Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
653
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 August 2015
I've been using the Polar H7 strap with my Concept2 rowing machine (with PM5 monitor) on a daily basis for over a month, and I'm very happy with it.

PROS:
- Works really well: I've experienced no disconnection problems.
- Very comfortable / lightweight / unobtrusive.
- The strap is elasticated, making it very easy to fit & ensures it stays in place too.
- Feels like a quality product

CONS:
- None!

COMMENTS:
- I initially wasn't sure what size to order, but then found this sizing guide (on a US website):

XS/Small - 20-30 inches
Med/XL - 30-45 inches
XXXL - 45-60 inches

- I have to "pair it" with my Concept2 rowing machine every time I use it - though this only take a few seconds each time (and I strongly suspect this a "feature" of the PM5 monitor on the rowing machine, not the Polar H7 strap).

- The Polar H7 instructions indicate that you should moisten the back of the strap before use, to ensure good electrical contact. The back of the strap where the monitor is located is plastic coated, so water rolls off it - so I simply moisten my chest instead (not a problem at all, but just thought I'd mention it!) - as I say, I've not experienced any disconnection problems.

- The heart rate monitor connects to the strap with a pair of clips. I have read that its good practice to disconnect one of the clips (to break the electrical circuit) when the strap is not being used, to prevent the batteries running down - this is extremely easy to do.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
Even though my FT80 came with a HRM strap, I really wanted to synchronise in real-time my Polar data with the apps I was running on my iPhone; the Polar H7 allows you to do exactly this.

Setting it up was a snap with the watch finding it right away and the iPhone apps just needing to be connected individually. I should point out though that at first I thought it was faulty at the unit does not show up in the Bluetooth list as I expected, but is connected though each apps settings screen (the user guide makes no mention of how the device works with an iPhone.)

Once you set up the device and set off, you see your heart rate accurately displayed not only on your watch, but on the app too; something I've found to be *highly* motivating when comparing work-out data as you can easily see your fitness and endurance levels improving with actual data, not just a 'feeling'.

In summary then, a superb product which (for me at least) has really helped me track and improve my fitness, but make sure you use the latest version of your apps for it to work on the iPhone 5.

*update* Since posting this, many of the apps have been updated for the iPhone 5. I can confim that the H7 now works perfectly with the latest versions of the most popular fitness apps (Runkeeper, Endomondo etc.).

*2014 update* Happy to report that the same H7 that I bought a couple of years ago is still working perfectly and still using the original batteries. It also works perfectly with the new Polar Loop.
1010 comments| 104 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
I use my Polar H7 heart rate monitor most days now and never go to the gym or for a run without wearing it. I pair it via my iphone 6 to my polar beat app and also to my icardio app, which syncs with fitbit and then onto myfitnesspal.

The polar beat app is very good for seeing your heartbeat / calories burned / HR zones but does not talk to other apps so I have icardio also running in the background.

The HR monitor works every time and has helped me lose over 2 stone in weight, reduce my diabetic HB1AC sugar levels to normal (for the first time in 10 years!) and allows me to accurately understand how many calories I burn down the gym/ running, and then increases myfitnesspal with the number of calories I am allowed to eat to maintain my weight.

Happy days now that I clearly understand not only how to lose weight, but also keep it off. For me, the Polar H7 helps me massively to keep fit and motivated. no cheating allowed!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
I use Strava every time I go on a bike ride and I wanted a HRM which would integrate nicely with it, this does the job perfectly.

I use Strava on a Nexus 5 running Android 4.4 KitKat and although Strava do not specifically mention this HRM as compatible it connected straight away and shows my heart rate throughout my activity.

I already own a Polar FT7 HRM and the H7 connected to the watch unit straight away so I could leave my phone in my bag/pocket and still view my heart rate on the watch during the ride. The chest strap supplied is the same as that which came with the FT7 and is very comfortable (you hardly notice its there), the transmitter which connects to the chest strap is slightly bigger than the one supplied with the FT7 but it is still very unobtrusive.

I can't comment on battery life because I haven't had the product long enough to do so, however, it is worth remembering to disconnect the transmitter from the chest strap when you're not using it or the battery will drain fast.

All in all a great product.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
Good when it worked but after circa 13 months it suddenly stopped pairing with any bluetooth devices rendering it useless. I have changed the battery and when that didn't help I have tried and failed to contact Polar. They ignore emails routed via their website. So both the durability of the product and Polar's customer service lets this down.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
I bought this to replace my Zephyr HxM and I chose this model for 3 reasons.

Firstly it's Polar, which is a long standing brand with a reputation for making top of the range heart rate monitors.

Secondly, it supports Bluetooth 4.0. For those who don't know Bluetooth 4.0 is the low power version of Bluetooth, this means the heart rate monitor will go much longer on a single battery than a standard Bluetooth heart rate monitor. More importantly (for me anyway) it also means it is less of a drain on your phone battery while you are working out - important for those long runs when every battery % counts!

Finally rather than being rechargeable this uses a single CR2025 button type battery. My previous heart rate monitor came with a proprietary charging lead which I could never find when I needed it, with this one I can swap the battery out in seconds. No charging connectors and a sealed battery compartment means this is also waterproof so you can use it while swimming, assuming you have a waterproof phone.

An added bonus which I wasn't aware of when I ordered mine is that it also supports "gym link" so if your gym has compatible cardio equipment then all the machines will display your heart rate without you having to grip the handles on the machine. Tried it at my gym and it works like magic, you start running/peddling/cross training or whatever and your heart rate is detected in a couple of seconds. You don't have to set it up or anything.

Battery life is good, I always unclip one side of the unit from the belt when I'm not using it and I've been on the original battery for months with regular use.

Accuracy seems to be spot on with no spurious readings or drop outs during your workout. Comparing workouts I've done using this one and using my old Zephyr this one is much more reliable.

Overall very happy, would buy again.

Two screenshots attached. One shows the consistent readings from the Polar, the other shows the drop outs I used to get with my old heart rate monitor.
review image review image
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
When this is working, it's great & does everything that I could want; especially when linked to the edmondo app. However, & it's a BIG "however"...it is constantly losing its power. The monitor plays dead & nothing, including changing the battery, revives it. An internet search showed this to be a common issue & it's resolved by opening up the battery enclosure & bridging the metal connectors with a paper clip!! It then miraculously comes back to life. I cannot tell you how annoying this is as it can be perfectly ok before you leave the house then, 5 minutes later, at the gym (& without your paper clip!!) it's dead so no recording of results....Grrrrr.
77 comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
Great heart rate monitor which I've been using regularly to help me keep track of my fitness. The main monitor part snaps well onto the strap and stays put. The band is comfortable and washes well. It works absolutely fine with an iPhone 5s.
Going slightly off-review, for ladies I'd highly recommend using the monitor directly on a monitor-compatible sports bra. I've been using this on a Shock Absorber bra which has clips on the front you just pop the monitor on to. It just means you don't need to wear the additional band, which at times can be awkward when teamed with a tight band of a sports bra. Game changer!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
DO NOT BUY THIS ITEM
I purchased this on 17th October, it worked till mid December and then kept losing connection constantly, it gives unreliable results (heart rate of 6 then 200!!!).
I've tried all troubleshooting, including uninstalling and re-installing the app and removing the battery for 10 minutes whilst it was connected to the belt and nothing has changed.
Absolute waste of money and I doubt I will get my money back.
UPDATE - I contacted Amazon about the product and received a response literally within 10 minutes (which I was very impressed with) they have offered me a full refund so the item is on its way back. I stand by the review of the product but am very impressed with how quickly Amazon responded - very good customer service
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 January 2015
The Polar H7 Hear Rate Sensor is a fantastic product for those people looking to take their fitness / exercise training to another level.

Ultimately you will be buying this product to accurately measure your heart rate, and the H7 does this incredibly well.
The advantage of using a separate heart rate sensor over an all in one device is that it can be used with several devices. Having bought a Polar Loop, the two work perfectly in tandem, however the H7 also effortlessly syncs to a whole host of stand alone apps on my iPhone.

One of the key things to look out for with Bluetooth devices are that they are 4.0. The main benefit of this for a heart rate monitor is that the battery life lasts significantly longer than older Bluetooth technology. This feature alone makes the H7 worth paying extra for Vs cheaper alternatives that don't have this feature.

The instructions are clear and simple to use and connecting the device is easy.

The main concern I would have is whether you are comfortable exercising with an elastic band round your chest. Sometimes you do feel a bit restricted and it may be worthwhile investigating the all in one solutions that monitor heart rate from the wrist.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 216 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)