Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars17
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£14.34+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 October 2013
"Mademoiselle C." (2013 release from France; 92 min.) is a documentary about French fashion editor Carine Roitfeld. As the documentary opens, we are in August, 2012, where we learn that Carine is working feverishly to launch a new magazine called "CR Fashion Book". The documentary then goes back to late, 2011, with an announcement from Vodue Paris that Roitfeld is leaving after a 10 year stint as editor-in-chief, to pursue "personal projects". The documentary is a mix of both a personal view/impression of Carine Roitfeld, and the efforts to launch a brand new magazine in the span of about 6-7 months. In that regard, this documentary can be described as "Vreeland: The Eye Has To Travel" meets "The September Issue" (although Roitfeld is NOT Diane Vreeland, let's be clear about that).

Couple of comments: writer-director Fabien Constant was given unparalleled access to his subject matter, without any visible restrictions. I don't know whether it was a conscious decision, but the documentary spends just a few fleeting moments on Carine's past, as a result of which we don't get to understand how this woman arrived to this particular moment in her life. Nor are we any the wiser what exactly happened for her to walk away (or to be pushed out?) at Vogue Paris. The movie does a much better job documenting the challenges of launching a new magazine, and in fact the last 30-40 min. are entirely focused on that, and are for me the most compelling part of this documentary. A big negative throughout the documentary for me is the incessant name-dropping. Kanye West! Donatella Versace! Kate Upton! Scarlett Johansson! Stef Van der Laan! and on and on, it just never stops. Carine Roitfeld does give us a couple of great lines, though, such as "It's better to be told you look beautiful tonight than to be asked what are you wearing?", ha! And even more appropriate: "You have to love the camera!", which Carine certainly does.

Imagine my surprise when this documentary showed up out of the blue at my local art-house theatre here in Cincinnati this past weekend without any pre-release hype or advertising. I figured this wouldn't play very long and went ahead to see it right away. The screening I saw this at was not well attended, and I wasn't surprised. Bottom line: "Mademoiselle C." is an okay but not great documentary. But if you are interested in high fashion and the fashion magazine world, then this is a no-brainer and worth checking out in the theatre or on DVD/Blu-ray.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 1 January 2014
Well edited and produced. This movie is a roller coaster of a ride to watch, An amazing in-sight into the world of fashion, media and family life of someone at the top of her game.
Carina is a very likeable person and comes across grounded with her values based around her family unit.
Her passion for anything fashion is very contagious, but she never lets the mad, unpredictable world of fashion go to her head. She has true classic style which seems based on just knowing herself really well and being comfortable in her own skin.
If you love fashion this DVD has a place in your collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 24 January 2014
Very interesting insight into the fashion world in this DVD film of Carine Roitfeld and the making of her
magazine CR. She shows the glamour of the fashion industry but also the very human and endearing
personal qualities which make her such an attractive and inspiring person. Item arrived on time and in perfect condition.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
I love fashion and I am interested in the "behind the scenes". CR has been the Editor in Chief for Vogue Paris for 10 years before launching into her own venture: her own magazine (plan that has been sidetracked by her appointment to global fashion editor for Harper's Bazaar).

This documentary is boring: very little fashion. It is more a PR stunt for her magazine: the camera follows Carine across the globe and she talks with her collaborators about the concept of her new magazine, the cover, the logo and the "difficulties" she is facing. We see a lot of her children (one is an art dealer and the other one is a creative director ... very hard to get into fashion/art with mum and daddy's PR machine behind them ...). There are a couple of shoots and most of the documentary is about Carine is becoming grandma, Carine is polite and lovely with everyone, Carine is organising a charity event. You get the point!

The September Issue is what a fashion documentary should be: focus on fashion, how it really works behind the scenes, great photography. This Mademoiselle C is plain boring and just a PR assignment to boost CR image - rumour has it that she got dismissed from Paris Vogue for favouring her friends in photo shoots (Tom Ford). True? Who knows, the PR documentary does not talk about it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
This documentary charts Carine Roitfeld's journey from the powerhouse that is Conde Nast to launching her own magazine. I didn't really know anything about her and initially thought this would be a fluffy piece with beautiful clothes but wouldn't provide any real insight into who this woman is. I was pleasantly surprised by what I found, she let the film-makers in and exposed her family and her life far more than I thought she would. It is a really interesting look into what motivates her professionally and personally and while she works in what is arguably the most superficial industry of them all it is clear that she is a woman who is well liked and repected. I found it refreshing that they also covered the way in which her former employers tried to sabotage her magaine by pressuring people not to be involved. This documentary is all the things I hoped the September Issue would be but it failed to be. I would now consider myself a fan of Mademoiselle C.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
I wanted an interesting film and it was boring. As a documentary, I thought it was rubbish. As entertainment, I did not find anything at all. What a waste of time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 29 April 2014
Disappointed by this DVD. Thought the September Issue was brilliant. But this one a bit too busy although some of the photography scenes for the book are good. CR is v likeable but a lot of the interviewees are just fawning and their contributions lack substance. Enjoyable enough but unlikely I'll watch again - unlike the SI.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
very interesting subject showed the models as real people just love madam madammoisel corrien
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
film is captured from a good angle throughout the journey.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 2 February 2014
It was a really good insight in to the fashion world and how Carine Roitfeild
embarks on to set up her own fashion magazine really enjoyable worth purchasing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Dior and I [DVD]
Dior and I [DVD] by Jennifer Lawrence (DVD - 2015)

The September Issue [DVD] [2009]
The September Issue [DVD] [2009] by R.J. Cutler (DVD - 2009)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
See The Very Latest Data. Contact Datamyne for A Free Demo!