Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars107
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2013
Adam Cassidy (Liam Hemsworth) is a bright young man and he is trying to sell his employer, Nicolas Wyatt (Gary Oldman), an idea that he and his techie friends and colleagues have come up with. Wyatt, however, is rude and indifferent, and fires them all. Cassidy is now in a financial fix as there is no insurance to cover the latest medical treatment for his father (Richard Dreyfuss) and when he is later approached by wily Wyatt with an offer he really cannot refuse - to infiltrate the company of Jock Goddard (Harrison Ford) and steal the latest thing to be marketed by that company - Cassidy takes the opportunity to get rich. However, Wyatt and Goddard were once partners who now wage a technological war against each other and Cassidy is just a pawn in the game.

How can Paranoia (2013), a movie starring actors of the calibre of Gary Oldman, Richard Dreyfuss, and Harrison Ford, appear to be so teen-flicky? It all feels rather superficial and the romantic scenes between Liam Hemworth and Amber Heard just make it worse - I felt like I'd slipped into the Twilight zone. Yet the idea behind the plot is actually quite decent (despite the plot being riddled with holes) and actually ends with an unexpected result, like a damp squib that should have been a cracker. Not sure just how convincing the corporate machinations and technological devices are (even though I am pretty sure we are all being watched, monitored, and spied upon at some point or other - at least in the UK) but it's an entertaining enough movie if your expectations are really low. The cinematography is good and Gary Oldman is great although why the hell he and Harrison Ford would take a part in this film is beyond me. Didn't they read the script?

VJ - Movies and Books World
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 March 2014
Adam Cassidy (Hemsworth) is a young, cocky & ambitious low level employee of Wyatt Corporation, who specialize in computer electronics & software. After being fired he uses his discretionary account for a wild night out of drinking with his friends who are now also ex-employee's. Using this to threaten legal action & Adam's own lofty ambitions, his boss Nicolas Wyatt (Oldman) blackmails Adam into going undercover at Wyatt's old mentors rival corporation & steal the idea of a new piece of revolutionary technology they are working on.

The premise of Paranoia is an intriguing mixture of Antitrust &Wall Street. Of the former it's use of close knit security checks, body scanners & thumb recognition locks to show how paranoid firms like this are about keeping their secrets under lock & key. While some ominous blacked out cars, stalking, reuse of extra's in the background, hidden cameras, hacking & tracking cell phones emphasizes that 'privacy is a myth' as one character states. Of the latter it uses the illegal temptation of short cutting it to the top with ambition & greed by dangling the good life infront of Adam as a carrot.

The first 50 minutes of the film is quite a lackluster run of the mill build up that could had done with better pacing to keep your interest. The ensuing 50 minutes in contrast redeem's itself a little with more pace & excitement, with a foot chase, plot twists & the suspense execution of infiltrating the oppositions vaults, as well as a couple of great face off's between Gary Oldman & Harrison Ford (the highlight of the film IMO), that see's Ford up his game exponentially with a classic powerhouse performance to match Oldman's. The cinematography from David Tattershall (Star Wars Ep. I, II & III) was very eye catching in places with skyscraper fly by's & neat little touches that impressed even if the content didn't. The music was chosen well, modern & was really likable.

The acting was a little patchy at times, but the old guard came to the rescue of the youthful cast. Liam Hemsworth's (The Hunger Games) performance was quite mixed, lacking a range in his acting abilities, only managing to convince when showing glimpses of humility, ably supported by his father played wonderfully by Richard Dreyfuss (Jaws) who made up for the lack of sympathy towards Liam's character, think Charlie/Martin Sheen in Wall Street. Gary Oldman (The Dark Knight) with a refreshing British accent in an American film, was very good as the brash, manipulative Wyatt. Equally up to the challenge when tasked, Harrison Ford (Indiana Jones) shaven headed in a memorable Steven Jobs (Apple) style, showed glimpses of his classic powerhouse abilities as Wyatt's old mentor Jock Goddard. Also co-stars Julian McMahon (Nip/Tuck) , Lucas Till (X-Men), Embeth Davidtz (The Amazing Spider-Man) & Amber Herd (Drive Angry).

In conclusion, Paranoia saved it's best for last in the final half of the film, it's just a shame that the first half wasn't anywhere near as compelling to sit through. Contains strong language, violence & sexual scenes. Worth a watch.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
'Paranoia' is a corporate espionage thriller film that released in 2013, becoming a critical flop and a box-office disaster. The film is based on a novel of the same name authored by Joseph Finder.

The story follows Adam Cassidy (Liam Hemsworth) who is employed by Nicholas Wyatt (Gary Oldman) as a corporate spy in an attempt to infiltrate the business secrets of his rival, Augustine "Jock" Goddard (Harrison Ford).

The movie starts off interesting with an impressive star cast. The idea was smart and it was an easy watch. The problem was the predictability and no suspense throughout. I was expecting some form of tension, which was probably forgotten during the convoluted events. The ending is satisfying though.

The big star cast and the interesting subject hyped up the movie, as a result the basic end product fails to fulfill the potential. The movie is watchable and actually enjoyable if all high expectations are lowered.

Acting by everyone is what was expected. Oldman and Ford are a treat to watch.

The direction by Robert Luketic is rather predictable, even though he tries hard to introduce convoluted twists to make this a competent thriller. In the end, the script is the main let down.

'Paranoia' is an inaccurate name for the film as there is an absence of what the title suggests, Paranoia.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
I agree with the other reviewers. The promo looked great, it had a brilliant cast, the plot looked good and relevant to the times we live in... It's just such a let down. I can't believe I'm writing that about a film starring Harrison Ford and Gary Oldman. Both great actors who have starred in some fantastic films.

The film lacks tension and suspense, any depth to the plot, and I was sat there wondering if they'd aimed it a 12 years olds?! I groaned inside at the romantic moments, there's no chemistry between Liam Hemsworth and Amber Heard. They don't develop any of the relationships in the film, everything is totally superficial. There's no depth to the characters at all. I would summarise the film as pretty cheesy. It could have been so good, instead it's just bad!!
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Adam (Liam Hemsworth) is coerced by his former boss Nick (Gary Oldman) to become an industrial spy on Nick's former boss Jock (Harrison Ford). They work in the high tech industry of cell phone development. While working for Jock, Adam meets a former conquest Emma (Amber Heard) who was not impressed with his cheese fries or anything else.

Adam finds himself caught between the proverbial rock and hard place as he is trapped by slick gadgetry, which unlike anything I have seen, never has a glitch. He has no choice but to use what he has learned to fight back as he wants out.

The film uses technology that is available today, hacking, GPS, facial recognition software, etc to modernize an old twisty script. How well you enjoy this film might be determined by age, gender and love of electronic gadgets.

A drama thriller that might be worth a rental.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No nudity. Chick Flick style sex scene.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
Espionage movies, no matter the setting, have to drive hard to get the suspense ramped up to keep the viewer glued to the screen. Paranoia doesn't manage that and lacks a fair bit of cohesion right through to the end. Even the romance doesn't generate interest in what could have been something far better. And to think that both Gary Oldman and Harrison Ford star, even they can't raise the bar. One redeeming feature though was seeing Richard Dreyfuss on screen again. His and Ford's first film together since American Graffiti? Disappointing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
I missed this one at my local cinema, most likely they never ran it, and if it had not been for the good reviews here I doubt I would have bought the dvd. I spotted that Gary Oldman and Harrison Ford were in, so sent for it. I found it onenof the best movies l had seen fof months! Considering the subject is mobile phones which are a pet hate to me, I refuse to own one of these, for many reasons. They have completly taken over ourr young people, proof of this was shown recently in the newspapers when a baby in it's pushchair recently fell on a line in a London tube station, a young man was completly unaware of the drama happening around him, he was somewhere out in cyberspace. Then in this movie it's the young who eventually save the world. I should have really hated this movie, but instead I loved it! I liked the many twists and surprises, and although I did not really know the young leading man, I could accept him as the hero. So it was all a pleasent surprise to me. But, no, I still do not want a mobile phone. But it made a good movie!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
The ending is by far the worst part of the movie. It started off well but between Gary Oldman's odd "cockney" accent and Harrison Ford trying to play a bad guy (doesn't work on him).. it just got a bit too much. Also - Amber Heard is one of the worst actresses I've seen recently. Only watch if there's nothing else on.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
A great cast and an interesting storyline but ultimately the film just lacks that something that keeps you really interested and you end up not really caring enough about the fates of the actors/actresses. Entertaining enough to be worth watching once.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
This has a few tense moments. a bit difficult to follow for us 'old uns' with all the technology talk. However given the quality of the cast, somewhat disappointing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)