Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars27
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2014
Mona (Aiysha Hart) is a westernized Pakistani living in England. Her relationship with her boyfriend, as well as her westernized ways have dishonored the family. In the first few minutes of the film, she is killed and placed in a trunk. We then flash back to the events leading up to her demise.

An Aryan Brotherhood hitman (Paddy Considine) is hired to find and return her in the flashback. His normal job is to kill dishonored Muslim women, working for the community of Muslims while all the while hating them. About 50 minutes into the film we are back to where we started. There was no good reason for the flashback other than to confuse us and to tease us with some action in this slow action drama.

The film is a bit dry and formulaic. 3 1/2 stars

F-bomb. Brief implied sex. No nudity.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
The most disturbing part of this film is that this can actually happen in "real" life - and although dramatized, this film does not detract from the awfulness of these women's situations. This film however focuses on one family - and what they do when their sister/daughter "dishonours" them when she has been found out going out with a boy not from the Muslim faith and that she plan to run away with him. Mona (the sister/daughter) manages to escape from her family (watch out for the first 20 minutes of the film) and goes on the run. Unfortunately for her, the family have hired a "hunter" (Paddy Considine) to find her and bring her back for appropriate punishment. Its then that the film gets pretty good, although I think Paddy is wasting his acting talents on this but he plays the man torn between his hatred of "these people" and his need for cash well. His co-stars though don't really have the necessary acting chops for this but still its a watchable thriller/drama; but Paddy makes the film in my opinion.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Film about an actual current issue, we need more.good ideas and strong performances all around. Alysha hart great, Paddy Considine is, as ever, great. Won't gush, decide for yourself.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
The flashback storytelling was a little annoying, but a good story and one that needs telling. Paddy is excellent as the sleazy 'hunter' of girls trying to escape their uptight, fanatically religious families who want to punish or even and kill them for 'Dishonouring' the family name for liking western culture or falling in love with someone from a different caste. Gritty and disturbing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
At times this film was very confusing - it started with a scene which happened 50 minutes later, moved to a scene which happened at the end and generally messed about with flashbacks all over the place for the first hour. Once it became sequential it improved enormously and at the end I enjoyed the film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
I loved this film, it kept me gripped right until the end with a few twist & turns! Very well acted as well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
Horrific, the idea (the reality) of 'honour killings'. And this film presents a window, undoubtedly. Unfortunately, with many an unreal scenario eg the holding on to a knife. Not sorry to have watched the film, but I guess it is very much 'a thriller', with attendant deficiencies (including the last five seconds).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
This is an excellent film and does a brilliant job of highlighting an issue that is unfortunately all too common, but not spoke about much. All of the acting is great. I am not usually into British films but this one really is great. I would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2016
I was totally satisfied with the item. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
SEEN ALL PADDY CONSIDINE FILMS AND HIS SUSPICIONS OF MR WHICTER SERIES
SUCH A VERSATILE ACTOR!
DOES GRITTY AND THOUGHT PROVOKING
THIS IS A MUST SEE!!!
LEAD ACTRESS VERY BELIEVEABLE IN THAT ROLE TOO
THOROUGHLY ENJOYED IT
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)