Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
34
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.15
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2014
The plight of Christians in the Middle East is something that the Western media seem not to be very interested in and Ed West is to be congratulated on raising the issue in this fascinating book. The so called Arab Spring and the continuing conflict in Iraq have been disastrous for Christians and no one seems to want to talk about it - not even Western Christians. It is ironic that Western liberals can be so touchy about any perceived failure on our part to be sufficiently respectful of religious minorities in our countries (minorities who have the luxury of concerning themselves with hurt feelings) and so indifferent to the persecution and murder of Christians in the Middle East. If a non-Christian minority in a Christian country were being treated in this way, there would be outrage.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
Ignored by the mainstream media the systematic destruction of the ancient Christian communities of the Middle East cries out for attention by all who care for human civilisation. It makes a harrowing and heartrending read. "Democratic" western governments and certain leaders past and present ought to feel shame.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
As a western Christian living in the Middle East, I can not speak highly enough about this book.

He has successfully captured all the main points using plain and frank language which makes it accessible to anyone.

Please read this - it is today's untold story.

Please read it and tell others in your churches what is going on.

Thank you.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
A short, sharp read which highlights the hypocrisy and tendency of western Christendom to bend over backwards for Islam while ignoring the extinction of their faith in the Middle East at the hands of militant Islamism. As Mr West points out, a reluctance to defend their brothers and sisters in the Middle East will result in the Islamists escalating their militancy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
An up to date publication giving the position on the persecution of Christians in several parts of the world.
Required reading for anyone following the increase in pressure on Christians throughout the world and wanting to know how to help and pray.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
It is irrelevant whether or not you are a Christian; anyone who believes in tolerance, co-existence and freedom of speech should be outraged by the wholesale destruction of Christianity in the Middle East and Egypt. Ed West provides the disturbing facts about the way in which Christians and other religious minorities are being killed and terrorised in Iraq, Syria, and Egypt. Most puzzling is the silence of Christians in the west who seem obsessed by homosexuality, while turning a blind eye to the fate of groups who have been Christian for 2000 years. One cannot overstate the stupidity of George W Bush in announcing his "crusade" against "the evil ones," providing the perfect excuse for Islamists to massacre Christians in the Middle East. An essential, disturbing read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
We hear occasional reports of the more eye-catching attacks upon Christians in the Middle East, but this shows succinctly how much greater the problem is. For such a short book, it also does a pretty good job of giving a bit of historical context. Recent Western intervention has clearly exacerbated the situation, but may be accelerating an exodus that has been underway for a century. Thankfully, West doesn't neglect the persecution of other religious minorities in the region too. I'm ashamed to say that I didn't even know that 796 Yazidis had been killed in the second worst terrorist attack in history.

West tries to blame our ignorance on the Left's supposed domination of broadcast media, but our press hasn't shown much interest either. The demise of religious minorities throughout the Middle East is a tragedy unfolding before our eyes; or it would be if we were looking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
This slim volume is a far more intelligently constructed and erudite analysis of what I suspect are the final death throes of Christianity in the Middle East. Most works of this type are crudely written Christian fundamentalist tracts which obscure with their bile the complexity of the Middle East's ethnic and religious composition. West's overview is far more eloquent and calm-headed, or as much so as it is possible to be in the face of this emerging catastrophe.

More causes and historical context are provided than is normal for books of this type and this is a good thing. Nor does West shrink from challenging the contemporary myths of religious toleration under the Ottoman Empire and the Cordoba Caliphate - serious distortions and omissions of data - the Islamic slave trade, the devsirme, and the regular pogroms against Jews and Christians across the Muslim world - have become the stock in trade of those who would pile the blame for all of the excesses of ISIS and AQ on the shoulders of late 20th Century Western policy-makers.

Nevertheless, West does blame Britain, America and others for both causing and exacerbating the turmoil in which the modern barbarians operate. His call for the West's attention is timely, but sadly almost certain to be ignored.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
A good read finished it in two sittings.The author has certainly opened my eyes re situation for Christians in middle east,the scandalous silence from the west needs to challenged and the sooner we the better.Overall an educational and excellent read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
This book highlights the how the West turns a blind eye to its "friends" in order to placate those who are totally hostile to Western, democratic and secular values. Perhaps we have no alternative, but we should stop being hypocritical. It is excellently written, covers a wide span of Geography and time, and has lead me to rethink some of my underlying assumptions about global politics.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)