Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2015
It started promisingly, not brilliant but a fairly standard rags to riches good boy turns bad story. Then it was ridiculous, OK I get the lavish, excessive rather repulsive lifestyle but there was far too much of it and none of it was mildly amusing, in my opinion. Then the film just goes on, and on, and on and on and on......I have to admit that I switched off before he got arrested because I just couldn't take any more. I've given this two stars, one because Leonardo Di Caprio is brilliant, he makes himself completely unlikeable which is a rare skill, and another star to give the benefit of the doubt because the film may have improved, I neither know nor care.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 September 2014
I enjoyed The Wolf of Wall Street. I'm not convinced it's up there with the best of Scorsese but for a 3 hour movie it flew past in a whirlwind of excess and was certainly never dull.

It's based on the memoir of Jordan Belfort about his sky highs and depraved lows as a stock broker on Wall Street in the 1990's. It may be a lazy comparison but the film shares much with Goodfellas in terms of story arch and structure - Belforts rise and rise to become The Wolf and the inevitable crash and burn that must follow.

Leonardo DiCaprio of course plays Belfort and puts in another cracking performances, narrating and anchoring the tale in a similar fashion to Ray Liotta/Henry Hill from that previous Scorsese classic. There's great support elsewhere from Jonah Hill and a whole raft of familiar faces including a memorable cameo from Matthew Mcconaughey. It's all ably directed by Martin Scorsese, bringing the stylistic flourishes you'd expect, perhaps the main reason it all flies past so breezily.

Admittedly it's probably not going to be to everyone's taste - while there's not much violence of any description, there's a huge amount of bad language, shed loads of nudity, copious drug use and a distinct lack of a moral compass. Pretty much how I imagined Wall Street in the 80's and 90's to be honest.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The film has had mixed reviews both from critics and indeed reviewers,
having watched the film, I can easily understand how after watching the
movie a reviewer could easily give the film 5/5 equally I would understand
a score of 1/5.....it's that sort of movie, you either love it or hate it.
A Film by acclaimed director 'Martin Scorsese' actually based worryingly
on real events.
'Jordan Belfort' gets hooked by the cut and thrust of the world of stockbroking
at an early age, he's taught by a skilled fraudster, and soon gets used to the
high-life.
When the Stock-Market crashes, 'Jordan's new-found lifestyle seems to be on
the slide, however a newspaper advert noticed by his first wife gets him back
in the saddle.
What he'd learnt in his earlier position, he uses to feather his nest, corruption
had become a way of life.
Setting up his own trading centre, natural progression.
The money soon roll's in life-style changes take hold pretty speedily, there is in
truth more money coming-in than he and his staff know what to do with.
'Jordan' earning himself the name 'The Wolf of Wall Street' because of his
predatory style of trading.
Interest from the press draws unwelcome attention from the F.B.I.
The Film - a constant stream of partying, drug taking, mixing with prostitutes with
frequent nudity sequences, and of course dodgy dealing.
Crude, rude and loud......over confidence could well prove to be 'Jordan's' downfall.
Not sure I'd go along with the film being incredibly funny, though there are moments,
a sequence where 'Jordan' get's high and is trying to return to his car, is, in truth
absolutely priceless, and there is a certain irony to the story's outcome, it's actually
quite pleasing.
American humour does not always sit well with many this side of the 'Atlantic' I myself
did find the film 'a little in your face' so to speak, after watching the first two hours,
I left the final hour for another night, but am pleased to have taken time out to do so.

Special Features -
* The Wolf Pack.
* Running Wild.
* The Wolf of Wall Street.
* Round Table.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 May 2014
Very enjoyable movie but with some loose ends. It is all about the dark art of selling. Closer to Glengarry Glen Ross than Oliver Stone's Wall Street. I like the way 'fault' can easily be attributed to all those who bought from the Wolf and his staff as much as to their sales technique. They sell something which does not exist.

Powering these salesmen is sex and drugs. This insulates them from stress or conscience. Alcohol works the same way for the general population. One of the loose ends is not making it clear, not showing how prevalent the Wolf's behaviour is throughout the Wall Street banking area. Only one speech alludes to this.

Time lines are also difficult to sniff, I mean follow. But Spielberg's Catch Me If You Can has a much better movie style. I bought the blu ray version with chicken and veg. at my local supermarket. I think the dvd would have been just as effective. I thought it would have been as marvellous to watch as The Aviator or another open plan office flick the brilliant All the President's Men. But it fell short of those marks.

My review title is my main concern. Did the big banks behave in exactly the same manner on the run up to 2008 crash? But the movie's success does prove how fond we are of excess. More is good. Stability is too elusive.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
An adaptation of Jordan Belfort's memoir chronicling his rise and fall on Wall Street and his hard-partying, addiction-fuelled personal life.

Welcome to Martin Scorsese’s 22nd feature film, another of his examinations of the rites and rituals of a particular sect, be it the wiseguys of ‘70s Little Italy ( Mean Streets ) or the society scions of late 19th-Century New York ( The Age Of Innocence ).

With its rise-and-fall arc, its hedonism and hubris, its gleeful exploration of the dark side of the America Dream, its money, crime and narcs, its sex, drugs and rock’n’roll (though the soundtrack also takes in Madness, Simon & Garfunkel and a fair bit of Euro pop), The Wolf Of Wall Street forms a loose trilogy with GoodFellas and Casino. And if it can’t quite match the energy and quality of those classics, it nonetheless stands as Scorsese’s finest for 15 years.

When we first meet Jordan Belfort, he’s more pup than wolf, his lowest-rung job at L.F. Rothschild requiring him only to “smile and dial”. A first-day lunch with big boss Mark Hanna (Matthew McConaughey, hilarious) sows the seeds of the chaos to come, though: Hanna advises him that the stock market is “all fugazi” while preaching the worthlessness of morals and the necessity of greed, cocaine and, to stay relaxed, jerking off twice daily. Then, on 19 October, 1987, the very day Jordan becomes a licensed broker, the market crashes and Rothschild goes under.

Jordan joins a penny-stocks firm in Long Island, employing a bunch of expert salesmen (mainly weed) from his old Queens neighbourhood and making Donnie Azoff (Jonah Hill, terrific) VP despite his phosphorescent teeth and shoulder-slung pastel sweaters.

The triumphant result is named Stratton Oakmont, and if there’s one thing these guys know how to do, besides sell, it’s party – Jordan blows $26,000 on a lunch, is married to a model, shags prostitutes five, six times a week, and hoovers Quaaludes, Xanax, cocaine and morphine. It’s only a matter of time before the FBI (in the form of Kyle Chandler) come calling…

Perhaps deciding the crazed behaviour is enough, perhaps thinking he took stylistic verve as far as it could go in GoodFellas , Scorsese shoots largely with a static camera. His use of whip pans, crash zooms, freeze frames and tracking shots proves so infrequent that Spielberg, visiting the set, suggested he might want to move the camera. But TWOWS is far from muzzled.

It is, of course, all part of Scorsese’s plan to charm viewers into accepting Belfort’s outrageously selfish, unthinkingly cruel behaviour. It works, too – more so because Terence Winter’s ( Boardwalk Empire , The Sopranos ) screenplay cleaves to our anti-hero, refusing to investigate the fallout of his misdeeds as he steals from rich and poor alike to line his own pockets (and mirror). It’s a decision some will take issue with, just as some, justifiably, accuse Scorsese of being in thrall to his gangsters.

But this is Jordan’s tale, and it’s sold by a magnetic, never-better DiCaprio.

A touch too long, yet never slack, at three hours, TWOWS benefits from independent funding, Scorsese’s brass balls and an A-grade cast’s turbulent improvisations to emerge as an epic, boldly broad screwball comedy about the state of America, then and now.

Despite the US censors trimming back the screwing and swearing, this is an audacious, riotous epic. Scorsese and DiCaprio’s fifth and best pairing, it’s liable to give the Academy a heart attack.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 October 2014
Based on the real life memoir of Jordan Belfort, we follow the rise of this young, hungry stockbroker (DiCaprio) who learns the quick way to the top unscrupulously. From living on the poverty line, to living a lavish life of wild parties, drugs, sex, fast cars & his inevitable downfall by the FBI.

The Wolf of Wall Street's almost 3 hour run time is an excessive charting of the eccentric people Belfort comes into contact with or surrounded by in the industry, that indeed he himself soon turns into an equally eccentric, unrecognizable person from that young, hungry stockbroker he started out as. Initially for the first hour it is an interesting journey of rags to riches with a little skirting of the law & bad boy behavior. As the next hour & 45 minutes delves deep into the greed & mass excess lifestyle of drug addiction, sex addiction, relationship implosion & FBI/SEC agencies coming knocking as things spiral out of control. This movie isn't a serious dramatic offering like 1987's Wall Street but instead a satire with a mixture of silly & subtle comedy styles spread through the film. The comedy scenes with DiCaprio & Jonah Hill in particular were the ones that i enjoyed the most. The satirize approach means the drug addiction & sexual content goes way over the top, from snorting cocaine from hookers bottoms, to mass orgies etc... with little time passing without scenes of one or the other & F-bombs every other word. Indeed it is more a film about focusing on the excess & greed , than it is a film with characters you actually care about or follow much in the way of development after the first hour. Martin Scorsese behind the camera is pretty spot on in immersing you into this lifestyle, from the rowdy trading floor to the mansions & excessive parties. Along with some neat touches of Goodfellas-esque narration & one particular funny car journey from the country club with an interesting twist.

Leonardo DiCaprio (Titanic) carries the film impressively as you can't take your eyes off him, featuring in pretty much every scene, his acting quality is consistent & never wavers. He has a great supporting man in Jonah Hill (21/22 Jump Street) whose acting chops are well & truly established, he's given a chance to show off his unique silly comedy style here in different extremes & gives you an idea of the realms of excess the movie goes into with his more outre humor. There is a host of good supporting talent including Matthew McConaughey (Mud) as an eccentric stockbroker, Jean Dujardin (The Artist) as a shady Swiss banker, Kyle Chandler (Super 8) as a dogged FBI agent & Joanna Lumley (The New Avengers) as an English cougar...i mean rose.

In conclusion, The Wolf of Wall Street is a satire on the life of Jordan Belfort which succeeds in charting the macho, unscrupulous methods & excessive lifestyle route to the top as these untouchables come crashing down to Earth. But at almost 3 hours long it was too indulgent, repetitive & morally hollow. Contains strong language, violence, mature themes & sexual scenes (full frontal nudity). Worth a watch.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
Very rarely do I feel compelled to write a review of a movie - especially one that's already had so many reviews but I feel I should with the Wolf of Wall Street.

I throughly enjoyed this film. I had it for my Birthday and watched it, I ended up watching it again a week later (something I never seem to do). Although this time with my Father, Fiancée and 85 year old Grandmother - who loved it, even the naughty bits!

It's an amazing story. When you watch it I find the story so enjoyable that it's easy to forget that it's a true story.

Leonardo DiCaprio was robbed of an Oscar. He plays the role immensely.

When I've watched it I thought that the time flies by because there's so much going on!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
best movie ive seen in ages! and im fussy! Leonardo DiCaprio gets better and better! he really really suits the role of high flying, drug obsessed stock broker. Be warned it is a looong film but by the end you'll still want more! great 80s tunes in it aswell! you couldnt ask for a funnier movie! the movie follows true story, Jordan Belfort's life from innocent, optimistic, starting out in life but after meeting Mathew mcconaughey's character and a recession in the market he changes to drugs, hookers and fraud. Its all downhill from there though and it follows his downfall. Only wish the movie showed more of his arrest and restitution's made.. all in all if you havent seen it, you need to!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
The best film I saw in 2014.

There aren't many films that I have uncontrollably laughed at but this is one of them! I thought it was utterly brilliant and so funny! There is one scene in particular that had me literally crying with laughter for the best part of 10 minutes.

It didn't feel like a 3 hour film at all, it was gripping enough that it went really quick. The whole cast were perfect, Leonardo DiCaprio is a genius (the man deserves an Oscar!!).

If you want something moral and emotional then this isn't for you, if you want something that will make you laugh until you can't breathe then this is for you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
I didn't like this when I first watched it. I found it too long and unfunny. Weirdly, I watched it again and loved it! I've since watched it several more times and I think its one if my all time favourite films. A definite thumbs up from me
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)