Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars256
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 19 March 2014
No reflection on the movies themselves, but I do agree with the other comment here. This twin pack Bluray represents very poor value for money - no extras whatsoever and the slightly edited 12 cert version of Hunger Games rather than the 15 cert Bluray that is already available. Pay a little extra and get the individual titles rather than this rip off, because the extras are certainly worth it.
11 comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
Fantastic DVDs can wait for the 3rd, thought they were better than the books!!
Definately would recommend for people to see
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
I loved both of these films, the poor rating here is aimed at the product, not the movies. I just purchased this item today and I am really angry at how short changed I have been. I expected to find that the uncut version of the first film would be included (the rated 15 version) it was not. Both films are single disc and there are no special features whatsoever. The artwork on both covers are poor, plain black with the Mockinjay pin and Jabberjay pin. Not fair. When buying blu-rays there are usually more special features than there are on DVD but instead I have wasted my money here. Do yourself a favour and buy both blu-rays separately. It will only cost £1 more and it will be worth it. I really hope I can get a refund on this. Just goes to show that even if both movies make a billion dollars each, the studio will still jump at the chance to make just that little, insignificant bit more. That is poor lionsgate, just poor.
UPDATE: I just managed to refund the item in Tesco. I picked up the Catching fire for £13 and I just ordered the uncut version of the first one for £8 on amazon. Just wish I had done that in the first place.
22 comments|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
VIDEO:

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire is presented on blu-ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p encode: in 1.78:1 (48 minutes filmed with IMAX camera for the Hunger Games sequences) and 2.40:1 (for all other sequences). This sequel is perhaps appropriately an even darker, moodier experience than the first film, with deep, shaded scenes making up the bulk of the film. Contrast is very strong and shadow detail remains strong throughout the film. Colours have been graded fairly aggressively throughout the film. The intensity in the movie's colors is something to behold. With vibrantly bold primaries, the colour palette really radiates off the screen. Close-ups are full of fantastic detail, down to President Snow's errant beard hairs. This transfer recreates the original theatrical experience exceedingly well. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire features an incredibly well detailed, bombastic and immersive lossless DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 mix. All channels are regularly employed with a wealth of well done foley effects and score. Crowd noises spill through the side and surround channels on regular occasions. Up front dialogue is always clean, always clear. Whispers are heard perfectly. This soundtrack gives us an immersive experience. (5/5)

TRIVIA:

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire has an estimated budget of $130 million, but in return has a worldwide gross of $828 million. It is the 4th Highest Worldwide gross film in 2013: 1) Frozen ($1,027 million), Despicable Me 2 ($970 million) and The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug ($944 million). In North America, it was the highest grossing movie of 2013, and also the first film with a sole female lead to top the annual box office since The Exorcist (1973).

In an interview with Entertainment Weekly, Jennifer Lawrence said that she, Josh Hutcherson, and Sam Claflin were very clumsy, saying Claflin fell at least once in every scene they filmed. Claflin agreed and said they could fill an entire gag reel with just him falling over. Further, Jennifer Lawrence, after tripping on her way up the stairs to collect her Oscar last year, also tripped and fell while she tried to get out of the car on her way to the Red Carpet before Oscar this year!

FINAL THOUGHTS:

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire exceeded the prowess of the first film. It certainly is much better in the way of portraying believable, easy-to-follow action. The games are full of all sorts of technical wizardry. Here is where the movie excels as far as the first movie is concerned. The action this time around, while frantic at times, isn't nearly as nauseating as Gary Ross' shaky-cam. It's a wonderful change of pace actually seeing and understanding what's going on as opposed to guessing while we try to keep from getting sick. Jennifer Lawrence’s portrayal of Katniss is a firm pillar on a shaky foundation of kick-ass heroines, and she is the heart and soul of the movie. Both the audio and video are top-notched. The movie was an enjoyable experience. This set is highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Excellent films at a great price very watchable and in a nice presentation box if you like these films this is a must have set
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
what can I say. heard so much about hunger games and waited years to watch them but enjoyed every single minute of these sci fi films based on the future where there is the majority of people in sheer poverty and the centre of the "empire" is overflowing with decadence where life is cheap and the unltimate thrill is watching people die in the most cruellest of "games". the rich have so much food that they need a special drink to allow them to gorge themselves....while the outer precints starve...

sadly it looks as if we are following the hunger games politically
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
If you have a spare weekend or evening with the World Cup over then you could do a lot worse than watching these. I bought these as a present for someone who had read the books. They enjoyed the two films and thought they were true to the books. I hadn't read the books but enjoyed the films very much. I look forward to seeing the third film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
Although targeted at a much younger age group I really enjoyed reading the books and hoped the films would be as good. I wasn't disappointed and enjoyed both of them very much. Jennifer Lawrence was excellent in the main role and really brought the heroine Katniss Everdeen to life perfectly. Two really good films, not to be missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
OK, so I am biased and besotted by the stunning Jennifer Lawrence. But actually, this is a great film and as good, if not better than the first one (talking about disk 2 here). I really can't wait for the 3rd film to come out so I can get some closure on the story :-)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
Three major problems with this release.
Firstly (as also stated by other reviews) the first movie has been edited so that it has become a 12 and not a 15 certificate.
Secondly the sound on Catching Fire is not DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 (as in the individual blu-ray release of Catching Fire) but is merely Dolby Digital Surround 5.1 (i.e. same same sound as on the DVD version). I would question whether this product is technically a blu-ray in this case, as surely the blu-ray standard should include blu-ray sound as well as picture. The details of this are on the base of the box which very few would notice during a purchase. No doubt it is cheaper to issue copies with the out-of-date audio format.
Thirdly, there is also a lack of extras (which is not the case on the individual releases).
I shall be wary of box-sets distributed by Lionsgate in the future, and i urge you to be as well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.