Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars38
4.5 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 4Edition: Jackdaw EditionChange
Price:£47.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 August 2014
Superb. This is so far the best game in the series. For those of you who have played the previous games Black flag opens up a whole host of new options. New mission types,a switch up in the combat system and a crafting system based on resource collection. The story is much more in depth and complicated than AC3 where Connor was one dimensional and focussed on revenge Edward develops well as a character and is almost as likeable as Ezio from previous games. The controls as ever can occasionally be frustrating (spending five minutes trying to step up on to a ledge) but are overall simmilar to the previous games and will feel natural to veteran assasins.

Anyone who disliked the naval battles in AC3 must steer well clear of this game as you will spend a huge portion of it on the open seas both broadsiding your foes and boarding their vessels. This can be a little tedious after a while especially if you are hunting a particular resource to upgrade your vessel though most of this can be avoided if you choose to fast travel everywhere. The Carribean does lack the sheer impressive nature that Rome, Constantinople and Jerusalem offered in terms of architechture and history previous games had but the sheer number of locations does provide variety.

The multiplayer is more of the same from previous games though a new story line multiplayer mode is available this can be very difficult to complete if you do not have a large community of gaming freinds. The graphics are very good but not the best i have seen on the ps4 and it is obvious the game has been ported and not madefor ps4. A companion app is available for the game which allows you to manage some of the duller aspects of fleet management from your mobile device as well as bring up maps or even database entries synced up with real timegame play which works well on a tablet device but I imagine would be far to small to be useable on a phone or small tablet.

All in all there is a lot of game here for your money and if shooting terrorists and nazis isn't your style then the multi player is a breath of fresh air. A fantastic addition to the franchise to keep you going untill uniity.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag is a great game that you will love. I have played most of the Assassin Creed games but this one may be the best.

The game takes the concepts within Assassin's Creed world and puts them into a pirate adventure game. The game does an amazing job of interjecting some history as well into the game. The game features historical characters like Blackbeard and Benjamin Hornigold. Beside the history, the game looks great.

The pirates within the game are not cartoon versions like the ones we see on tv. The game goes to painstaking efforts to make the story grounded within reality. The game look amazing and has tons to do within the game. Their is alot of content within the game, including exploring island and having your own pirate crews. The even acts differently based on the decisions you make, this includes singing different songs based on the bounty you collect. This is a great game that you should pick up.

Thank you for reading my review, if you have any questions feel free to email me, I would be happy to help you with any questions you have.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
AC4 Jackdaw Edition is a bittersweet thing, and I really wish I'd bought the base game only. The story is one of the best in the series so far and the ship combat is amazing, but as per usual, it's undermined by awful mechanics. Running up walls when you're trying to run off for example, not to mention slowing down for a game of hopskotch on a bunch of randomly placed stones when there are a dozen soldiers with loaded pistols chasing you. That kind of thing. We seasoned AC players have been there before, haven't we, and we can only wonder why Ubisoft don't do something about it? Worst of all are the incredible number of tailing and eavesdropping missions, never seen before on this scale in an AC game. I got 96% completion by the time I finished, but this is the first AC game I won't even replay, never mind attempt to 100% largely because of the tailing missions.

Still, maybe the extras of the Jackdaw Edition will make up for it eh? Unfortunately not. Freedom Cry takes the worst aspects of the base game and magnifies them. There are more tailing and eavesdropping missions, the most cumbersome firearms in the series so far (the blusterbuss), a ridiculously slow ship, and machetes that don't even incapacitate the weakest enemies after several strikes. The rhythm of the combat in the base game simply doesn't exist in Freedom Cry. It's incredibly disappointing.

As for the multiplayer, Ubisoft have ruined it with their greed. I absolutely LOVED AC3 multiplayer, but you need to level much higher to get abilities and perks in this one, and that's because Ubisoft want you to pay real money for Erudito credits so you can get those perks early. Consequently the game is completely unbalanced for newcomers, of which there are a minority at this stage - so they get to enjoy playing against prestige players who can see through walls and use knives and pistols for a few weeks unless they want to give Ubisoft more $$$$. No thanks. If I hadn't forked out so much for the Jackdaw Edition I might have spent a few pounds on Erudito credits, but no, I'm not going to be nickel and dimed any more. To be honest, the situation with multiplayer has put me off AC, and I regret buying Unity now. I haven't played it yet, but hopefully it will change my mind. I'm not holding my breath.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 October 2014
Assassin's Creed IV is a misleading title, as of the time of this review there have in fact been 6 games on consoles and I believe 3 on handheld systems, one of which was ported to consoles. So keeping things fresh in a series which sprawls out to that many games yet keeping close to it's assassin roots must be rather difficult. Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag not only succeeds at that, it excels above previous entries making it the best game since Assassin's Creed II.

For those not familiar with the series I imagine getting into it at this point would be rather difficult to try and understand what is fully going on, and the developer Ubisoft does very little to catch people up on the story. To sum up there has been an underground war going on beneath society between two factions, the Assassins who believe in freedom and the Templars who believe in order and control. Both sides are fighting for what they believe is in the benefit for hummanity. Perspective I guess.

In the game world there is a machine in current times called the animus which allows people to see through the eyes of their ancestors throughout different periods of history, giving the chance in each game to play different assassin's and interact with famous people through time, some portrayed as good like Leonardo Divinchi, some bad such as Cesare Borgia.

Assassin's Creed IV is set in the early 18th century in the Carribean during the golden age of pirates. You play the role of a pirate named Edward Kenway, a down on his luck Welshman who wants to make his fortune and stumbles onto the Assassin/Templar war by accident. Caring little for either side it takes a while before he decides that either cause is really worth fighting for.

I'm going to say two things that contradict the score I've given this game right now, Edward is pretty unlikable and the story is fairly uninteresting with a few plotholes (Edward has assassin skills with no training at any point) but neither of these things get in the way of just how fun the gameplay is.

This is a game of two halves, land and sea. When exploring the Caribbean islands on foot it's a pretty standard Assassin's Creed game. Edward is extremely agile able to climb buildings in a parkour fashion, swim, hide as well as use a variety of weapons in combat which although usually comes down to a mainly counter attack affair has some brutal moves that really look great for finishing off enemies.

On the water though is where the real fun comes in, where the assassin ends, and the pirate begins. Edward commands his own ship the Jackdaw which can be upgraded with more cannons, a better ram, better hull plating etc. With the Jackdaw you can do pretty much anything you want, attack and sink ships in huge broadsides, board vessels by swinging in on ropes and taking their cargo or even adding that ship to your pirate fleet, attack forts, go harpooning for whales or even look for sunken treasure using a diving bell. There is just a lot to do and nearly all of it fun.

As a cross gen game Assassin's Creed IV also looks surprisingly great on the PS4, the water effects are especially gorgeous with reflections, the rolling of the waves and storms. The voice acting is also of an extremely high quality as is the music. Interestingly enough when sailing you can get your crew to sing actual sea shanties of the period should you wish, many of which are actually excellent.

To sum up Black Flag is a great game with tons to do and collect. The seafaring is especially brilliant making this the best pirate game you'll play even if it's actually a science fiction game about assassins.

I should note that this edition with the season pass does not give you the extra content on disc, it comes as a season pass code so be wary of a second hand purchase, cheeky of Ubisoft.

+ Amazing seafaring gameplay.
+ looks gorgeous.
+ Great voice acting and music.
+ Tons of things to do and collect.

- Edward and the story are a little naff.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
A revolutionary step in the Assassins Creed game series, AC4 is a highly enjoyable installment, providing the largest map in the AC franchise and a new and unique way to travel around said map via ship. I loved this game from start to finish for I was unexpectedly suprised by the vast amount of things to do in the game whether its collection items, destroying fortresses, upgrading your ship, sending your fleet out on missions and participating in legendary battles. I haven't enjoyed an assassins creed game this much since the second and might have even liked outing more than the second, the pirates storyline is immersive and the main character's are rebellious and provide welcome humor following AC3 which is one of the biggest bore-fests on any console, additionally the main character of Edward Kenway is easily the best thing about the game for he's so well voice acted and motion captured that its hard not to love his badass attitude and never-say-die personality. Not much to say bout the Jackdaw edition other than it comes with all the DLC, including the standalone expansion Freedom Cry. I got this edition for a reasonably cheap price new (£18) so I can't fault it in any way.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
This game has the best gameplay from the series and a decent storyline. It's a must buy for the fans of "Assassin's creed" and those who like pirate games.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
If you like pirates, ships, swordplay, adventure and puzzles thaen this is a must have. Just get it.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
Loved the game on my PS3 so when i upgraded I decided to buy this due to the inclusion of the DLC's. These DLC's the game is even more fun as the Jackdaw can look even better and Freedom Cry is another few hours of fun.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
Game is excellent who doesn't love being a pirate one of the best in the series. But if you buy the special edition don't expect the codes inside the box to work for the DLC I tried it and it says they have expired!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Got this for my daughter's birthday. Both her Dad and her are now fighting to play it. Lots of missions and side missions. Graphics are excellent. And varied enough to keep their interests alive.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.