Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars28
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2003
FLYING DOWN TO RIO is truly a pioneering musical made when such films were in the developmental stage. Many critics say that the movie is camp - but it is SO ENJOYABLE. Camp or not the movie is one of my favorites.
Ginger and Fred look like they have been dancing together for ages. It is hard to tell that this is their debut as a team. Dolores Del Rio is beautiful. Gene Raymond is a real pro.
The film has a huge cast with some great supporting actors such as Franklin Pangborn and Walter Walker.
I recommend FLYING DOWN TO RIO without reservation - especially if you like old musicals.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2001
If you are a fan of Fred and Ginger, then this may not be the film for you. Whilst the divine Ginger Rogers and hot footed Fred Astaire play a small, almost unnecessary role, most of the action is dominated by Gene Raymond and Delore Del Rio, both fine actors in themselves. What makes this movie worth buying is the dazzling air sequence towards the very end of the film. Dozens of beautiful - and probably terrified!- young women, strapped to the wings of various planes, performing a spectacular routine, all to save day!
As a fan of Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers I was disappointed in their role in this film, marginal to say the least. However if you are a fan of this type of 1930's musical then I can highly recommend it.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
Fred and Ginger's first film pairing but they are not the stars, they play supporting roles. The quality of the DVD is excellent, both sound and picture. The story is typical: love, romance, boy meets girl or wrong girl and vice versa, comedy moments and a flying highlight!

The special features are a history of the film and of RKO pictures, recently made and interesting to watch.

Well worth the purchase!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
This film is very 1930s and has the unique atmosphere of all films made around that period; just before WWII started and changed everything. This is pure glamorous, frivolous entertainment - but I'll admit that my favourite part of the film that I could watch again and again is the Carioca (if I've spelled it right); an absolutely riotous, exuberant piece of music and dance that infuses everyone with excitement and energy. Saucy in parts the film is a lot of fun; although I wonder how future generations will take it or really understand appreciate the charm and manners that are on display here - that world seems so far distant now.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
As usual another great Fred and Ginger movie, and all that was expected of them. A great addition to our growing collection of Fred's movies.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Classic film - and the first pairing of Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire! For old-fashioned Hollywood glamour, it doesn't get much better than this outlandish story of a band in Rio, and a daredevil airborne performance. Great service from Amazon Instant video.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
This is a really endearing movie. I think that it was produced when Fred Astaire and Gingers Rogers were at the beginning of their careers. I really enjoyed it. It is a bit of light hearted nonsense.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
The one that brought Astaire and Rogers together - rather dated, but the dancing is excellent and so are the aerobatics.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Although I bought it for my mother for Christmas, I did see it and was astounded by the footwork!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
A great film that has stood the test of time
Fred Astaire is first class in his role
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)