Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars28
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2014
There is a lot of variety and creativity in these tracks. Something which you don't always find with rap and r&b artists. Some of the beats and samples are the most interesting and exciting I have heard for some time. When he sings his voice is excellent and the raps he pulls are rapid and tight. In packing so much variety into the album, which some would say gives something for everyone, I left feeling that I didn't get enough of any one thing. Personally I would have liked more rap in the tracks, but others would be crying out for more of his smooth vocals r&b style.

In summary the album reaches some very exciting, brave and fresh peaks, but some of it borders on just random noise rather than creative flair. I did enjoy the album though as a score I'd give 70%.

Try it if you want to hear something fresh, but be prepared to like some tracks a whole lot more than others.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
Some really great tracks and moments, but too often a track that was really going somewhere diverts manically down an unwanted path. Feels like too many ideas cloud the otherwise smart and funny lyrics. I still like it, but it's not what it could have been.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
I might be a bit biased because he's my favorite artist but this is one of the best albums of the year. The music itself is next level and the creativity (the screenplay etc.) is good. I encourage everyone to get a copy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Fantastic Album, one of the best rappers to date
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
was a christmas gift, when opened it and was not flat. when played the record it sounded all wobbly because it wasnt flat on the turntable. waste of money and cheaply made and obveously stored not flat
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
Not your bog standard rap record. Love it!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
I'm always looking for new music and this album does not disappoint. Soulful and original whilst dealing with modern world subjects. It's hard to explain you need to listen to it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
Great album. Love the flow from track to track, very high quality production, interesting interactive concepts. The screenplay was a pleasant read too. Well worth the purchase.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Great, sorely under heard album, A sound somewhere between Kanye and Pharrel, but with more range than either and more interesting to listen to. Highly recommend!!!!!!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
The record itself is amazing.
However, Amazon doesn't inform you, that they don't actually send you the album. They send you a plain jewel case with a boring folder. This isn't the Childish Gambino album, just the CD. Buy it from elsewhere if you want the album.
The real album cover is a lot cooler, with a lot more features inside.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.