Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 21 January 2015
My little package and bundle of joy and entertainment I avoided writing a review for a while until I'd used it for a while I bought this along with the m8 kitkat over the Christmas anyway the tv iitself I was impressed really clear
colours rreally stand out net flix now tv bbc I player and much more voice activated and gesture control you have to buy a magic remote and camera for these features I've not used these yet but plan to in the near future the only thing I will advice if you like watching movies with a bit louder volume you may need to get a sound bar other than that a cracking buy I wasn't sure looking at it online but when it arrived I'm now really glad that I bought it
It has all the bells and whistles and plenty of hdmi sockets usb and other connection ports.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
94 of 105 people found the following review helpful
on 14 June 2014
Just got this from Argos have been using it for a few days now so thought i would review.

Design:Nice design with silver bezel and base.Not much bezel around the tv and the tv is quite thin for a direct lit tv almost as thin as the edge lit tvs.

Picture quality: Fantastic picture with HD channels watched the world cup football matches and there is no motion blur etc which people complain about. Tried a few blu ray movies and the picture again is great with no judder or blur, the dark knight looked fantastic and the colours look accurate one you fiddle around with the picture settings. SD channels are not that great but its not completely unwatchable like certain other tvs. Contrast ratio is decent but not as good as compared to the plasma tv we have in the main room but thats to be expected as plasmas have the best contrast levels with the deepest blacks.

Sound: Sound is decent but as with other tvs this thin you wont get anywhere near the quality of a decent 2.1 or 5.1 sound system which is why i bought the Roth bar3.You could get away without a soundbar but once you buy a soundbar or a speaker system you will think why didnt i buy it sooner.

Gaming:Noticed slightly input lag on the ps3 but once you change it to game mode its totally fine and this solves the problem.The plasma tv in the main room doesn't have a problem with input lag and if you read up on it the input lag problem is more common with led tvs.

Smart features:From the few days i've been using it i have had no problems and there is a number of apps available including youtube,netflix,BBC iplayer,Now TV and many more. You can stream stuff from your phone or tablet such as photos,videos and music with no problem.

All in all would recommend this as a good smart tv alternatively you can buy a normal tv and chromecast together :)
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
on 22 November 2014
What to say, the tv is absolutely bloody excellent, so much quality it's unreal. I just can't stop being impressed with the picture and sound, so many useful and simple to use options, makes it awesome to use. The wifi is fast and the apps are great, together with my sky package, iv never had so much choice before. The connectivity is just the best, I can connect anything I want upto the tv and it's great. The screen is big, and every inch of it is perfect. If your looking for a perfect tv? Then this is the one you want.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
110 of 125 people found the following review helpful
on 29 October 2014
You will have to spend some time setting this TV up - turning off the 'soap opera' effect, adjusting the awful factory preset colour/brightness/sharpness etc, but after a little effort you'll have a good quality screen for the money. Then you'll connect it to the internet and realise LG now pump car insurance adverts into all crevices of the UI! You can opt out but you will have to give up the 'smart' features - iPlayer, Netflix etc. Can't believe you pay good money for hardware only to STILL be subjected to adverts. Is there anywhere adverts don't force their tentacles into?
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
65 of 74 people found the following review helpful
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
LG have produced a great looking and very versatile tv in the 580V. The matt stainless steel stand and bezel trim around the screen look good and make a change against the all black models which seem to be the standard choice generally available.

The stand is easily affixed and from there it's a case of just plug and play. The tv walks you through the initial set-up. You need to enter your wi-fi password when prompted, and you're good to go.

I've been using a Tivo box with this set and on the hd channels the picture quality is quite stunning; very crisp and sharp, vivid colours and a real pleasure to watch. The onboard sound is 'ok..' Sufficient for normal viewing, but I'd recommend a soundbar or set of 2.1 speakers for improved movie viewing; neither will prove to be too costly and can be connected to the set quite easily.

I've only used the 'smart' function to access BBC iPlayer, ITV, Netflix and YouTube. The picture quality didn't degrade compared to watching channels on the Tivo. What I did find annoying was it took up to a minute for the tv to load up my choice. However, once playing I didn't notice any lagging and the set performed well via the smart function. The supplied handset takes a bit of getting used to but is soon mastered.

Another thing not to be overlooked is the built in Freeview tuner. The channels will self install on set-up and these along with the choice available via the smart function will give a great choice of no cost viewing options. With a Netflix subscription you'll have a great choice.

So to conclude. A great entry level set that won't disappoint. It has pretty much everything you'll need, and most importnatly to me provides a great picture. For the price you can't go wrong
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
on 23 November 2014
Got this from Currys as they sell the 42LB585V model, same TV but with the magic remote included, for £349.....
A superb TV, picture quality is indeed amazing, this is constant in all the reviews and clearly it does match my own experience, any HD content looks amazing.
The sound isn't the TV's strongest asset, not that it is poor, because it isn't, but the small speakers can only do so much.
The TV has every single connectors you could dream of, and is well built, frame as well as the stand seem to be made of brushed stainless steel, adding a feeling of overall quality to this good looking TV.
The Wifi is a breeze, enter your key and you are done, very strong signal enabling wireless streaming of full HD movies smoothly from your PC to your TV....the TV is detected strait away on the network, no connectivity issue whatsoever. The magic remote is a great little gadget, it acts as a pointer, just point and click, it is definitely a must have accessory, will make you life much easier.
Overall it is an amazing product, there is no way you could be disappointed with such a TV.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 9 September 2015
This is a good TV at this price. Picture quality is great for the price, the smart menu is well laid out. The one thing I think needs improvement is the Freeview Tuner menu. When searching for a channel, it does not show a small picture of what you are watching and it cancels the audio of the channel you are on so you can't even hear what's going on in the background. This may not be a limitation imposed by LG, but it is annoying. Buy the magic remote to go with it. That makes it much easier to select items on some of the menus and to input things like your wifi network password for the smartTV features. Don't bother with the LG app store. Most of the TV app stores (Samsung, Sony etc.) are pretty poor.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
I bought this TV for around £250 in early 2015, in as new condition. I don't often leave reviews for things, but this TV has really impressed me - and I liked the previous one a lot too. The picture quality is great and the connectivity options are even better.

If you have a satellite cable this TV is great - I believe most of LG's "V" models have this port to cater to European markets - the UI for satellite TV is not great but it is not technically Freesat so I didn't expect much. You just need to save and order the channels as you like them.

One little niggle is that the Picture Mode always defaults to "Eco" - perhaps there is a setting to change this - I switch consoles around a lot and it always confuses me for 10-15 minutes when my games feel extremely laggy. Changing the mode to "Game" brings it to form again though.

- Slick, clean interface
- Fast connectivity via WiFi
- Wide array of wired connection ports
- Can be used with a satellite cable, although not technically Freesat

- Picture mode defaults to Eco for new devices

Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this TV, but try to find one for less than £300 now it has been discontinued!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 7 May 2015
Wow this is an amazing bargain at £305 for a 42 " smart tv. :) I am so very happy with my purchase. being a silver grey colour means its not in your face and you can consentrate on your movie. The colours are pretty amazing and its very sharp. Some people have complained about sound being low but again i think that itsgreat. Thanx so much amazon for a great item and speedy delivery. My baby boy 2 1/2 loves it too. 😆😆
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 22 December 2014
Excellent order placed on the Friday and delivered the following Monday. Picture excellent, very goof value for money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 166 answered questions

Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.