Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars80
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 June 2014
This is the updated model to the WB250, minor changes here not dramatic. The hand grip is gone on the previous model, replaced with a "pleather" (pretend leather) texture. The main appeal of this type of camera is how you can connect to other devices, making sharing photos and videos quite simple. Hence the "smart" title. Samsung have really embraced this aspect, more so than many makers.

NOTE: The camera uses micro SD cards not normal ones (bear this in mind)

My summary of some good and bad points about the camera

Pros:
+ Good price for a fairly well featured compact, excellent value
+ Handy 21x zoom range 23 - 483mm equivalent in 35mm, that's a nice wide angle and a good telephoto reach
+ 3" 460K touch screen control on the LCD panel it's quite good visibility wise and responds with good accuracy to touches (touch to focus and menus)
+ Image quality is pretty good in daylight fairly sharp images suitable for reasonable sized prints better than many compacts in this price point
+ Fully loaded with connectivity NFC, and wifi with apps available to download (iOS and Android)
+ Battery life isn't bad about 280-300 shots on average
+ Full manual controls on the mode dial (PASM) Max shutter speed of 16 seconds in M Mode (not bad for night shots)
+ Full HD video quality is quite sharp and decent for a compact

Cons:
- Micro SD, normal SD cards would be better
- Images in low light are a bit "mushy" I would avoid the highest ISO 1600 setting, though can get away with smaller prints
- Photos can blow out in the highlight end (white out sky effect) dial in a bit of - negative exposure compensation to help here
- LCD hard to see in harsh lighting
- Battery charged in camera (via USB port) probably a non issue for most, you can pick up an external charger

Additional notes:
Flash pops up on the top part of the camera, though re-charge times are not super fast but adequate.
Metering and white balance are ok most times, but you might want to dial it back a bit in harder light

You have your usual selection of tons of auto effects and filters to play around with. Images out of the camera are quite sharp and in good light better than many rivals at this keen price point. I personally find Samsung's default values a bit "pumped" and contrasty for my own tastes, but you can adjust this in camera to suit your own needs.

Samsung Smart Camera App can be downloaded and you can control the camera via that and auto share (facebook and other sites). They even have a baby monitor app so you can use the camera to send an alarm to your phone or tablet if the baby is crying.

Personally I don't need all these features, but you might..so it's there if you want it.
A nicely made, easy to use and well featured camera, if you want decent images, a good zoom range and desire the NFC and wifi aspects, then the WB350F is a good buy, Samsung have really improved a lot in recent years and this is one of their better efforts
22 comments73 of 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 July 2014
I have been searching for a good pocket sized camera for a while now. I don't have the expertise to justify a DSLR, but I wanted something more than I got from my smartphone. Then I came across this. I read the reviews and I became very interested. I downloaded the instruction manual and read it from cover to cover. On paper, the camera looked absolutely perfect. Whilst searching, I came across cameras that did certain things, but the experts would complain that 'you can't do xxx on it'. From reading the instructions, it seemed that this camera addressed the issue, i.e. you seem to be able to adjust every single aspect of your shot. Coupled with the 'smart' features, I was convinced and decided to purchase. I'm not sorry. The camera takes brilliant sharp detailed shots with ease. I have tried the manual mode and the list of things to alter leaves me scratching my head. I have a lot of learning to do to get the best out of this camera. But if you are thinking of buying it, I thoroughly recommend that you do, you won't be sorry.

On another note, it was a nice surprise to receive both a case and a 4gb MicroSD Card in the box to boot! I don't know if it was an offer from Samsung, Amazon or the seller but it was a lovely touch...the card takes 432 photos at full resolution so that is plenty for me. The case is cheap and ugly but it serves a purpose and I may replace it, but it was a very nice surprise nonetheless!

Thanks for listening.
0Comment52 of 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
I just got this camera and so far love it! I love all the added features that he has to offer and especially the touch screen! I have tested the zoom and it comes in very clear and I can even crop and make bigger after taken. I have only touched the iceberg on how to use this and am experimenting every day, takes great color! Downside is I wished that an instructions booklet came with it. You can download all the instructions, but that is a lot of paper and big to carry around with you. I like to have a small booklet , It worked as advertised right from the start. There are many features, and still learning what this amazing camera can do. I thought about an expensive upgrade to a DSLR, but decided that in reality, I needed something easy to carry that delivered great pictures and occasional video. This one really works, and the ability to email from the camera is a definite plus.
This is a great value.
11 comment56 of 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
I give this camera one star for two reasons:

1. It stopped working after a few weeks use.
2. The Samsung customer service is terrible.

It was still in it's warranty when it stopped working, but trying to get Samsung to fix it is an absolute pain. Still haven't got it fixed after over a month.
11 comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This camera is pretty good for anyone looking for a point and shoot which is of a manageable size and easily carried around in a bag or a pocket. It's weight isn't too bad although it feels a little heavier than many compact cameras I have tried. When I weighed it without the battery or memory card it came to 217g.

The screen is of a good size at 3 inches. It is also a touchscreen. You can either use the touchscreen or if you are more traditional in approach, all the traditional functions are also there!

The wifi ability gives the average user lots of options. It is possible to put photos into the likes of facebook etc through the use of local wifi connections. It is also possible to email pictures to an email address. The touchscreen has a qwerty keypad to make this easy. Photos can also be wirelessly backed up.

The photos produced are generally really good quality. I don't think this camera will ever produce professional results, but the images in daylight are better than most compact cameras, and if you are used to using compact cameras and are looking to upgrade, this is probably one of the better ones out there. It's absolutely ideal for family holidays, everyday usage etc.

Points to make are:
* you need to get a micro SD card to use in this camera
* In low light, ISO 400 is absolutely fine. ISO 800 is very slightly grainy. Anything above this I would avoid as image quality isn't so great.

So in general, of you are using this camera in good light normally (I.e, in the daytime) you will get really good results. Low light photography - if this is going to be needed a lot I think it's worth looking around as the higher ISO levels are not so good.

Recommended for everyday, portable usage.
0Comment37 of 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
Received my new camera today, and on first day impressions it seems very well built and good for the tasks that it has been made for. As a keen hobby street photographer, who likes to send his time composing a good shot, rather than worrying about all the settings, I was looking for a camera small enough to be pocketed, yet good quality pics as well. Ive owned many cameras through the years for this purpose, and tend to upgrade when this size bracket has major improvements enough to justify it. This camera fills all my needs.

Usage on my first day has given me the impression that it may be better to get used to the cameras 'smart mode' settings, and choose one yourself, rather than let the camera choose it by leaving it in 'Auto' mode. To give an example, I tried taking a close up shot of a resting moth sat on a door in 'Auto' mode, and although the camera would keep going into 'Macro' mode, it would flick between this mode and others too quickly whilst composing the shot. This was too annoying for me, so I choose macro fully in 'smart mode'.

Ive seen some reviews complaining about the Aperture, Shutter and Manual modes being on the same slot on the selector dial, but with the touch screen I quite like this, I found it easy to use.

Much discussion has been had about the effectiveness of the smart camera app, but Ive found it to be very good, providing a simple, quick and easy way to transfer photos to my ipad. Something Ive not been able to do before. Its quick, and does all its meant to do as far as I can see.

I was pleased to see that it came bundled with a Samsung branded usb plug, leaving the option to plug it into the mains for charging rather than just a pc.

Dont feel I can really talk about the low light quality issue yet, as not tried this out enough, but will post an update when I have.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Oh I love this camera. Fits in my handbag, sits happily on a tripod, takes lovely pics in any situation. I'm a point and shoot person, and am happy with a reasonable snap which this camera is more than capable of. My hubby however is a pedant and likes to pore over the lighting and shutter speeds etc. You can do each with this camera both independent and auto, and it's a joy, whichever floats your boat!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
I am not a photographer and cant say anything technical about this camera but I can say it takes wonderful pictures. It is heavier than my previous Samsung cameras and I am not keen on the look of the camera but the pictures it takes make up for these minor negatives for me. Normally I just leave the setting on auto but I have been experimenting and have taken for great macro and sunset shots!!
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
Great results from a small camera - I will use this for taking with me when i go walking or its wet as slips into a pocket although slightly larger that some the result are good including zoom if you have a steady hand. Good value for money as a great backup camera to my DSLR.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
This camera had everything I wanted. Love the fact that I can email pictures to family straight from the camera.
However the biggest drawback was the screen kept freezing. The only way around it was to remove the battery. Because I only had the camera 1 week and this happened 6 times I returned the camera.
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 36 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.