Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars894
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2014
Not bought on here. As a collection of songs alone they are pretty cool, but they will become "Awesome" once you see the movie and see how they integrate into it. The director has said he picked these songs specifically and has used them almost as another character in the movie, and when watching you can really see this and feel it so much more.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 August 2014
The first thing I did when I got home from seeing Guardians of the Galaxy was purchase awesome mix volume one. These are well known songs which I would never have listened to normally but linking them with Guardians reminds me of great moments the film had and has made me greatly respect the music itself, I can't get Come and get you love or Hooked on a Feeling out of my head. Great music by established artists used cleverly in a fantastic film. After watching it i'd be surprised by anyone who doesn't want it. Looking forward to volume two of both the film and Awesome Mix that must come with it.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
Just dropping a bunch of oldies together can be done by pretty much anybody and will raise a few smiles, a couple of grunts and the odd acknowledgement of a memory or two. Use them as well as James Gunn did in the Guardians of The Galaxy and the collection becomes an instant classic because you can't stop a huge smile breaking out all over your face. If you loved the movie - as I did - get the Awesome Mix and you'll struggle not to strut a little and grin like the local village idiot. Costs not a lot - if you don't already have them all - and is well worth it.
Highly recommended for fans mostly and others too because once they hear it, the smile spreads and away ya go. Instant good stuff.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
Great soundtrack, you remember which bits of the film each song was in rather than saying "I don’t remember that song in the movie".
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Great collection of tracks that really captures the feeling of the movie. Listen on repeat is recommended :)
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Integral to the film in a way unparalleled by most other soundtracks Awesome Mix Vol 1 has to be the album of the decade if not the century. With its every track evoking a particular scene from the film its perfection is guaranteed. If you can listen to I want You Back and not smile you're clearly some kind of embittered Kree warlord!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
Makes me want to see the movie again!! AWESOME
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
Perfect companion to the film, the songs chosen for the film work perfectly and they make a brilliant album. The Vinyl press is of high quality onto heavy 180g vinyl.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
INTRODUCTION:

Guardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Mix Vol. 1 is the soundtrack album for the Marvel Studios film of the same name. The soundtrack album reached number one on the US Billboard 200 chart, becoming the first soundtrack album in history consisting entirely of previously released songs to top the chart. The album was the US's third best-selling soundtrack album of 2014, behind only 1989 by Taylor Swift and the soundtrack to Frozen. It topped the Top Soundtracks chart for 11 consecutive weeks and 16 weeks in total, having sold over 1.5 million copies.

CONTENT:

The song listing (with singles label & number and chart position with personal comments) is as follows (BB=Billboard Hot 100; AC=Billboard Adult Contemporary Chart; R&B=Billboard Rhythm & Blues Chart; CB=Cash Box; RW=Record World; UK=British Singles Chart):

01 Hooked on a Feeling – Blue Swede (EMI 3627)(BB 1(1)/1974; AC 31/1974; CB 1(1)/1974; RW 1(2)/1974)* prior to the film's release, the song's appearance in a trailer resulted in a significant spike in sales.
02 Go All The Way – Raspberries (Capitol 3348)(BB 5/1972; CB 4/1972; RW 3/1972)
03 Spirit in the Sky – Norman Greenbaum (Reprise 0885)(BB 3(3)/1970; CB 1(2)/1970; RW 1(2)/1970; UK 1/1970)*only appeared in the trailer; not included in the film itself.
04 Moonage Daydream – David Bowie (1972)
05 Fooled Around and Fell in Love – Elvin Bishop (Capricorn 0252)(BB 3(2)/1976; CB 3/1976; RW 3/1976; UK 34/1976)*Mickey Thomas (of Starship; lead vocal).
06 I’m Not in Love – 10 cc (Mercury 73678)(BB 2(3)/1975; AC 10/1975; CB 3(2)/1975; RW 3(2)/1975; UK 1/1975)
07 I Want You Back – The Jackson 5 (Motown 1157)(BB 1(1)/1969; R&B 1(4)/1969; CB 1(1)/1969; RW 2(4)/1969; UK 2/1970)
08 Come and Get Your Love – Redbone (Epic 11035)(BB 5/1974; CB 5/1974; RW 8/1974)*gold record
09 Cherry Bomb – The Runaways (Mercury 73819)(BB 106/1976; )*consists of Cherie Currie (vocals), Joan Jett (guitar), Lita Ford (guitar), Micki Steele (bass) and Sandy West (drums).
10 Escape (The Pina Colada Song) – Rupert Holmes (Infinity 50,035)(BB 1(3)/1979; AC 8/1979; CB 1(3)/1979; RW 1(4)/1979; UK 23/1980)
11 O-o-h Child – The Five Stairsteps (Buddah 165)(BB 8/1970; R&B 14/1970; CB 4/1970; RW 4/1970)
12 Ain’t No Mountain High Enough – Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell (Tamla 54149)(BB 19/1967; R&B 3/1967; CB 22/1967; RW 19/1967)

POSITIVE POINTS:

1 This is a great collection of pop songs from the late 60s, and 70s. All the above songs are charted hits except Moonage Derams. Wichita Lineman by Glen Campbell and Mama Told Me (Not to Come) by Three Dog Night were also considered for the film instead of Moonage Daydream. Magic by Pilot and Livin' Thing by Electric Light Orchestra were also used during filming; however, the scenes which they were featured in were cut from the final version of the film. Too bad.
2 The sound is very well remastered: clean with no hiss.
3 All the songs are original versions, not re-recorded or alternate versions.

NEGATIVE POINT:

1 There is a separate soundtrack for the Original Score, which should be combined with the current soundtrack to form one single set.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

When I reviewed the Guardians of the Galaxy movie on blu-ray, I gave full marks to the audio. How do you like to listen to all these iconic tunes in crystal clear lossless multi-channel sound? If you have a decent sound system, the music from this CD sounds great. This set is recommended for all you soundtrack lovers. I guarantee once you’ve heard these songs, you’ll be “Hooked on a Feeling.” Plus, like the song from Frozen, you won’t be able to “Let It Go!”
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
This is a great CD watch the film: Guardians of the Galaxy,i was born in the 60's so most of these tunes are familiar to me.The film Guardians of the Galaxy rocks its a 10/10.
Once you have seen the film your hips are swaying and toes are tapping and you clicking your fingers,and if you can dance like me your can invoke some " Pelvic Sorcery ".This CD came next day which really surprized me because i ordered 2nd Jan 2016 during the evening!.If you like music in general and not just one genera you'll be singing away to this and bopping along SUPER CD!!
review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)