Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars84
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2014
I had high expectations with this film, after enjoying the first installment. What a let down!!! I managed to watch it all so not all bad I suppose, see for yourself, but don't hold your breath for greatness. The script was poor and all over the place and very disjointed, the acting was mediocre, and no scare, no jumps no nothing. As for the front cover I don't know where that came from. Steer clear of this film if you think its gonna be as good as the first. Only watch if there is nothing else on the box, then this will pass the time and probably help you sleep, without the warm milk and cookies. x x x
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
Ok film to watch although so many of this genre are derivative of other (more successful) films. It is rare to encounter a film which really does the business whether it be in terms of frightening, good acting, directing. There are usually so many plot holes that the story does'nt hold up to any scrutiny. So many horror films are of such poor quality that they are best avoided altogether although that must go for so many different genres even when they are promoted as big box office grossers. (Mama Mia, Avatar etc.). Admittedly my favourite films tend to be of The Third Man and Night of the Hunter variety. The Shining is another example (to me ) of great cinema and most of Hitchcock. This has turned into a bit of a rant so will stop now.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Young Heidi (Emily Alyn Lind) is born with "the veil" or second sight. Her mother Lisa (Abigail Spencer) has it as well but sedates and denies it. Aunt Joyce (Katee Sackhoff) lives with them and has it also. Andy (Chad Michael Murray) the dad, doesn't have it. The family gets a deal on a home in rural Pine Mountain, Georgia, a place with picturesque Spanish Moss and no mosquitoes. It is the site of a former underground railroad station run by a taxidermist and it is haunted. Okay, I won't spoil it for you, but there shouldn't be much mystery as to where this goes.

I enjoyed the film. The ghost aspect was well done, unfortunately there was too much of it. Like Savannah, you couldn't throw a stone without hitting a ghost. What was with the levitating thing on the cover? I'm not sure what this film had to do with the first one as Connecticut seems to be more connected to King Arthur's Court than Georgia. The script was predictable, the acting was hit and miss. Abigail Spencer has done better.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Relatively kid safe. Would have been a PG when I was growing up.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
This film is absolutely hilarious. It has nothing whatsoever to do with the actual Heidi Wyrick story, so masterfully portrayed on Unsolved Mysteries, lo these many years ago. Really, it's a bit of a mystery why the film bothers with the Wyrick trapping at all. This is not the story of a gently worrying suburban haunting; this is a giant-sized helping of Southern Gothic spookination. We've got a backwoods shack, we've got a rundown trailer, we've got ghosts of escaping slaves, we've got the KKK (before the Civil War no less!), we've got a taxidermist. Ohh, Southland, you have so many insanely overwrought secrets to reveal.

This film is wonderfully hyperactive with its ghostly goings on. Who needs subtle hints or mounting tension when you can non-stop, ghost-a-minute spookings? Doing the dishes? You're gonna get spooked. Taking in the washing? Time for spooking! Taking a bath in your terrifying claw-footed, cracked enamel tub? I mean, you're asking for it. Ghosts of Georgia is flamboyant and grisly, with a few genuinely disturbing images and effective jump-scares...really, with that many ghosts, you're sure to land a couple of punches, right?

The other delight is in just how absurdly hot everyone in this family is, especially when the filmmakers flash up a photo of the real, perfectly ordinary Lyrics at the end. What, you mean the dad didn't really look like David Beckham?? Mr. Gordy, inexplicably, has a beard. Kahn, I'm sorry to say, is wholly absent, and the 'thing' that scratches the baby is gone, along with the baby. It's ok, though, there are plenty more haints to be getting on with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
A supernatural plunge into this show, terror and strange things happening around you at all times. A family move into an old house and soon realise they are not alone in the house, someone or something is there with them, when they meet face to face, threatening anyone who stands in its way. Spooky isn't it, now no more as saying to much will spoil it for you and there is plenty left for you to discover in the show, so I rated this an A grade plus for the performances of the cast and storyline as this gets a bit chilling and some things will rock you so don't say I didn't warn you. Time for the movie to start so gather up the popcorn get settled and don't forget the rug to hide under as it comes in handy. Relaxing with feet up good that won't last that long once it starts playing. Marvellous picture so let the curtain open for a fabulous night in with a real experience that someone has already gone through based on a real story. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
It's interesting that the title states the haunting "in Connecticut" when actually the plot takes place primarily in the state of Georgia but I suppose it's to signify thats its the sequel to the first "haunting" movie.....I found this sequel of better quality. Obviously, this is not going to be an Oscar contender but it does offer many good scares and twists in the plot. I thought the main narrative of the ghost story involving the slave trade an original one and the primary ghost was quite terrifying. I also appreciate ghost movies which don't rely on blood and gore too much...more on suspense and why the ghosts are there in the first place....if after all, the "ghost(s)" are also primary characters, like the living ones, then the viewer needs to care why they are there, their motivations, their story, etc. and this particular ghost movie does just that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
The worst so called ghost film I have seen. The acting is average at best, the visual effects don't fit the type of film it is, the audio effects do not fit either, & everything feels out of place. The storyline is weak & every time you see a ghost in the film the whole scene fades to black and white and starts flickering (imagine if that happened in real life, everyone would know when they had seen a ghost lol) even some of the names used in the film are so poorly thought up it is laughable, there are no surprises or shocks as you know what's coming long before it happens. The first film is ok and watch-able but nothing special however with this I am finding it hard to believe it got the go ahead to be made in the 1st place and I am finding it even harder to finish watching it at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
I got it,the young girls name was Heidi-how many times did they have to shout her name?
This isn't a sequel to The Haunting in Connecticut,it's only connection is that they are both based on episodes of A Haunting (in which paranormal encounters only seemed to be experienced by the catholic Bible Belt in America.Even a nocturnal fart is proof conclusive that a home is haunted).
This film claims to be based on true events,but then so did The Amityville Horror.It does have its merits,the acting is good,the style of the film is good,as is the location.That's about it's only merits.It still remains a derivative boring experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
I really liked the first film and think overall this wasn't as good but nevertheless it kept me watching. It doesn't relate to the first one in anyway either. With this film I did keep wondering why they would chose to live somewhere so remote when the women of the family already have visions of ghost but all adds to the scariness I guess. The little girl really steals the show, she's fab. It doesn't disappoint on the ghosts front as we see a lot of them and there are some jumpy bits and the overall story was ok. I'm glad I watched it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
It shouldn't be called "the haunting in conneticut 2" as it's nothing to do with Conneticut at all. It leaves a disappointing taste in your mouth.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)