Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars54
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£15.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2003
THIS IS NOT THE CANADIAN BOX SET THAT THE PREVIOUS REVIEWER STATES. That being the 1990 Ryko-disc set. Similar but not the same!!!!. This box set incorporates Bowie's work up to Buddah Of Suburbia and Black Tie White Noise. There are even Tin Machine songs on here!!!!!!!

It has strayed away from the well known hits, though there are still many here, such as "Ashes to Ashes", "Changes" and "Blue Jean". Instead it concentrates on the best album cuts from Bowie's phenomenal 70's 80's and early 90's work.

For CD completists, this is the only place you will find "After Today" "Baals Hymn", "The Drowned Girl" and "Modern Love" (live). There are also a handful of mixes and different out-takes of songs. The real highlights here is the original "The Prettiest Star". This is NOT the Aladdin Sane cut but the 1970 single with Marc Bolan on guitar. And "Pallas Athena". This is the live version performed by The Tao Jones Index, which was a secret gig Bowie did at The Phoenix Festival.

This is a must for any Bowie fan and an excellent starting point for any musical youth wishing to know what all the fuss was about when Bowie hit the scene.
33 comments75 of 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
It's a David Bowie collection, what's not to like.
First 3 cd's are the same as the 1989 S+V imported boxset without the CDVideo single.
But with extra tracks on the 4th cd making it a better buy. Original S+V boxset £60 in 1989.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
Superb 4 CD overview of Mr Bowie's career up until the early 90's.

Great sound quality and very interesting choice of rare tracks, demos and alternative versions.

A must buy, highly recommended and at a great price.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
What a superb overview of this chameleon of rock!! I love it. I remember when it originally came out it came in a tall box which looked great but lacked the extra material this incredible value for money collection offers.

This journey starts with the demo for Space Oddity and weaves its way right up to the soundtrack album Dave did for the tv show The Buddha of Suburbia. On the way we are graced with some rarities that are not to be found anywhere else/easily/legally such as a couple of tracks from another tv show about that snaggle toothed outsider Baal. The best, and for me the cherry on the top, rare track is the inclusion of the mighty, muscular and testosterone imbued version of Cat People(a song which was disgracefully neutered during its transition towards it's limp appearance on the Let's Dance album). This Gorgio Moroder produced version is a gem. I bought it as a single many years ago and was disappointed that it never appeared on any of Bowies albums when they were reissued on cd.

Some good solid tracks from the badly received Tin Machine albums in here too, to give a broader look at Bowies work.

I remember being totally non-plussed by his Black Tie White Noise album when it appeared, but I reckon I am going to have to go and give it another chance based on what I have heard here.

Sonically superb. No brick walling issues here, unlike the Next Day album.

70 tracks of magnificent Bowie at this price?? A no brainer really. Buy it!
0Comment16 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Christmas and my birthday being quite close together, I got Sound + Vision for Christmas and Nothing Has Changed a week earlier. To me, both have their many plus points and some small negatives. As Nothing Has Changed covers Bowie's output over a longer time-frame right up to The Next Day - and contains many 'single' versions (which some people don't like), it's possibly the better place to start for someone new to Bowie. You can't really go wrong with the content, quality and great packaging (I got the 3 disc version).
Sound + Vision, though, is brilliant. I have a lot of Bowie albums but there are live versions and B-sides that are new to me, pretty much up to Buddha of Suburbia. There is a fair amount of Tin Machine on the 4th disc which wasn't everyone's cup of tea but still worth a listen for the fully-rounded DB experience. The booklet and packaging are great too.

I prefer out of Sound + Vision because it covers the periods of Bowie's output which I love the most and I really like the live versions and more obscure songs (especially After Today, Helden, Cat People). However, if you want the most up-to-date 'hits' package (but don't want both) Nothing Has Changed does the trick and a whole lot more.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
First up, this is a superb collection by anybody's standards & is well worth the 5 stars.
The biggest worry with this is the old chestnut "Caveat Emptor" because there are at least 4 different editions of this set.
First up, we have the original Ryko edition on 3 regular CD's plus an additional CDV with 3 live tracks & the "Ashes to Ashes" video. This was packaged in a 12" x 12" box and included a nice booklet (sadly mine is missing & if anyone has a mint or near mint copy of this set please contact me). NB - the images on this page are from that edition.
Then there was a very limted edition of this in a nice wood case, 500 copies, individually signed (these are almost never found for sale). Third up was the Ryko reissue edition in a slipcase box with just 3 CD's, missing off the 3 live tracks from Boston Music Hall in 1972 (and oh, how I would love the full recording of that to surface) and a well done 72-page booklet.
Finally, we have the 4th edition, which is a re-issue from EMI, featuring 4 CD's, a different running order and on some tracks different versions (and I mean different mixes as opposed to remastered) - although if truth be told, this set does have the 1999 EMI remasters and they are frankly not that great - over limited for volume, as are nearly all the EMI editions esxcept for the first set they released which used the Ryko masters - confused? Yep. Me too.

Whatever edition you have this makes a nice change to the obvious singles rehash - and the Gods only know that has been done often enough already.
If you are looking for the S&V box, get the early Ryko edition for sound quality & the EMI edition for tracks you will not find anywhere else.
77 comments24 of 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a very welcome reissue of this superb chronological overview of Bowie's career between 1969 and 1993. Hits, outtakes, live tracks, alternate versions, album tracks and Tin Machine too - there's something for everyone. It's also excellent value: 70 tracks across 4 CDs with a playback time of 4 hours and 58 minutes (and AutoRip if purchased direct from Amazon). The CDs are housed inside an old style double CD jewel case with a cardboard slipcase cover. There's an accompanying 56 page booklet with very lengthy sleeve notes and archive photos, including the recording dates, release dates and featured musicians for each song. It might not be as up to date as the forthcoming 'Nothing Has Changed' compilation but it represents amazing value for money and it should appeal to existing Bowie fans given that it's NOT just a straightforward 'Best of' box set.
0Comment12 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 January 2016
Let's keep this review simple. If you are newish to David's work and want a compilation of more than just the hits then not only do you get the music here, but also a very informative biographical essay in the booklet written by Kurt Loder. The booklet has plenty of photos to. The essay also tells the basic history of each track. It's importance and whether a single, album, or rarity track.
Okay, so there are many great album tracks that have not made it onto the 4 cds, but you do get the ORIGINAL full length version of CAT PEOPLE, (it was re-recorded later for the Let's Dance album).
Here you will find hits, live tracks, rarities and even stuff you may not like. How many of us established Bowie fans like everything he has done? But there is always the skip button to the next track. Of course if you are buying this in memory of our late hero then you may not know the classic tracks from the rarities and this should enhance your pleasure as you will be making your own mind up as to what you like best of his work. And that some of the hits are only mediocre in comparison.
The discs are basically in chronological order.
This compilation was made in 2003 and repackaged only, and NOT updated in 2014. That means there are no tracks from, "The Next Day" or "Blackstar" albums.

So hence the title of my review, "Up the hill backwards, it'll be alright", you will be discovering inner depths of the everlasting genius of DAVID BOWIE from other angles other than just the hits.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
This is a review for the 2014 repackaging of the (2003 version) Sound + Vision box set. I'm not going to review the music here (we all know it's great) but it's a retrospective of Bowie's career spanning 1969-1993, choosing more obscure edits of his tracks, mixed with live versions and album tracks. The box originally appeared in 1990 as a 3cd set with a bonus VCD (obsolete format) with tracks spanning from 1969-1980 to promote the then-upcoming reissue series of Bowie's catalogue between those years and served as a taster for those reissues while also containing exclusive tracks. In 2003 it was reissued with the same tracklisting found here (added the mixed bag '80s tracks along with selections of Tin Machine and tracks from Bowie's 1993 LPs 'Black Tie White Noise' and 'Buddha Of Suburbia', although with packaging akin to a long book. This reissue serves as a low priced rehash of that (cost me around £18 when it came out in 2014) as a kind of cash cow while the exhibition is going on etc. The packaging here is decent, it's in a 'fatox' CD case which holds the four discs and the hefty CD sized booklet, and that case is housed in an outer cardboard one.

Basically, the main attraction here is the music, which I can tell you is excellent, but if you're unfamiliar with Bowie's works try a hits compilation (Nothing Has Changed being the most recent and spans a larger amount of time - available as a 3CD, 2CD or Vinyl) or one of his best albums - that one is too tough for me to call on that.

If you're a die-hard Bowie fan and are looking for exclusive material, the most you'll get is a demo of Space Oddity (different from the one on the 2009 deluxe I believe), a different vocal take to 'Round and Round', a 1989 remix of the German-sung version of "Heroes", "Helden" and a live version of Pallas Athena (1997 Tao Jones Index version), although that in turn, is available on the 2CD version of Earthling found in the 'David Bowie Box'.

Not strictly essential but some astounding album track choices, great for the price.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
Quite simply one of the best, if not the best, compilations of the wonderful and much missed Starman. There's something for everyone here, from the avid fan to someone setting out to discover the genius of the man. Nicely packaged, fantastic value. Recommend to everyone.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.