Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars399
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 25 February 2014
Very rare that I read a book. Even rarer that I read a book within a week. Bonkers was read in about four days.

It's rather marvellous. I had read some not particularly complimentary reviews on ITunes - just niggly things like people saying that Dear Fatty(Dawn French's book) was better and to read that instead, or that the book sounded like Jennifer showing off about her famous friends.

Two points there to pick up on.

1) French and Saunders are in fact two individuals, not one person. So to recommend people read someone else's autobiography instead is silly. This isn't meant to be Dear Fatty, this is meant to be Bonkers, the fact that these two people have closely linked lives is by the by. I wanted to read about Jennifer Saunders life, so I read this book. As those Americans would add - period.

2) People like to read about famous people's lives because they include other famous people. If Ms Saunders spent this book telling us about Barbara from behind the counter in Spar, and John from the pub's brother we would be bored. So she throws in a few Goldie Hawns and Ruper Everetts. If ever I write my autobiography, it will include the time Stevie Nicks waved at me. Yes I will.

Bonkers is funny, warm and very human, even with a fancy cocktail in its hand on some millionaire's yacht. And next time I watch French & Saunders Series 1-6 Box Set (6 discs) [DVD], Absolutely Fabulous - Absolutely Everything Box Set [DVD] [1992]or Jam and Jerusalem - Series 1-3 [DVD], I'll feel as though I know a little bit more about the blood, sweat and tears that went into those great shows.

Thumbs up gel.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
on 12 October 2013
as a big fan of Jennifer Saunders I was very excited to read this book, I can honestly say i was not disappointed. The unique 'go of on a ramble in the middle of a chapter' structure ensured that you were never bored by long stories of great grandparents and first boyfriends. The book was just as funny as Jen herself and I read the book in her voice. It was personal but no too personal that it began to feel uncomfortable. The details on how she got into comedy, how she and Adrian Edmondson got together, the beginning of Ab Fab and her fantastic friendships with Dawn French and Joanna Lumley were an insightful view into her fantastic life. Then obviously there was the cancer. She tackled this subject well. She wrote it in an emotional light but not in a way that would drag down the mood of the whole book. She made people aware of what she had been through but you could tell she was not searching for any sympathy, which in a way made it all the most touching. I would recommend this book 100%
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 3 September 2014
Just like Jennifer herself, this book is likeable, funny, warm & honest. She modestly admits that she's not much of a bookworm herself... but this story of her life takes the reader on a whimsical & fun-filled journey where she speaks to you just like a friend who's come round for tea.

Jen admits she's had a good life thus-far (& there are certainly no skeletons in her closet waiting to jump out!), as she takes us through her happy childhood memories, her college years, & the fascinating story of how she & comedy partner Dawn French met & forged their relationship.

French & Saunders (or The Menopause Sisters, as they were originally known!) emerged on the scene at a key time, becoming Britain's first-ever high-profile female comedy double-act. As you would imagine, the journey was predictably bumpy to start with - but they turned out to be real role-models for others to follow, & true comedy pioneers.
We chart Jen's career here from fledging stand-up, Comic-stripper, sit-com star, film actress & Ab-Fabber... not to mention of course her surprising horse-riding skills!

She gives one of the most cheery accounts of her time as a cancer patient here I've ever read, always remaining positive & realistic, emerging victorious on the other side in a typically modest account of one of her biggest life challenges.

This is great book for anyone who's a fan of Saunders (& French), & it's lovely to read about her family life, her passions, & her refreshing disdain of the tiresome cult of 'celebrity'.
All in all, an excellent autobiography for anyone who's interested in the life of Jen, & one that leaves the reader ultimately feeling they've really got to know her & what makes her such a likeable figure.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 25 November 2013
I loved Bonkers ! How refreshingly different to have an autobiography that tells of a happy childhood and not one of misery. I bought Bonkers on cd and listened to it in the car making a normally long boring journey a pleasure. From childhood to student life to meeting Dawn French and their early life in comedy through to the success of French and Saunders, Ab Fab etc., etc. Absolutely recommend Bonkers and, having also listened to Dear Fatty, how interesting that Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders have incredibly similar voices.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 27 January 2014
This is a really entertaining read and is full of interesting facts and stories for people who grew up with F&S then AbFab. It also confirmed the impression I had of Jennifer Saunders that she's a lovely person who simply likes making people laugh. She also comes across as very down-to-earth and humble about her talents. A must for any fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 30 October 2013
Jennifer Saunders's autobiography is an honest and candid account of her life whilst still retaining her privacy. Her experiences, relationships and feelings are revealed with her characteristic stamp of humour. We learn of her happy, chirpy childhood with her family often moving due to her father's career in the R.A.F. Her meeting with long-time friend and colleague, Dawn French, happened at Drama school. Their mutual love of the eccentricity of life and comedy forged a long-term association in writing and performing. The hugely successful 'Absolutely Fabulous' series wit Joanna Lumley is obviously important, bringing global fame and even more recognition of her talents. Her meeting and marriage to Ade Edmondson is included as a key point in her life's development.

Added interest is provided with her extensive travel and her celebrity friends, of whom there are many. Jennifer gives a frank account of her dealing with the diagnosis and extensive treatment of her cancer, taking it almost as a matter of life she has to face and overcome. Fortunately she does. Ms Saunders has no order of time in her writing. The time flits to and fro but does not detract from the story. This is full of Jennifer Saunders brand of humour, very funny and laugh aloud moments with many anecdotes. This is an amusing and revealing account of the author's life, yet at the end her diplomacy restricts how much of the real Jennifer Saunders she has kept to herself. Nevertheless, a most entertaining and enjoyable read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 27 January 2014
So funny when reading on a flight to Singapore couldn't help laughing out loud...... other the passengers where not
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 11 October 2013
Loved the book thought it was personal but without exposing any intimacy so we now know how ms Saunders mind works but not which side of the bed she sleeps on.
As a huge fan I giggled through the book in a day.
It is to be hoped perhaps a novel will follow however anyone who reads this and has read bonkers will know it may be a long wait. Hah!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 26 November 2013
Jennifer states that she thinks the public responds to her genuine friendship with Dawn French and she's right. I'm similar age and to me they both seem like my mates who have made it in comedy, but are still the same as they used to be. This book shares quite a lot ( I was pleased to see the photos but felt a bit nosy) and shows she's as normal as you would hope. F and S speak for me where younger comedy doesn't; it's a bit sad not to have a voice anymore. I still vote and pay lots of taxes BBC, bring them back and for goodness sake at least sell Jam and Jerusalem to comedy gold.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
aww what a lovely, touching autobiography! I was hooked into this book straight away and found it compulsive reading right from the first page, literally such a quick read because you feel like Jennifer saundersnis speaking to you and only you and you want to finish this wonderful conversation that you're having with this fabulous comedienne before going away and doing anything else. I actually got this on audiobook and as it is read by the author, this feeling of being in conversation with her intensified even more.

I love the structure of this book because, like any goo autobiography which is designed to keep you entertained, it doesn't simply go over event chronologically, there are massive tangents to go off and on and she merely highlights events that were key for her, not making a massive event over the more trivial points, or the points which will make a better sale of the book. She knows her audience and knows the kind of anecdotes that they will want to hear about her relationship with her comedy partners, her husband and her battle with breast cancer.

I have to admit that whilst I was a big fan of Jennifer Saunders before, I am an even bigger fan now! She just makes herself so endearing to hear readers and you don't even realise the amount of things she's been involved in and this book lays them all our for you, showing how much of a struggle it was for her in what was predominantly, a mans world, to make it big. She loves her friends a family and you can tell she enjoyed telling some of the tales that she told in this book, even if It was a massive effort to sit down and write it! I would recommend this book to anyone, it would make a fantastic present for someone who doesn't normally read because it is just such an easy book to get into and makes you want to get to the end before even moving again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.