Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

  • Awake
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars15
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£15.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2014
At last, Tycho seems to have found the right formula.

From the early EPs 'Past Is Prologue' and 'Coastal Brake', Tycho seemed to be a brilliant new electronic musician to listen out for. Drawing inspiration from the likes of Boards of Canada, Tycho's music managed to capture the same retro feeling using brilliant, synth-heavy textures and patterns.

Unfortunately, I found his first full-length album 'Dive' a little disappointing. It was more a miss-match of reworked songs from the back catalog than an album full of new material. Furthermore, the reworkings turned out to be worse than the original recordings in most places. You only have to listen to the difference between the album and EP version of 'Coastal Brake' to see what I am saying. Basically, there was something incredibly underwhelming and disappointing about 'Dive'.

Fortunately, with 'Awake', Tycho seems to have found the form that I was hoping for on the first album. Each track is a brand new piece, filled with energy, delicate textures and bubbling melodies. The music is still reminiscent of 'Boards of Canada' in places, but overall the sound is a little more mainstream and a little more substantial. The beats are stronger than on previous workings, there is a little more variety in terms of tempo and there seems to be a little more genuine instrumentation and a little less synthesizers. Whether this is true or not, I can't say. But, the songs just sound richer and deeper than anything on Dive.

If you have enjoyed some of Tycho's work in the past then I'm certain that you will love this album. For those of you who are new to this artist, I would recommend this album to anyone who likes artists like Ulrich Schnauss, Boards of Canada or Bonobo. My favorite tracks were 'Awake', 'Montana' and 'See' in case you feel like trying before you buy.

Enjoy!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Brilliant album but a little short in length. Tycho is the perfect companion to drive to on a sunny day or just to unwind to in the evening.

If you haven't seen this guy in concert with the full band then you are missing out! Saw Tycho in October 2014 at the Forum and the show was brilliant!!

Hope he releases more sounds soon!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Scott Hansen (by his terrestrial name) delivers a tidy instrumental set on
his new album 'Awake' which will doubtless appeal to those of us who, on
occasion, like to drift away into the wide blue yonder with a glass or three
of decent Burgundy for company. His inventions sit on the busier side of
"ambient"; bubbllng along nicely in a haze of mercurial guitar motifs
supported by luminous synth washes and solid but unemphatic beats.
Mr Hansen seems perfectly content to keep variation and dynamic
development at bay but this results in some rather directionless rambles.
However, if you have a little down-time there would be nothing too-much
lost in making the journey with him.

'Apogee' comes closest to building up a head of steam but the rhythmic
D&B references present in its opening sequence evaporate rather too
quickly into the album's somewhat bland default mode of pretty noodling.

I don't want to be unkind as Mr Hansen has doubtless put his heart and soul into
this project but after the first thirty minutes or so I really did feel the need
for more substantial sonic sustenance. There is nothing here to offend however.

Not un-nice but a tad ho-hum.
22 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
I'll say exactly the same thing as I said about Tycho's Dive album: If you want to hear a sound which could act as a relaxing glove for your mind, then Tycho's album is what you should get. The soothing sounds are simply beautiful. In fact, if you like Tycho you should really check the other artists from the same label: Ghostly International.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 31 October 2015
I came across this album quite by chance and had never heard of Tycho. They are in fact an American ambient music band; their music is a combination of down tempo vintage-style synthesizers and ambient melodies.

This album is filled with energy, delicate textures and bubbling melodies. It has great tempo, the music is rich and deep and it has doubtless appeal for those who on occasion, like to drift away into the wide blue yonder.

I would say the music is slightly on the busier side of "ambient"; bubbling along nicely in a haze of guitar motifs supported by luminous synth washes and solid beats.

It offers something sonic yet relaxing and surreal; it’s the perfect soundtrack for relaxing while listening to music. It offers soundscapes covered with synthesized bliss. Very atmospheric.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
Tycho have always been a pleasure to listen to and generally Awake is no exception. Sadly though there is something missing from this release. A bit of love maybe? At times it feels a little rushed and a tad samey, which is a shame. But again, it certainly is listenable and should not be dismissed. Up the anti next time mate! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Tycho was suggested to me by Amazon and thank you Amazon!

Never heard of Tycho and it's strange to qualify. Electronic or band - wiki calls it American ambient. Either way, I like it. Instrumental, great for driving music. Can't say I would have it on repeat though as it is a bit samie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
Just discovered this by chance on youTube ...the track 'See' is outstanding and has a very watchable video.
Now played whole album and very impressed... very chilled throughout with some exceptional musicianship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Absolutely amazing album, can't find any fault with it! If you loved "Dive" you'll love this album as well.
Every single track gives me goose bumps, easy listening at it's finest!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
gentle back ground music to relax the air whilst you work on what ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.52

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)