both Gaz himself, with his Rebel Blues Rockers, and his dad, John Mayall, performing "I'm Your Witch Doctor". --Alwyn Turner

Find more music at the BBC This link will take you off Amazon in a new window

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By Simon A. Beirne on 15 Jan. 2010
Format: Audio CD
I'd only come across a couple of tracks before and most of the artists were new to me as well. Everything works though, and to stave of staleness it works brilliantly in 'shuffle' mode. An absolute cracker.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Rockin me!! 9 Aug. 2007
By Mr Muckle - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This is one of the best and craziest collections of jump blues music I have ever had the pleasure of listening to!!
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category