Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars19
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2014
This book is incredibly well researched. The author has the rare gift of being able to present sometimes quite complex scientific and engineering concepts in understandable terms, without dumbing down the subject. Again and again he manages to pinpoint the design flaw or operator action where things went wrong and explains why, with deep insight.

Reading this book at times feels as if you are listening to a bunch of retired nuclear engineers talking shop over a few glasses of beer. It is full of well told anecdotes, which makes it eminently readable, and it is obvious that many of these come from first hand sources rather than being a regurgitation of old legends.

Having read the book leaves me with a feeling that human ingenuity is only surpassed by human stupidity. With a bit of Murphy added in.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
I'm a bit fan of popular science books, I love to be fascinated. I was worried that this book, partly due to it's length, might be a bit dry and boring, the opposite is truth. It's incredibly insightful and detailed, yet it's not drawn out. The amount of research that went into this book is to be commended.

The nice this about this book is that it shows you that a lot of these accidents were caused by everyday (non hi-tech) mistakes such as mislabeling and basic miscalculations or errors in judgement. However, the book also shows that these accidents were key in learning how to prevent accidents in future (they would have been impossible to predict), without the lessons learned from these accidents it would not be possible to ensure a safe nuclear future.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
This book takes the reader on a journey from the WW2 atomic bomb project, through cold war weapons development and the bold and sometimes crazy experiments that led to modern nuclear power plants. The emphasis is necessarily on the many design and operational errors that caused accidents and problems, but in so doing the reader can also understand the fine engineering achievements that made any of this possible. Although the author has had his career in the nuclear power industry the book provides a very balanced discussion of the pros and cons of nuclear power allowing the reader to decide for themselves whether this is still something we should be supporting or not. The style of writing is nontechnical and conversational and should be accessible to anyone with a passing interest in this subject. Highly recommended.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
A very well written and interesting book. Given the reader will have a pre-existing interest in things nuclear, the explanations are extremely well put over and not taxing to follow. Many of the critical incidents (sorry about that) defy common sense, but, others highlight that despite all the planning and precautions accidents will happen.
One of the best books of its kind that I have read. Gripping.

.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
This is book is so well-researched, well-written, well-balanced and knowledgable that you will thoroughly regret that you've finished it. Notwithstanding the title and content it proves the argument in favour of nuclear power and shows how safe it really is. Well done Mr. Mahaffey.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Very comprehensive but is highly readable. I learned a lot from this.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
Descriptive, all-inclusive, scary and funny at the same time. A must-read for all who are interested in whatever boils in those cauldrons all over the world.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
Lots of thing have happened that we didn't hear about. Very informative
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
Good price kindle delivery I think rather pricy for kindle as no postage or printing costs
Will be going back to print versions for better value unless pricing gets more realistic
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
Written in a witty and accessible style this book is a must get if you are into things nuclear and atomic. Jaw dropping stuff (even if you haven't been eating Radium). Don't be put off by the pages at the start covering locomotive collisions. It's rare these days for me to enjoy a book and even rarer for me to read it twice but I shall be reading this one a third time at some point and dipping in to my favorite parts again and again.

I originally bought the paperback of this book, I gave it to my Brother and got the hardback version because this one is a keeper.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.