Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars239
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on 11 November 2013
If you thought the first album is good - then you will think this one was excellent. 110% joy from beginning to end!

My favourite song on the album is 'Little Me' - I think this shows a really sensitive side to the band that they have never really explored before. In direct polar opposite, you also have disco hit 'Move', which hits all the right buttons but for different reasons... it's Little Mix to a tea.

The feel of the album, as a whole, is a lot more R&B than 'DNA' and also it has a lot more punch. It feels like there has been a real effort to make sure all the songs work together in harmony, while also all having their own individual identities.

I think that this album is a great effort and would reccomend it! 10/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
This is unbelievably good. In fact, Little Mix's first album was excellent, but this takes them on to another level of brilliance. I don't usually like X Factor, or the temporary stars it makes, but these girls can really sing and will undoubtedly still have a career if and when they decide to break free of Mr Cowell, which would give them more longevity and musical credibility.

Best song is 'Litttle Me' in my opinion, but its one of those albums where there are no fillers - everyone will undoubtedly have a different favourite among all the songs. The songs really bring out the girls' vocal strengths - they're better singers than Alexandra Burke, and I'd say Perrie is in the same vocal league as Leona Lewis.

To me, Little Mix look like being the true starts of Syco recording label, and perhaps the only ones with enough talent and identity to keep on making good music and good chart progress long after all the other X Factor winners are a distant memory. Sam Bailey can't compare to these girls - next year it will someone else's sob story, but these girls could just prove to be the best thing X Factor ever discovered.

If you can, buy the deluxe edition which has 4 extra songs on it (3 new ones and a rather unnecessary but still sweet version of 'Little Me'). The new songs are all in keeping with the rest of the album, and the one entitled 'Stand Down' is a belter!

So the best songs on this album, in my opinion, are: About the Boy, These Four Walls, Competition, Towers, Stand Down, and Little Me. But of course you will have your own favourites. That's one of the reasons this is such a great album - there are not only no duds on this album, but there's no songs that sound like they have been added simply as 'fillers'. The girls' debut album was brilliant (DNA) but Little Mix have avoided the curse of the 2nd album trap that so many bands fall into. It's no wonder this album topped the US charts - it should have been a UK number one too.

It's interesting to note that in recent (Feb/Mar 2014) photos in magazines, Little Mix now look extremely like the last British girl-band to have a number one hit in the US. Namely, the Spice Girls. Leigh-Anne had a definite Mel B vibe about her while Jesy was pouting like Posh circa 1996, and Perrie wasn't dissimilar to Emma Bunton. Maybe it was just a coincidence, or maybe Simon Cowell is deliberately trying to market the girls as his new version of the Spice Girls? He once tried to market 'Girl Thing' (a failed girl band headed by Jodi Albert) by calling them his answer to the Spice Girls, only that didn't work out.

I, for one, will definitely be keeping an eye out for anything Little Mix do next.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 13 November 2013
What makes this a five star album is the fact that although it is more R'n'B it doesn't contain the all too popular pitfalls of music labelled as such. The 'Little Mixers' of which my 7 year old daughter is one, have not been forgotten, they do not try to alienate and attempt to lose their younger fan base with explicit themes and lyrics, the girls are simply trying to move forward and become more credible to a wider audience. They achieve this with great success, mixing up modern R'n'B with melody and harmonies that will entertain all who like good pop music.

For an x factor, put together girl band this is something of a revelation. If you liked the first or not give it a listen, most will not be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 14 November 2013
Cracking little follow up album, thoroughly enjoyableby for the family. Good wholesome pop, nice to see no bad language anywhere.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 11 November 2013
Such a powerful, catchy and meaningful album, Every song is so different and there are some important messages sent out.
I loved the first album, but this one is just AMAZING ;)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
To say I am a Little Mix fan would have been a lie; that is until I heard this album being played in a shop. I asked who it was and was very surprised. Weren't they that rubbish girl band from the X-Factor? However, every track is fantastic and single worthy in their own right. Just shows you that life can still surprise us and teach us not to judge so quickly. I hope others feel the same as me and listen and agree with this great album. Well done girls!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Great album with a mix of up-tempo pop and r n b songs, and ballads. More r n b influenced than their first album. Every song is decent which is very rare on an album. It reminds me of a contemporary mix between late 90's Destiny's child and the Spice girls. Track 9 is very much like a Destiny's child song. Even at 27 I enjoyed it. Clean language with good messages for the younger generation.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
These girls really know what really works for them as artists, mixing the genres well. They have really positive messages within in their songs for young girls and really life lessons for all ages. My favourite songs have to be Move, a different beat and towers. These songs in my opinion just show how much they have grown from their first album. Keep them coming girls, great work!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Arrived well packaged and very promptly. We were concerned that it does not come in a sealed or cellophane cover but that's the way they are bought in most shops now so I'm sure it wont matter that much. I feel this will be a very popular additional Christmas present for one of our grandaughters. Well done and thanks.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
I bought this cd from watching Little Mix perform Little Me live on a daytime show and thought they sounded amazing. The WHOLE cd doesn't disappoint. Each tune is well produced, well sung and quite catchy. A definite recommend for all ages ! I wish them well in their global success...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Word Up!
Word Up! by Little Mix

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.