Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars5,873
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

80 of 92 people found the following review helpful
on 29 August 2014
Finally watched this after all the fuss from all the addicted little girls I know who adore it. (including my 21yr old daughter!) I have to say it ticks all the boxes - excellent animation, wonderful story (an adaptation of the Hans Christian Anderson story - The Snow Queen) and excellent musical score too. I would put this on a par with 'Brave', perhaps even edging ahead slightly. Thoroughly entertaining with the feel-good factor of the Disney happy ending!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
104 of 120 people found the following review helpful
This is a really perfect stocking filler for Christmas, which will be adored by all Frozen fans. If you already have the film, you may be wondering what this DVD offers that will make it worth buying again. It comes in a slip case, with an attractive cover, making it look just a little bit more special if you are buying it as a present. The DVD itself comtains the film, but with the added extra of the words included underneath the songs - along with a bouncing snowflake, which follows the words, so your little one can sing along. Even better, in the extra bonus features there is a 'sing along selection' - which is simply all the songs together. My daughter had a play date yesterday and I think I must have heard, "Let It Go," accompanied by raucous seven year olds, about twenty times. So, this DVD will drive you crazy, but the kids will adore it! The bonus features also contains a little documentary, "Breaking the Ice," about the making of this incredibly successful movie and a little Mickey Mouse short feature, "Get a Horse." It is impossible to say why some films take off, but for my little girl - and many others - this has become a mini obsession. It certainly contains good female characters and some really catchy songs and this edition will be greatly enjoyed by Frozen fans everywhere.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
150 of 175 people found the following review helpful
on 5 April 2014
I took a chance and ordered this UK release of Frozen 3D from the UK since Disney apparently doesn't consider us Americans worthy of the 3D version. As advertised, this 3D Blu-ray disc is indeed Region-Free and works on my U.S. Blu-ray player with no problem.

The movie is fantastic, the sound and image are wonderful, and the packaging is free of frustration. It costs a bit extra ordering from England, but if you must have the 3D release, at least there's a way to get it!
1515 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
206 of 245 people found the following review helpful
on 15 January 2014
Frozen is a phenominon. It is a magical and emotional experience that will stay with you for days, weeks, months after you see it. It is by far the best Disney film since the likes of The Little Mermaid and The Lion King. Everything from the animation to the toe tapping musical numbers are breathtaking.

It is a heartwarming tale about sisterhood and the importance of family. Idina Menzel and Kristen Bell put in simply spellbinding performances as two sisters forced to grow up apart due to a terrible gift/curse. Menzels ensemble musical piece "Let It Go" deserves a Grammy because it is just so so so good.

I cannot recommend this film enough. Kids will love it due to Oalaf the hilarious wisecracking snowman and adults will appreciate the romance and love in the unbreakable ties asociated with family and sisterhood.

Buy Frozen and keep it forever!
1313 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
A delightful story adapted from a 'Hans Christian Anderson' tale ~'The Snow Queen'~
'Elsa' has unusual powers everything she touches turns to ice, she has absolutely
no idea how to control them.
Because of a 'chilly' accident 'Elsa' and her younger sister are kept apart within the
palace down the years by order of their father 'The King'
After the loss of both parents during a storm at sea, 'Elsa' is set to become Queen,
however after the ceremony her powers are exposed startling all in attendance.
The new Queen runs away, not by intention as she runs she creates an eternal
winter throughout the Kingdom.
'Anna' with the help of local mountain man 'Kristoff' and reindeer 'Sven' set out to
find 'Elsa' who is trapped within her icy world.
It will be a perilous journey but one that 'Anna' is prepared to take to save her sister.
However there is a wicked plot afoot.........Can both the Queen and the kingdom be saved ?
'Disney' magic again brought to the screen in this computer generated animation
A genuinely enjoyable family friendly tale.(You'll love the Characters in the tale)
(The music from the film available on CD)
Great viewing in both it's 3D and 2D versions, superb picture and sound quality
* 3D - Feature Film plus bonus:- Features-Disney Enhanced HD picture and sound.
* Original Theatrical short :- Get a Horse.
* Blu-ray Feature Film plus bonus:- Features-Disney enhanced HD picture and sound.
* The making of 'Frozen the Musical.
* D-frosted Disney's journey from 'Hans Christian Anderson' to 'Frozen'
* Deleted scenes with introduction from directors 'Chris Buck' and 'Jennifer Lee'
* 'Let it Go' Music Videos.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
Loosely based on Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy tale The Snow Queen, Frozen becomes the newest addition to the rich history of Disney princess movies. Is this a movie that will warm the hearts of children of all ages or will it leave you feeling out in the cold?

When they were very young, sisters Anna and Elsa were very close. They used to play all the time inside of their castle in the kingdom of Arendelle. But what made their playtime more magical is that Elsa has special powers of ice and snow which she would turn the ballroom into a winter wonderland of snowmen, slides, and ice rinks for her and her sister. One day after a tragic accident that left Anna with a frostbit mind, the king took his injured princess to the only being he knew could heal her, the magical Rock Troll King. The troll was able to heal young Anna, but warned the King that if it was her heart was frozen instead of her head, it may not be reversible. So the decision was made to wipe Anna’s mind of Elsa’s powers and separate the two children so no one could ever be hurt again. The King also warned Elsa to conceal her powers and don’t feel emotions because if anyone found out about her powers, their fear of her would would label her a monster.

In a voyage to another kingdom, the King and Queen’s ship capsized during a terrible storm in the ocean. This left Elsa and Anna orphaned princesses until the day that Elsa would be coronated as the new Queen of Arendelle. Being sheltered her whole life, Anna desperately just wants to meet people and she eventually bumps into a prince named Hans. They immediately hit it off, so well in fact that Hans asks Anna to marry him, but they want their new queen’s blessing. Elsa disapproves at their spontaneous decision. She and Anna argue and in a mental lapse she shows all the guests of the kingdom her frosty powers. Everyone is scared of Elsa so she escapes the kingdom for her safety. Unbeknownst to her as she flees into the mountains, she leaves Arendelle in a state of permanent winter. Anna knows she is the only one to reverse the spell so she goes after her. Can Anna, with the help of a mountain man named Kristoff, his reindeer named Sven, and a magical snowman named Olaf, stop Elsa from from doing any more damage, or will Arendelle stay frozen forever?

Frozen is the 53rd animated feature film from Disney Studios and it fits the formula for a classic princess movie perfectly. It has a princess, or princesses in this case, that have to deal with an obstacle in life. It has a dashing leading man, or men also in this case, to help said princess deal with that obstacle. It has Broadway quality musical numbers written by award winning composers and songwriters that one of them will more than likely win an Oscar for Best Original Song. And it has both a quirky animal sidekick and a magical creature to add comic relief to not only entertain both kids and adults, but also cut the tension from the serious undertone of the movie that wouldn’t really make it a children’s movie. So just because Frozen fits the formula, does it work? On some levels it absolutely does, however it becomes convoluted in others with an over abundance of unimportant characters and songs.

The stars of the show are Anna and Elsa voiced by the beautiful and talented Kristen Bell and Idina Menzel. It’s easy to say this movie is about sisterly love, but I took away a bigger sense of a family dealing with discrimination. Now that discrimination could be from an illness, handicap, or even homosexuality. Some families will go so far as to lock people out of their home as to not let outsiders in for fear of embarrassment. That’s exactly what Elsa and Anna’s parents do to them after Anna has her accident caused by Elsa’s powers. And if you think me saying that the analogy of Elsa being gay is a stretch, then why do they tell her to “conceal, don’t feel” and literally lock her in a closet? To me Frozen is a metaphor for family members accepting each other for who they are and not what the neighbors will think of them. When Elsa is finally able to come out of her proverbial closet, she leaves her bigoted town and becomes ‘fabulous” the the tune of “Let it Go.” It’s now Anna’s job to track her down in the mountains to tell her that she is still loved and to not let the hate of the people poison her heart. Both Kristen Bell and Idina Menzel did a wonderful job with their voice acting, especially when it comes to singing. I never knew Bell had such a pretty singing voice, and of course Menzel brings her talents from Fox’s Glee and Broadway’s Wicked to belt out some amazing songs.

The men of Frozen come from two different backgrounds. Prince Hans voiced by Santino Fontana is the youngest of thirteen sons from a far away kingdom. He becomes Anna’s love interest as the two hit it off during the Queen’s coronation ball. He feels neglected by his family from being picked on and ignored by his twelve older brothers so Anna relates to the same type of loneliness. Kristoff the mountain man voiced by Jonathan Groff travels with his buddy Sven the Reindeer. He too is a loney guy as he usually has almost schizophrenic conversations with Sven. While the two characters indeed add to the plot and character development, they almost were unnecessary to the movie. Out of the two I really liked Kristoff in the same manner I liked Flynn Rider from Tangled even though he was basically the same character.

The songs of Frozen, and there are a ton of them, are fun and catchy. They may not be instant Disney classics like “Be Our Guest” or “A Whole New World,” but they do their job to tell Anna and Elsa’s story. I particularly liked “Do You Want to Build a Snowman” that is sung as Anna is growing up and tries to communicate to Elsa through her door. The film had actresses of different ages to sing the song as Anna grows up. I thought this song was extremely touching. The other major song is “Let it Go” sung by Elsa as she transforms into the Ice Queen. To just listen to the song doesn’t do it justice. You really have to hear Idina Menzel’s angelic voice accompanied by the stunning visuals of snow and ice effects as she metamorphosizes herself and creates her ice castle. The only problem I had with some of the songs were during the duets when I felt the singers were singing over themselves. I know it’s a musical, but for small kids in the audience they might be confused with the lyrics. With so many musical numbers in the movie, I wouldn’t be surprised if Disney wasn’t already planning a Broadway musical based on the movie. I can also already imagine “Frozen on Ice” the skate show.

The animals and creatures of Frozen are Sven the Reindeer and Olaf the Snowman. Sven reminded me a lot of Maximus the Horse in Tangled. He wasn’t a talking reindeer, but was still able to communicate well with facial expressions and body language. But who really steals the entire show is Olaf. He has got to be one of the most adorable Disney sidekicks ever. He is so lovable that you just want to go out and buy stuffed animals and t-shirts with his likeness on them. He has a song called “In Summer” about how he can’t wait to feel the warmth of the sun and hang out at the beach. It’s such a cute song because everyone knows the punchline except for Olaf who has no idea that heat will make him melt. Olaf is also perfect a perfect character at times, because he says exactly what the audience is thinking, especially at some obvious moments in the movie. Olaf is to Frozen what the Minions are to Despicable Me… only better. If you don’t leave Frozen thinking Olaf is the most adorable character ever, then you may just have a heart of ice.

Visually, Frozen is absolutely stunning. You get the feeling you really are in a blizzard in Norway. The weather effects are great and the snow actually looks real as opposed to cartoon styrofoam snow. My screening was in 3D and it made the whole experience even better. The 3D added so much depth to the film, especially with Elsa’s ice powers. You could tell that the filmmakers also paid a lot of attention to detail to the Norwegian outfits and architecture. On the big screen, you could see all the little details in the fabric like the embroidery in the outfits. I wouldn’t be surprised if the World Showcase at Epcot Center gets a complete makeover for its Norway area.

In classic Disney animated tradition, Frozen starts out with a cartoon short called “Get a Horse!” It begins as a simple 2D black and white Mickey Mouse cartoon reminiscent of Steamboat Willie, but quickly turns into a whole other experience in a convergence of both 2D and 3D color animation at its finest. This cartoon was so cool, it could easily be an attraction at Disney World like Philharmagic at the Magic Kingdom or the Muppet 3D movie at Hollywood Studios. This is another major aspect on why seeing Frozen in 3D is totally worth it.

I went into my screening with one movie on my mind and that was Tangled, especially since the marketing of the movie wants you to know that they also made Frozen. To me, the story of Rapunzel was a perfect Disney princess movie. It was well balanced for not only boys and girls, but for kids and adults. It wasn’t silly and it had a powerful leading lady who was a strong independent woman, which as a father of three daughters, I felt she is an amazing role model to impressionable little girls. I also thought it was well balanced between the singing and non musical moments. So where does Frozen fit into the picture? In my opinion, a slightly distant second. While the princesses are indeed charming, they are sort of forgettable. You barely see Elsa, and when you see Anna, she is all worried about meeting her version of Prince Charming. Not to spoil anything, but I was at least relieved how the movie ended. I was completely clueless to the red herrings thrown throughout the film, but needless to say, I do feel both Anna and Elsa turned out to be strong women and not just typical princesses waiting for true love to rescue them. I admit I’m not a huge fan of musicals, but I felt there were way too many songs in the movie. I know, I know, that’s what a musical is, but the film could have cut out the opening song and maybe one other song just to balance everything out. Overall, I was thoroughly entertained and so was my family. I liked the characters and the final message the movie was trying to send.

If you’re not a fan of movies with heavy musical numbers, then Frozen may not be your cup of tea, but if you love classic movies like Beauty and the Beast and The Little Mermaid, then you should definitely check it out, especially in 3D. The visuals are great and worth the extra bucks for the extra dimension of depth, especially with the opening cartoon and the winter effects of the main feature. Frozen is a fun movie for the whole family to enjoy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
Having now watched this film ten times with my three year old daughter, I still enjoy it. Quite simply it is brilliant, particularly for young girls. It is a bit more of a girl movie I would say unlike previous Disney classics like the lion king, because the story involves princesses and sisters. However unlike every other Disney princess movie, these princesses are independent and powerful, which is a very good message for today's children. I believe this is the first Disney movie to show the main character young woman as possessing magic powers instead of that role being filled by side characters, and the first Disney film in which the day is not saved by a man. Men play key roles but it very much a female empowering film. The combination of the girly princess/queen angle with lavish parties and settings with magic and adventure is what makes this movie so appealing, and it helps that the songs are catchy, the acting is good, and the animation is stunning. The tone is quite light and comedic with the exception of a few poignant or tragic moments so it is light watching yet touching and inspirational. I have to commend the writers because there is one song sequence near the beginning which lasts but a few minutes yet encompasses the sisters growing up, then growing apart, Elsa's powers developing and their parents dying, all in one song, which manages to move me to tears every time. Exceptional, really. It is not hard to see why this has become a global phenomenon. The message is one of self confidence and being accepted, and learning the power of different kinds of love.
Ok, the marketing has gone a bit mad, and im not sure any movie deserves quite the fan madness that this movie has received, and yes at the end of the day it is a childrens movie. Do not expect it to plumb new depths of the human psyche or unravel the mysteries of the universe. It is a small scale, personal tale, not an epic, and expect emotion and delight not action packed mayhem. Some have criticised a lack of plot because the plot is a simple quest to bring sisters back together and find acceptance and a place in the world, rather than a complex plot spanning continents and multiple agendas. This isnt james bond, this is Disney, so have that in mind when you watch it.
At the end of the day if you go into it expecting a fun, fantastic, inspirational adventure and you do not like this movie then you are probably a miserly curmudgeon. Or a sociopath.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
I was happy that I went through the U.K. Amazon online outlet to purchase this DVD because all the comments I found on the Internet from viewers said that it was far superior to the one designed for American consumption. All I can say is that I was relieved that the format could be read easily by my blu-ray player and that the graphics, animation, color, sound, and movement were all first rate, with special effects that stretched the ability of the animators to use the computer in ways that made the original Toy Story look amateur by comparison: the swirling snow effects, the modelling of the principal characters, the 3D depth which didn't overpower but became a character in its own right; all of these things made for a very enjoyable viewing. The film itself, I believe, had one or two weaknesses -- taking the original story and adding music and lyrics more vernacular and contemporary in style than what the story deserved. I was particularly unhappy with the songs, that ran the gamut from Sondheim-style rhythmic speech to a concluding number that, I swear, was just the chord progressions and beat of "Just Keep Believing" but with different lyrics and melody (I understand that the husband and wife team responsible for the music did some "market research" by reviewing all the tunes from previous Disney movies to come up with a "sure fire" formula. But that is a criticism of the movie itself, not its reproduction on DVD, which I believe is first rate. I also enjoyed the old black-and-white Mickey Mouse cartoon (as viewed through a 3D perspective) which was included, one which I believe was missing from the American version. Well worth the cost and the short wait across the pond from the British Isles.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
I wasn't sure what all the hype was about but everyone seemed to be comparing it with the lion king so I was like...ok psh come on, not a chance. I sat and watched this with just having watched the let it go vid on YouTube. At first I started to become impressed with the animation. The visuals are so stunning I was very much taken back. There are a lot of " wow that looks so cool" moments. I loved the sunset on the scene where they are being chased by that huge snowman thing.

The "let it go" sequence for me almost beats the lion kings circle of life. It is such an addictive and catchy tune I simply couldn't get it out of my head and still cant. it starts off slow and builds to a point where you have your jaw on the floor.

Its a very powerful song and I am sure most should identify with her need for freedom and escaping the fear she is feeling. I loved her subtle facial expressions when she raises the castle up from the ground that really got me. she is almost saying, this is so easy, look what I can do with ice.

The lyrics are also brilliant and relatable. Insanely good singing voice that goes WAY up past the clouds with amazing energy, there is a really powerful "YEAH LETS DO THIS" feel to it. She lifts her dress up and stomps her foot down on the floor creating a huge snow flake stating that this is where she wants to stay. Then the final part where she looks at you saying "the cold never bothered me anyway" and spins around, slamming the door shut in your face. that got me more then anything in the whole movie. Its like she just gained total control and all her fear is gone. you feel relieved for her after all the insane pressure she was put under, looking after not just her baby sister but the entire realm. I love how giddy she gets and just lets it all rip. Who wouldn't want to feel like that. Both thumbs up for that song.

The ending surprised me and stirred up quite a bit of emotion for me. I'm not going to say what happens but it was a very nice little twist and refreshing from the usual story. It was a very moving part and I watched it a few times in a row. Elsa's "cry" moved me deeply, though its brief it sounds so deep and real.

the more I watch this movie the closer it gets to passing the Lion Kings position at No.1 position.

update 18/6/14 - a few MONTHS later!

OK I am now totally obsessed with this movie and it has BLASTED the lion king right off my No1 top fav Disney movie. I have tried everything to get this movie out of my veins its making me pure nuts. The thing is that there are so many different ways to see the same story. There is Anna's funny side and adventures as well as her struggle to get through to Elsa, who is just so terrified of hurting her. Elsa is so complex you could write a freakin novel about her.

Elsa's relationship with her parents is very disturbing. Besides being totally repressed and told not to be who she is or love who she is, one scene comes to mind. Anna runs up to her parents and wraps her arms around them and is embraced back. Elsa is kept at a distance in the next scene and she actually Curtsey's in front of them. No hug no nothing. I can only imagine how many big sisters feel like this, that they have to be the responsible ones and take on all the pressure. It was painful to notice that and you can see in her face how scared she is.

Has this girl ever been hugged in her life? I think that is why I think the very last hug is so important, it could be her very first one so its not surprising when she looks for more after that one. She touches Anna all the time after that and almost cant keep her hands off her. Anna is the very same with Elsa, its sweet.

The number done on her head by her parents was unbelievable. Who is so terrified of hurting others that they don't even attend their own parents funeral? That is how messed up and scared of herself Elsa is. And she never asks for thanks, you know, for giving up her entire childhood for the sake of everyone else. she doesn't get thanked either. She just gets thrown into a room and locked away from her only friend.

Another thing I noticed when she woke up, after being taken back to Arendelle, She is CHAINED to the floor?!! Who put those chains there? Did her parents actually construct those for their own daughter? that is just the darkest, creepiest thought of child abuse I have ever seen in a Disney feature. They are not your usual criminal chained cuffs, they are specifically designed to cover the entire hand. It was simply heart breaking to see her trying to get out of them when you know she terrified and needs to find Anna, or just get away from Arendelle to keep everyone safe.

Spoiler Ahead!!!!

As much as I adore Elsa's character, and oh my god I do, especially during the reuniting of the two girls (a rare occasion you see her laughing and smiling with her sister), Anna is my favourite character. She is so damn funny in some scenes and reminds me of myself a lot. I can totally relate to how frustrating and hard it is to try to help someone who just keeps shutting you out and pushing you away. I have been there myself and it takes its toll.

You don't understand why they are doing it so you just keep getting hurt over and over again, sometimes enough to keep you away for a while. But we love them so much we just keep going back to try again. We know they don't mean it. Its scary to think that it takes Anna getting killed for her to get through to Elsa. Though I have thought about this and if Elsa had not have blasted Anna in the heart she would not have froze solid and that sword would have gone straight through her and her sister.

Anna is clumsy and awkward but when it comes down to it she puts all her own needs aside and fights to reach her sister when no one else will. Tragically she seemed to have zero awareness of the feelings of her sister either. This is the reason she gets blasted the 1st (told to slow down) and 2nd time (told to leave)and gets herself killed. She is almost like the fool in the tarot deck, blinded by emotion and enthusiasm to get through to her Big sister and almost walking off a cliff, she doesn't really pay attention to what is happening around her in a realistic manner. She is too stubborn and simply wont listen to Elsa's desperate pleas, she keeps pushing and doesn't realise how stressed out Elsa is. The lack of awareness or control makes the situation so much harder for Elsa, resulting in Elsa going out of her mind and losing control. it would almost be like someone poking you in the arm and telling you to stop being who you are, over and over again. you try to tell them you cant but they just wont listen and keep poking at your arm. I would lose it too.

During the reprise scene Elsa is so desperate to get her sister out of harms way that she constructs a huge snow monster to "escort" her out the door/area and to make sure she never comes back. The reprise duet is beyond amazing, the emotion that the animators manage to put into Elsa's character for this particular part is frightening. She actually grabs her own head trying to hold on to her own sanity but ultimately ends up failing due to Anna's pestering mannerisms. You can really feel her start to lose her mind and "explode" when it becomes too much for her. I am sure everyone on the planet knows just what that feels like. Someone pressing your buttons unknowingly while you are fighting to figure out what is going on. You want to make it all stop but you cant and start to feel so crazy. Its scary, especially when others expect you to just get on with it.

Then she finally gets Anna to leave.Its so sad to see her have to do that when everyone knows all she wants is for her sister to be by her side. You remember how well they get on at the party before Elsa runs off and when they were kids. You have two best friends here that have been separated since they were kids, no explanation no nothing. They will truly do anything for each other and that's how deep their bond is.

The top subject for me in this movie is the sheer damage that can be done to kids if they are told that they are dangerous and almost punished for being who they are by being locked away from everyone with no support. Why don't they just talk to them and let them know what is going on. Don't scare the absolute sh&*e out of them and take their only friend away. Hello like?

I am very aware that this is just an animated feature for kids and these characters are fictional but I immediately related to BOTH girls and their situations and not in a small way. This was my movie, animated or not I have never felt so connected to characters like this. It actually scared me a little as to how someone could know my life so well and not even have met me I was truly blown away. I couldn't believe it when this movie came along when I was in the very same situation as Anna. Its one of those movies that when you watch it you don't feel so misunderstood and that someone out there knows the truth. No matter how many times I watch this movie (getting ridiculous at this stage)I find little extra things every time. I also feel a little less crazy and more understood.

If this same crew ever bring out a sequel I would really love to see a huge development on Elsa's character and her relationship with her sister. Elsa still has a kingdom to run and should probably be given a new friend that has similar problems. Either that or give her a nemesis that she can defend her kingdom from. Kidnap Anna and lets see how Elsa goes about it.

Best movie I have EVER SEEN animated or not. Huge two thumbs up to all involved.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
FROZEN [2013] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray] Walt Disney’s 52nd Animated Classic! From The Creators of TANGLED and WRECK-IT RALF!

Walt Disney Animation Studios presents a chilly twist on one of the most humorous and heart-warming stories ever told. It’s the “best Disney animated movie in almost a decade. Every inch an instant classic.”

Fearless optimist Anna [Kristen Bell] sets off on an epic journey – teaming up with rugged mountain man Kristoff [Jonathan Groff] and his loyal reindeer Sven – to find her sister Elsa, whose icy powers have trapped the kingdom of Adrendelle in eternal winter. Encountering Everest-like conditions, mystical trolls, and a hilarious snowman named Olaf [Josh Gad]. Together with Anna and Kristoff battle the elements in a race to save the kingdom.

Bring home ‘FROZEN’ on 3D Blu-ray High Definition and featuring a blizzard of never-before-seen bonus extras with gorgeous animation, memorable characters and unforgettable music. Its dazzling fun for the whole family!

FILM FACT: Awards and Nominations: 2014 Academy Awards®: Win: Best Animated Feature for Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee, and Peter Del Vecho. Win: Best Original Song for Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez for "Let It Go." 2014 BAFTA® Awards: Win: Best Animated Film for Chris Buck, and Jennifer Lee. 2014 British Academy Children's Awards: Win: BAFTA Kid's Choice Award for ‘Frozen.’ Nominated: Children's Feature Film for ‘Frozen.’ 2014 Golden Globe® Awards: Win: Best Animated Feature Film for ‘Frozen.’ Nominated: Best Original Song in a Motion Picture for Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez for "Let It Go." 2014 Hugo Awards: Nominated: Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form) for ‘Frozen.’ 2014 Critics' Choice Movie Awards: Win: Best Animated Feature for ‘Frozen.’ Win: Best Original Song for Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez for "Let It Go." 2015 Grammy Awards: Win: Best Song Written for Visual Media for Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez for "Let It Go." Win: Best Compilation Soundtrack for Visual Media for ‘Frozen.’ Nominated: Best Score Soundtrack for Visual Media for Christophe Beck. It has earned more than a billion dollars at the worldwide box office, making it the most successful (non-sequel) animated feature film of all time.

Voice Cast: Kristen Bell, Idina Menzel, Jonathan Groff, Josh Gad, Santino Fontana, Alan Tudyk, Ciarán Hinds, Chris Williams, Stephen J. Anderson, Maia Wilson, Edie McClurg, Robert Pine, Maurice LaMarche, Livvy Stubenrauch, Eva Bella, Spencer Lacey Ganus, Jesse Corti, Jeffrey Marcus, Tucker Gilmore, Paul Briggs, Jennifer Lee, Motomu Azaki, Takahiro Fujiwara, Shinichirô Hara, Hajime Iijima, Natsuki Inaba, Sayaka Kanda, Kazumasa Katsura, Katsuhiro Kitagawa, Yuko Masuoka, Takako Matsu, Sumire Morohoshi, Yasuhiko Nemoto, Masashi Nogawa, Misaki Saisho, Rio Sasaki, Rika Sugimura, Youhei Tadano, Kazumasa Takemoto, Pierre Taki, Eisuke Tsuda, Kevin Del Aguila, Jose Premole, Benjamin Schrader, Margaux Susi, Frank Welker, Jack Whitehall and Tommar Wilson

Directors: Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee

Producers: Aimee Scribner, John Lasseter and Peter Del Vecho

Screenplay: Chris Buck, Dean Wellins. Jennifer Lee, Shane Morris and Hans Christian Andersen (inspired by the story "The Snow Queen")

Composer: Christophe Beck

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.24:1

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, Portuguese: 5.1 DTS Digital Surround, Castilian Spanish: 5.1 DTS Digital Surround, Catalan Spanish: 5.1 DTS Digital Surround and English: 2.0 Dolby Audio Description

Subtitles: English SDH, Portuguese, Castilian and Spanish

Running Time: 108 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 2

Studio: Walt Disney Studios Home Entertainment

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: In the northern kingdom of Arendelle, two young princesses play in the middle of the night. The elder sister, Elsa, was born with the ability to create ice and snow with the wave of her hands, which delights the younger, effervescent Anna. When Elsa slips and accidentally blasts Anna with her icy magic, the King and Queen race with Elsa and Anna into the deep woods to seek help from local trolls. The father troll heals Anna, but removes her memories of Elsa's magical abilities. He also warns Elsa that her powers are beautiful, but dangerous. Elsa's greatest enemy will be fear.

The King and Queen immediately shut Elsa away from the rest of the world, closing the castle gates to keep her powers secret and to keep her safe. Elsa, in turn, locks herself away from Anna, who doesn't understand why her best friend doesn't want to play anymore. As the years pass, Anna tries less and less to repair the broken relationship with Elsa, who fears not only her powers, but also any emotions which may cause her powers to flare.

Years later, when the girls have become women, Arendelle opens its doors for Elsa's coronation as Queen. Elsa [Idina Menzel] dreads the ceremony, for she must remove her gloves, the very gloves she believes will hold back her monstrous power. Anna [Kristen Bell] is jubilant; she's been alone for so long she's starved for attention. The coronation is to be her first party ever and all the food and dancing and handsome suitors. What if she meets one today? What if she meets The One?

Enter Prince Hans of the Southern Isles [Santino Fontana], who literally sweeps Anna off her feet. It isn't long before Anna decides she's found True Love and marches in to get Elsa's blessing. Elsa, meanwhile, is struggling to keep her powers at bay, so when Anna announces her engagement to a man she just met, the two begin an argument that boils over when Elsa freezes the floor and fountains in front of all their guests.

Elsa is horrified. Anna is confused. And the people lead by the arch, villainous Duke of Weaseltown declares Elsa a monster and a sorcerer. Elsa flees across the fjord, freezing the bay and unintentionally turning summer into a permanent, never-ending winter. The Duke wants to send his armed men after the monster, but Anna convinces them to hold back, telling Prince Hans to keep Arendelle safe from the Duke's greedy hands. Anna fearlessly sets off alone to bring her sister home and save the kingdom from the deep freeze. Along her journey, she picks up a few sidekicks, a mountain man named Kristoff, a reindeer named Sven (who does NOT talk), and a talking snowman named Olaf. But, even with Anna's new friends, the questions remain; does Elsa want to come home?

Co-directed by Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee, who share story credit with Shane Morris and JenniferLee also wrote the screenplay. 'FROZEN' was inspired by Hans Christian Andersen's 'The Snow Queen', a project Walt Disney himself wanted to make some seventy years earlier. What we have now is both wonderfully modern and classically Disney. Wait, that's not exactly right. A better way to describe this computer-animated fairy-tale-musical is to say it is classic era Disney fairy-tales from the '30s and '40s... fused with the blockbuster Disney musical renaissance of the early '90s... animated with the tools of post-modern PIXAR CGI. Its closest sibling is probably the revisionist 'TANGLED.'

'FROZEN ' is an extremely entertaining animated musical that harkens back to classic Disney fairy-tales while putting a modern spin on things that may or may not be socially important. This is clean entertainment for the entire family. I loved every single frame of it, from the musical numbers to the action sequences to the sight gags, save for one thing. The end credits switch to a pop star version of "Let It Go", performed by Demi Lovato. I'm sure Ms. Lovato is a wonderful person, but compared to Ms. Menzel... it's a little underwhelming.

3D Blu-ray Video Quality – 'FROZEN’ skates onto 3D Blu-ray with a highly dimensional, gorgeous 1080p encode framed in the film's original 2:24:1 aspect ratio. This is an outstanding 3D release, and watching 'FROZEN’ in the third dimension is now my preferred way to experience it. There's no apparent loss in colour vibrancy or brightness despite the 3D glasses. Unlike some releases, the 3D actually adds to the whole experience. This is a highly dimensional film. The entire world of Arendelle comes alive in this format. The sets, the characters, the feels like you are inside the animation film. Especially when it's snowing as the flakes tend to come out of the screen. Olaf's carrot nose, while never really poking you in the eye or distracts the viewers, but it does seem to stick out into our world too. And, for those who have ghosting-prone displays, as sometimes happens, I didn't see much of a problem. Aside from the slightest hint of banding during the Walt Disney Animation Studios logo, aka material NOT created for this animation film specifically, 'FROZEN' is another reference quality CGI animation Blu-ray. Your display's ability to reproduce the colour white is sure to be tested here, as the animation film balances many snowy landscapes during day and night sequences. Colours are bright and bold and beautiful, from the elegant costumes to the sparkling magical ice to the auroras in the night skies. Black levels are expectedly inky, in particular a semi-transparent sheet hung over a painting early in the film's running time. Detail and resolution are resplendent as well. To be fair, Walt Disney Animation Studios doesn't render textures in the almost-photo-realistic PIXAR way, but wood grains and individual snowflakes and strands of hair make for a visual feast. There's so much to see in the 'FROZEN' world, and all of it is here in a two dimension setting so clear, it feels somewhat three dimensional. In a word: gorgeous.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – 'FROZEN' sings and roars its way onto Blu-ray with a dynamic 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio surround sound mix which will sure to please the audiophiles addicts amongst us. While 'FROZEN' starts out a little light on aggression and grunt, that's okay. We're first rewarded with the room filling orchestrations of composer Christophe Beck, who partners with Norway's Frode Fjellheim for "Eatnemen Vuelie" ("Song of the Earth"). From there we race through time and musical numbers where the voices are crystal clear and the effects nice and punchy. Once the action moves out of the castle's safety, the track really rises to the aural occasion. Blowing storms and growling wolves and whooshing sleds highlight the mix's articulate panning. And then there's the thunderous roar of the snow monster. It first appears when Elsa creates a new friend to guard her fortress of solitude ice castle. It's definitely a lot of fun if you like that sort of thing.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Special Feature: 3D Blu-ray: Get A Horse! [2013] [1080p] [6:00] The Walt Disney Animation Studios short that played before the film's theatrical release. It features Mickey Mouse fighting Peg-Leg Pete over Minnie Mouse through different styles of animation, both classic hand-drawn Black-and-White as well as modern CGI in full widescreen colour. It's clever a lot of fun and is truly and terrific use of 3D. You can actually see it also in 2D and again it is very good, but looks much better in 3D.

Special Feature: Music Videos "Let It Go" [1080p] [15:42] Demi Lavato (in English), Martina Stoessel (in Spanish & Italian), and Marsha Milan (in Malaysian) perform their "End Credit" versions of the Academy Award winning song, "Let It Go." I still prefer the original Idina Menzel version, but Marsha Milan is also an incredible singer.

Special Feature: The Making of 'Frozen' [1080p] [3:18] You might have seen this video online. Josh Gad, Jonathan Groff, and Kristin Bell lead a fun musical number inside the Disney Animation building in Burbank, poking fun at the fact they didn't make an actual making-of feature.

Special Feature: D'frosted: Disney's Journey From Hans Christian Andersen to 'Frozen' [7:28] A short piece covering Walt Disney's history in translating fairy-tales into animated motion pictures.

Deleted Scenes: Introductions by Directors Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee [6:51] Four unfinished deleted scenes can be accessed, with introductions from the co-directors, with Play All. Or, you can watch them individually: Never Underestimate The Power of Elsa; The Dressing Room; Meet Kristoff 1 and Meet Kristoff 2.

Theatrical Trailer [2013] [1080p] [1:32] This is an Original Theatrical Teaser Trailer Olaf-heavy teaser that evokes the world, but not the story. Definitely feel free to watch this and do NOT worry about spoilers.

Finally, 'FROZEN' 3D is quite simply one of the best Disney Princess films ever made. This engaging musical is firmly grounded in its classic Disney roots while blazing a new path. It is also an important display of fully-rounded female characters, balancing heroics and flaws and fears. More than the most refreshing animated surprise of 2013. ‘FROZEN’ is a lovingly crafted, wonderfully nuanced dual-princess fairy tale for the modern age. It isn't quite as well-rounded or gender-neutral as ‘TANGLED,’ and it probably shouldn't have defeated Miyazaki's The Wind Rises for Best Animated Feature at the Academy Awards, but none of that should detract from everything Frozen accomplishes. Disney's Blu-ray release is excellent too... if, that is, you're willing to overlook its terribly anaemic half-hour supplemental package, which offers very little insight into the film's production. Fortunately, perfect video and audio have a way of softening the sting of any disappointment, and the studio's stunning video presentation and outstanding 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio surround track do just that. And then some. Not everyone will warm to the charms of ‘FROZEN,' but I suspect those who do, essentially anyone who gives the 70-years-in-the-making animated musical a fair shot, will still be watching the film in twenty years with a new generation of children and grandchildren. This why I am so pleased to add this to my ever increasing Walt Disney Blu-ray Collection and will give me lots of enjoyable 3D animation joy and is well worth viewing again, as there is so much visual treats and I suspect each time I view this Blu-ray, I will see different aspect of this stunning Walt Disney Animation. Very Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Brave [DVD]
Brave [DVD] by Kelly Macdonald (DVD - 2012)

Finding Nemo [DVD]
Finding Nemo [DVD] by Lee Unkrich (DVD - 2013)

Tangled [DVD]
Tangled [DVD] by Nathan Greno (DVD - 2011)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.