Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars122
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£4.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

101 of 104 people found the following review helpful
on 9 October 2013
First of all if this was being marked on the music alone - it would be getting a decent 4.5/5 out of 5! I think we all know - & love - this superb music that, looking thru the tracklisting, yes we've probably come across before am I right?
That's just it - am I right though? 'Cos the tracklisting above & on other buying sites is completely at odds with what you get on the item itself!!!

I'll waste no more of your precious time, the music is superb & the majority looking here will be familiar with it so, I'll complete what should have been done by messrs Amazon, ebay [who are useless compilers of tracklistings anyway!] etc....

Disc: 1
1. Tainted Love - Gloria Jones
2. Here I Go Again - Archie Bell and The Drells
3. Please Operator - Tony & Tyrone
4. You Got to Pay Your Dues - The Drifters
5. Crazy Baby - The Coasters
6. That's When the Tears Start - The Blossoms
7. Livin' in Love - Sheila Anthony
8. You Hit Me (Where It Hurts) - Alice Clark
9. Open the Door to Your Heart - Darrell Banks
10. I'll Be Loving You - Soul Brothers Six
11. I Love Her So Much It Hurts - David & Ruben
12. Don't Pity Me - Joanie Sommers
13. Catch Me I'm Falling - Esther Phillips
14. Change My Darkness Into Light - The Flirtations
15. Mean It Baby - Carl Hall
16. Satisfied - Ben Aiken
17. My Love Is Getting Stronger - Cliff Nobles
18. Slippin' Around With You - Jimmy Hughes
19. Think It Over You - Harvey Averne Dozen
20. Just Can't Live My Life - Linda Jones
21. Get Ready - Ella Fitzgerald
22. Somebody (Somewhere) Needs Me - Ike and Tina Turner
23. Can't You See (You're Losing Me) - Mary Wells
24. Man With the Golden Touch - Charles Thomas
25. Contact - The Three Degrees

Disc: 2
1. The Snake - Al Wilson
2. Send Him Back - The Pointer Sisters
3. [Your Love Keeps Lifting Me] Higher & Higher - Jackie Wilson
4. Aint Nothing But A Houseparty - Showstoppers
5. I'm Going to Run Away from You - Tami Lynn
6.Seven Days Too Long - Chuck Wood
7. Angel Baby Dont You Ever Leave Me - Darrell Banks
8. Dance Dance Dance - The Casualeers
9. Comin' Home Baby - Mel Torme
10. Breakout - Mitch Ryder and The Detroit Wheels
11. Don't You Even Care - Leslie Uggams
12. Skiing in the Snow - The Invitations
13. Can't Help Lovin' Dat Man - Ila Vann
14. Breakaway - Derek Martin
15. Condition Red - Baltimore & Ohio Marching Band
16. Mr Creator - The Apollas
17. You're Ready Now - Frankie Valli
18. Big Bird - Eddie Floyd
19. Number One in Your Heart - Herbie Goins & The Nightimers
20. Feels Good - Bobby Wilson
21. Ain't That Terrible - Roy Redmond
22. The Joker - The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band
23. Just Say Goodbye - Esther Phillips
24. Bar-B-Q - Wendy Rene
25. Baby Call On Me - Wilson Pickett

Disc: 3
1. Love Don't Go Through No Changes On Me - Sister Sledge
2. Both Ends Against The Middle - Jackie Moore
3. This Beautiful Day - Levi Jackson
4. If You Ask Me (Because I Love You) - Jerry Williams
5. Time Marches On - Lainie Hill
6. I'm So Glad - The Fuzz
7. What Shall I Do - Frankie and The Classicals
8. Serving a Sentence of Life - Carl Douglas
9. Call On Me - The Dynells
10. Something New To Do - Bobby Sheen
11. Got to Find a Way - Cajun Hart
12. Something Burning - The Marvellos
13. Some Kind Of Wonderful - Soul Brothers Six
14. Since You Said You'd Be Mine - Lou Ragland
15. A Last Minute Miracle - Linda Jones
16. Baby Help Me - Percy Sledge
17. Walkin' Up a One Way Street - Willie Tee
18. Can't Live This Way - Barnaby Bye
19. Frantic Escape - The Innocent Bystanders
20. You Say That Ain't Love - The Paterson Singers
21. Isn't It a Shame - Kenny Wells
22. Find Me Somebody - Bobby Womack
23. You Make Me So Hot - Barbara Lynn
24. Movin' Away - Kenny Lynch
25. After Closing Time - Hal Frazier

Cheers - Andy
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 6 April 2014
Since I have quite a large collection of Northern and soul tracks I was very pleased to find this particular compilation since it contained many tracks which were missing from my collection. The choice of content and the recording quality are absolutely first class and having compared a few of the tracks which I already owned on 45 vinyl it would seem that these CDs have used the original versions.

The compilation is extremely good value for the price and I would readily recommend it not just to lovers of Northern Soul but to anyone who favours black American music in general.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 7 February 2015
I purchased this collection with Northern Soul 360 as I was looking for a collection after getting plenty of requests when DJ'ing.
This collection is all original artists and includes tracks that I know well and also has introduced me to some new material.
Excellent collection for Northern Soul fans and for new fans like myself.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 1 May 2014
Although I have heard a lot of these on many other of my NS collections, this is a great triple CD. Would recomend this purchase.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
A collection rather than 'the' collection. If purchasing more you will find other collections have similar tracks on each CD. As other reviewers have said the track listing is inaccurate on Amazon. It is a pity that the CD is not part of Amazon's digital download so that you get the MP3 version as soon as you buy, rather than waiting for the phyisical CD a few days later. However, all that apart I very much enjoyed the music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 9 October 2014
Definitely worth having on the shelf of Northern Soul classics.

This collection represents colossally good value. Three CDs packed with those floor fillers and also a good sprinkling of gems that we haven't already tracked down. The quality of the recordings is such that it seems the original masters were used to curate these discs, as there is that fresh sound one would expect from first generation copies.

Keep the faith and invest a relatively small amount in this 3 CD collection. You won't be sorry. It's not a bargain bin collection by any means.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 20 January 2014
There is a vast array of cheaply-priced compilations available focussing on this largely uptempo and generally joyful soul music sub-genre. Unfortunately, there is a great deal of overlap in the song selection across these releases. This plainly-presented and plainly-titled 3CD box-set from Rhino proves no exception. It boasts a large number of tracks that appeared on the relatively well-received, pretty professional After Hours series of albums that the same label put out in the noughties. After Hours - Northern Soul Masters;After Hours 2 - More Northern Soul Masters, and After Hours 3 - More Northern Soul Masters showed professionalism (and good taste) in the way in the way that they raided the vaults of legendary labels like Atlantic; Atco; Loma; Reprise, and Warner Bros Records for relatively obscure but desirable material from the 1960s and 1970s. Northern Soul: The Collection cherry-picks some of the best from that bunch with selections like: The Apollas' 'Mr Creator'; Joanie Sommers' 'Don't Pity Me', Alice Clark's 'You Hit Me (Right Where It Hurt Me)'; Linda Jones' 'A Last Minute Miracle'; The Marvellos' `Something's Burnin'', and David & Ruben's 'I Love Her So Much It Hurts Me'. That finger-clicking, hip-shaking lot are supplemented by some stunning but predictable tracks that have graced 1001 other Northern Soul compilations: Al Wilson's 'The Snake'; Chuck Wood's 'Seven Days Too Long'; The Casualeers' 'Dance Dance Dance'; Jackie Wilson '(Your Love Keeps Lifting Me) Higher and Higher', and Showstoppers' 'Ain't Nothing But A House Party'. And sadly some of the credits for the track listing when played on a Media Player are incorrect. Still, the sound quality is pretty good here considering the wildly varying sources and recording dates; and there are remarkably few clog-footed clunkers for a compilation that boasts 75 songs - though some of the mid-1970s offerings, such as Gloria Jones' re-recording of 'Tainted Love', and Barnaby Bye's 'Can't Live This Way', are a bit too slick for a genre that thrives on its ability to provide a rough-and-ready take on Motown music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
I am a Northern Soul fan so probably very biased, a good collection but not a great one. I have many compilations of Northern Souls and this is not one of the best but still a worthwhile purchase.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
I'm not a hardend Northern Soul fan, but this CD was fantastic it had songs I knew and songs I did'nt Loved it (now I just need to learn how to dance like a Nortern Souler)
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
fantastic collection - many foot tapping songs and I just want to dance all day!
item arrived on time and in perfect condition, very pleased :-)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Move On Up - The Best Of Northern Soul
Move On Up - The Best Of Northern Soul by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2015)

Wigan Casino 40th Anniversary Album
Wigan Casino 40th Anniversary Album by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)

Northern Soul: Keep The Faith!
Northern Soul: Keep The Faith! by Various (Audio CD - 2015)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.