Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars71
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2014
You probably don't need me to tell you how truly great this show is/was. One of its biggest achievements is that its humour, production style and all around quality were consistent throughout the whole series - something not accomplished often in television.

Physical product-wise, this is a great boxset. All 20 discs are packaged inside one super-sized plastic case which is actually insanely convenient.

Although I don't really /need/ this an episode list booklet within would have been appreciated. Minor gripe, but given that the lists were on the individual season DVDs it would be somewhat handy when flicking through the 20 discs to distinguish which episodes are on which disc.

Additionally, the set is a repackaging of previous season's discs rather than a completely new product. This does mean that there are only subtitles on seasons 4-7.

Those product gripes aside the show remains fantastic, and that's the most important thing.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
The show is so great but the edition in DVD isn't that good, the first 3 seasons doesn't have any subtitles, not even in English, which is really bad, but I was expecting that because the previous edition doesn't have subtitle neither, but it would have been great that in this re-edition were included subtitles, and taking into account that the American edition does have subtitles in different languages including Spanish.

In the positive side is ok the variety of bonus material that this have, like commentary tracks, deleted scenes, and some other stuff like some table read, or making off (but also without subtitles).

Good: the show (c'mon is Tina Fey), the bonus material
Bad: repack of the previous edition without subtitles in S01-S03 and only English subtitles in S04-S07
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
Hilarious show. I had never seen it, but bought the whole thing after hearing several friends rave about how good it was. I was not disappointed. Tina Fey and Alec Baldwin are perfect in this. great dynamic between the two of them. Very well made bit of TV.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
Could have been so much better.....the show is of course great but I can't help but think it would have been better to have included an episode guide. Perhaps it might have better as well to have the series individually packaged instead of one plastic pack. Great value for the price though.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
Bought this, for twenty quid, as a friend recommended it and as I learned it beat The Larry Sanders Show record for Emmy wins/nominations. If only it was as good as its predecessor. Instead, 30 Rock feels like a poor man's cross between Larry Sanders and the wonderfully warm and satirical Better Off Ted. Having watched both those shows in their entirety prior to checking out 30 Rock, this pales significantly in comparison.

In all honesty, this show seems massively over-rated. Many of the characters are unlikeable, some are tedious, and all of them suffer from a lack of progression or development. The shows appear infinitely funnier in the read-through (included as extras) than they do in their broadcast form, and brilliant lines and absurd ideas that should sail instead fall flat. The show is full of sterling jokes ("Can you walk-and-talk?"/ "Well usually, but now I'm thinking about it."), and yet somehow they have combined clever writers, talented actors, and high production values and produced something less than the sum of its parts.

I watched the whole set, and all the extras, wanting to like it and finding it very hard to do so. Season 4 is probably the best, but my copy of the box is headed for sale on ebay as I can't imagine ever wanting to watch it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
A good funny series which was shown at pretty awkward times in the UK but was massive in America, hopefully you've seen a bit of this set at the NBC the cast is solid and the cameos are numerous, from season 2 I had to spend a little time in audio set-up as everyone developed ridiculously deep voices, as far as the box set goes it is minimal, a card box houses a oversized DVD case small as it could be with how many discs it has, very good value for money
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
I don't normally comment on 'the show' in my reviews, but this time I'll make an exception.

I'd never seen 30rock, but its reputation preceded it and I wanted to watch a more modern american comedy alongside Get Smart, so I bought this set on a whim and the strength of its rep.

It is very funny. Reminds me of 'the office (US)'. Episodes are quite short (20 mins) and sharp, packed with clever dry observational humour. I watched a random episode from each season and the show's quality seems consistently high. Here's one (oft mentioned) joke that sums up the show's style for me. One character mentions 'The War On The Poor' another says 'You mean 'The War On Poverty' and the first character replies 'Yeah, lets call it that'.

Packaging is functional and nicely illustrated. Audio/video quailty is as you'd expect from a modern show. Price was good.

Very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2015
This is a fantastic comedy. Tina Fey is a genius when it comes to comedy and the entire cast are fantastic with special shout outs to Alec Baldwin and Jane Krakowski. Please give this comedy ago, I promise you wont regret it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
Just love this show. I've only watched the first 4 seasons on Amazon prime and love the comedy dynamics between Tina Fey and Alec Baldwin. And for £16 for 7 seasons, this is a bargain.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
Great show. The box set was cheap and affordable and although for me shutting it at first was a bit of a task it is a great purchase and you cant go wrong with this show.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)