Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
37
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2014
A Hungarian poet once said, “In dreams and in love there are no impossibilities.” With the release of last year’s Spirits of the Western Sky and now Spirits Live, it appears Justin is at long last giving flight to his own whims and fancies. And this new openness comes graced with charms and presented in the inimitable Hayward style. Here is an artist still coming into his own at age 67. The older songs played acoustically with softer edges are pleasing revelations. The new compositions ache with poignancy. On balance, Atlanta’s lovely Buckhead Theatre is the ideal venue for this performance of a classic and romantic set list, replete with raconteurial fillers, that transforms into a delicious parlor tête-à-tête. The intimacy carries over to the behind-the-scenes documentary filmed between Alexandria’s legendary Birchmere Music Hall and backstage snippets from Atlanta. The three bonus tracks score the segment to a tee. On The Road to Love could well have been the subtitle to last year’s album release; Suitcase from 1980’s Night Flight iterates that yen for the road, the journey still beckoning; and, Troubadour from 1996’s View From The Hill confesses to a taste for the gypsy life and free horizons. The Buckhead show is bookended, intro and reprise, by a lilting instrumental version of Captivated By You. Choice selections all around! This is a honey of a production. Laid bare and stripped down, the currency is art, lofty musicality, warmth, humility, with an appealing dash of humor. The busker at heart is pure genius.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
Have had the studio CD since release but this Blueray DVD takes the enjoyment to another level with its acoustic delivery. Exceptional film quality and the sound mixing is among the best I have heard. Having watched the performance I have always tended to think any additional material is just filler but not in this case. It covers sound check and band interaction which gives another perspective on the life of a touring band, most enjoyable. A must for any Moodies fan and well worth adding to the collection if you have a passing interest.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
This man never ceases to amaze me so much talent and so likeable ,watching the dvd it is obvious he has the respect of his fellow performers and his fans .I have followed justin and the moodies since I was 15 and they have given me so much enjoyment and this performance is excellent amust for any true music lover
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
Ok, this recording wouldn't be to everyone's taste. Those who haven't heard of JH would probably still give it 3 stars as there is nothing to really dislike about. For die hard Moodie fans of which I used to be (music taste has become more metal) is will be loved. I agree with some other reviews that his voice is not as strong as it used to be. But hey... was it ever a strong voice? One gets the impression that he is a humble man who has no arrogance and just loves making music and connecting with his audience. I think I will seek out his next tour and actually go to one of his gig. Guess he'll be 70 then, but do I care?

As an aside, would love to see the Moodies playing the odd Ray Thomas song, though not as prolific as JH, he still wrote a few classics such Legend of a Mind and Veteran Cosmic Rocker.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
a brilliant blu ray disc. justin is on top form,he doesn,t put a foot wrong. there are moody blues classics and songs from justins solo album spirits of the western sky. the concert was recorded at the buckhead theatre in atlanta,a small cosy place which is perfect for the intermate feel of the concert. disc worth every penny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Having seen the Moody Blues in UK concert 2015, went onto Amazon and saw this DVD and bought it, I have played it from start to finish many evenings, it is brilliant DVD filmed at 2 or 3 different smaller venues it has good mixture of Moodies hits and Justin Haywards solo music there is also a really good hour long extra film which follows the band through from hotel, tour bus, sound checks and band banter, this is really good DVD and must have for Moody Blues fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Brilliant! Justin at his best, Alan,Mike & Julie also excellent!
Great sound through my new Sony headphones, just like being there! Well done to every one involved for producing this DVD and allowing the UK audience to view the show!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
we have been Moody Blues fans nearly all our lives it seems. Justin Hayward's voice is just as amazing as ever. The musicians around him are just incredible, Mike Dawes - what a find! Beautiful! We are going to see the Moodies concert next year. Cant wait. It would be fantastic if Justin brought The Spirits...Live concert to Britain soon. DVD well worth the money spent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
This is a Christmas present for my husband, which I definitely know he will enjoy. We have been Moody Blues fans since we were teenagers and have seen them many times in concert. We have all the Moody Blues music, either on vinyl and CD, as well as Justin Hayward’s and John Lodge’s solo albums. Justin Hayward amazes me with so much talent and a very likeable person. My husband, sister and I went to see ‘Spirits…Live’ concert at The Anvil, Basingstoke in July of this year. Songs from Justin’s Spirits…Live album, as well as Moody Blues classics. Excellent evening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
A genius at work his voice sounds better than ever amazing music played superbly by Justin and his band from its up to you possibly the moodies greatest song to western sky the songs flow in a sublime understated magnificent delivery from surely the greatest singer songwriter this country has ever produced. Brilliant!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)