Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars310
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 6 August 2014
Well worth a listen. The more you listen, it grows and grows on you. Less chart, more rock, country and hillbilly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 24 November 2013
after one listen i thought ,yes a good kings of leon album , i then put it on in my van and listened to it on the way to work and on the way home ,by the 3rd time i realised what a fantastic album it is with some good tracks and some pure classics , the base line on "family tree " is amazing . i would recommend any person buying this album will be totally hooked as i was by the 3rd listen . Enjoy .....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 23 September 2013
Mechanical Bull is the sixth studio album from Kings of Leon.

It's been about ten years since the Followill's showed up here in the UK. I distinctly remember the freshness and vitality of 'Red Morning Light' and 'Molly's Chambers' from their debut Youth And Young Manhood performed so authentically on Later with Jools Holland.

Bassist Jared (the one who had a pigeon drop one in his mouth during a show in St Louis) seems to think that the music of this album is some of their most complex yet but also has a youthful zest comparable to their first two albums. Of course, he would say that. Because enough has already been made of how the band have detoured down the stadium rock back route at the expense of musical originality.

On first listens, Mechanical Bull is perhaps a better description of albums four and five - and stands as one of the more intriguing of their more recent work. But ultimately it remains more in line with a low-risk formula that has haunted the band since the success of 'Sex on Fire'. It's a step in the right direction and the aptly titled 'Comeback Story' shines a glimmer of hope that the band are rediscovering their original delight ('Family Tree' will get the crowds chanting too), but there are too many ineffective tracks in the middle that leave it still short from what they should be achieving.

So much better than Come Around Sundown but I am beginning to think we may have already seen their best.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 3 July 2014
LOVE this album. Nothing much else to say, just a great album with some songs going back to their roots, sounding more like their first album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
A must for any Kings of Leon fan, by far their best album to date! Sadly though, the case (which is cardboard) had an enormous crease down the front. Normally I wouldn't mind, but it was a xmas present for my husband, who asked (jokingly) if I'd picked it up from a pre-loved dealer. Poor show there Amazon, a bit of a disappointment, hence the 4 star rating
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 20 November 2013
The album has been out for the best part of two months, and we can now agree the dust has settled. The initial hype has died down - as have the usual criticisms that the band have sold themselves out - and I feel we can now subjectively look at what is, in truth, a very good album from Kings of Leon.

The album opens with a traditional KoL radio-friendly stomper - "Supersoaker". It is essentially a hyped-up rewrite of Radioactive, the lead single from the previous album, but it's poppy demeanour and fun-sounding energy mean it could quite happily slot anywhere amongst the band's material from 'Because Of The Times', which remains one of their most-loved records. It's definitely a stadium-designed song, and the sing-along chorus will ensure it asserts itself as a fans favourite in very little time.

It's a strong opener which then slips into track two: "Rock City", a bluesy number that echoes of the band's earlier work. Following this is one of the album's definite highlights: "Don't Matter". Distinctly heavier than the vast majority of the band's previous work, this is an absolute stomper that will get the crowds going. It's an eloquent mix of Sex Pistols-meet-Queens of the Stone Age punk, and it boasts some of the best guitar work we've had the pleasure of hearing from the talented Matthew Followill. Caleb, the lead singer, sounds absolutely evil in this song. It ranks amongst the band's most enjoyable songs yet.

"Beautiful War" follows; a song which is arguably the best of the lot as far as KoL are concerned. It is a slow number that echoes "Use Somebody" from 'Only By The Night', but the driving bassline and haunting backing vocals create a successful homage to a lot of U2's best material; indeed, the rhythm section shares a resemblance to "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For," which, let's be fair, is certainly no bad thing.

Track five is "Temple", which is pleasant enough without being particularly memorable. Just when you think that the album might just follow the same path as "Come Around Sundown" and slip into mediocrity, it is rescued by "Wait For Me", another "Use Somebody"-esque anthem that features some ethereal guitar parts akin to "Manhattan" from the band's fourth album. It's the third major highlight of the album, and is most definitely likely to gather commercial success when it is inevitably released as a single.

The album only continues to improve - whilst previous KoL records have come unstuck with mediocrity plaguing their good work at the mid-way point, this album goes from strength to strength with "Comeback Story" and first "Family Tree". A Steve Wonder-inspired number, Jared's funky bassline acts as the backbone to a song sure to get the crowd moving, whilst it is another paint-by-numbers sing-along chorus that you can imagine being sung back to the band by a stadium of 50,000 beer-drinking fans! "Comeback Story" is a nod to the wonderful "Back Down South" from the previous record: it is a country tune which also features a beautiful orchestral composition during the chorus. It's a wonderful piece of work and represents the band doing what they do best; having fun - indeed, the lyric "I walk a mile in your shoes/ and now I'm a mile away/ and I've got your shoes' is a nod to KoL being at their mischievous best.

"Tonight" is track nine, and it echoes "The Immortals" from the last record. You can argue this is more of the same from the band, but it is a positive arena-friendly song that at least makes for pleasant hearing. "Coming Back Again" follows, which is a high-octane stomper akin to "Don't Matter", but with its abundance in "oh-ohs" during the chorus it'll serve as a crowd-pleaser without a doubt.

The album closes with the country song "On The Chin"; a strange choice to end on considering how pumped-up this album is in comparison to the mellowness of "Come Around Sundown", but it is another radio-friendly number that acknowledges the band's southern roots.

Bonus tracks include "Work on Me" and "Last Mile Home". You can see why they weren't included in the original release as they are pretty standard KoL works, but again, they make for pleasant listening.

The bottom line is that this is most definitely a very listenable album from the band. Yes, it is largely radio-friendly, but the diversity between some of the mellow country songs to the sheer hysteria of the likes of "Don't Panic", and to stadium stompers like "Supersoaker". The range of song styles is great without offering anything particularly new; but if it ain't broke, why fix it? Overall this represents a return to form for the band, offering their most complete record since 'Only By The Night', but perhaps their most revolutionary work since their third record was released, way back in 2007. It is an album that does have a few forgettable moments - the ending is a little inconspicuous, and whilst songs like "Temple" and "Rock City" are listenable without being particularly memorable, the abundance of high points - "Supersoaker", "Don't Matter", "Beautiful War", "Wait For Me", "Comeback Story" and "Family Tree" are sure to become staples in the band's live performances for many years to come.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
Disappointing. I think this is going to be my last Kings Of Leon purchase, unless I hear something from them that changes my mind. This album is a very tame, unexciting version of the band, almost like a modern-day Eagles. In fact, I almost feel as if I'm insulting the spirit of The Eagles by making the comparison, but the soft-rock/country feel of this album really warrants the comparison. Believe me, I don't enjoy criticising a band I really like, I've been a fan of the Kings Of Leon since the very first album and have very much enjoyed much of their output, especially their first three releases, but "Mechanical Bull", despite the rather macho title is a damp squib. I've given this a few listens and, although it's fairly decent, there aren't the riffs, the leftfield arrangements or the sheer adrenaline rush present here that made their earlier material so vital.

There are a few songs on here I've grown to really like which make this album almost worth buying - "Rock City", "Don't Matter" and "Family Tree". They all contain some of the Kings Of Leon sound and attitude that made me a fan and the latter, despite its compositional simplicity, is probably my favourite from "Mechanical Bull". It's funny, but "Supersoaker", one of the supposed hits from the album, really hasn't grabbed me at all and too much of the album is simply average. I'm sure the diehard Kings Of Leon fans will defend this album, calling it "amazing" and I'm resigned to the negative votes for this lukewarm review, but it just doesn't measure up to their own standards, let alone other brilliant albums you can buy at the moment. This is one Kings Of Leon fan who will need a lot of persuasion to spend hard cash on any further release. Back to the drawing board, gents.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
The Kings of Leon have crafted one of the most distinctive and recognisable rock sounds of today. All fans of the band will enjoy this album as it continues in the vain of previous work. It's not an outstanding album and not as good as previous releases but still a worthy addition to your music collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Finally an album that sounds as good as their original stuff. I didn't mind the previous two albums but they were a bit of a departure from the Kings of Leon sound. This one is an instant classic.
It's a shame they released a Deluxe version that costs so much more just for an extra couple of tracks
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
The title says it all.

This is the Kings of Leon at their brilliant best, This is probably one of their very best albums and that's all there is to it!

If you haven't heard this, then listen, if you haven't bought this, then buy it. You won't be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Only By The Night
Only By The Night by Kings Of Leon

Come Around Sundown
Come Around Sundown by Kings Of Leon

Because Of The Times
Because Of The Times by Kings Of Leon

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.