Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars80
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 30 September 2013
OK, OK there have been many ska/2 tone compilations over the years, so what makes this one any better than the rest? What this particular offering does well is juxtapose the 2 tone era with the "original" ska artists amongst whom I find a few I wasn't familiar such as Justin Hands. What this album has done is to show me that there is a lot more to ska than the well known tracks most of us are familiar with and I am certainly looking forward to educating myself to see what I have been missing.

Of course if you are just after a good time, with tunes that demand at the least a toe tap or two if not embarrassing Dad dancing, then this is the stuff. You may well already have the vast majority of these tracks in your collection already but if you don't then this is a must buy.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
Certainly the best album of its sort to date. 80s fans will be very happy with the selection that includes Madness, The Specials, The Beat, Bad Manners, The Selector Etc Etc.

Of course the roots of this music goes many years earlier and include Desmond Dekker, Millie(remenber her?) Dandy Livingstone Etc Etc.

If this is your kind of music then this is a must have for you,
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Great Ska collection cannot complain... Well I can a little but it's minor things. It would have been nice to have a booklet inside about Ska history. Plus song great Ska songs I would have added instead of a couple of weaker ones in this compilation but truly cannot mark down for that, it is a fantastic group of songs 9.99999999999/10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
This is a very well packaged and presented recording!

Three CDs that give a give a very clear expose of mostly well-known ska recordings, both from its Jamaican origins and its 2-Tone (etc.) revival from the very late '70s.

This is an excellent recording for those new to the genre, and those wanting to know more about it. I was particularly impressed with the seemingly random mixture of tracks from the first and second 'waves' of ska.

Well done and thankyou Rhino for a truly great release!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
This is a very good album. There are some excellent modern ska records by Madness, the Specials, the Beat, Bad Manners
etc. There are some great ska oldies such as Double Barrel and Liquidator. Many of the other Jamaican records are also good.
There are 3 CDs, so it is great value for money. A few more good records and I would have given it five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2016
great ska music has some great numbers on it .if you love Jamaican this is for you also a good introduction for some one whos just started listening to this brilliant music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
I bought this as a present for someone who loves Ska music. Its a great album featuring all the original artists and so many songs on one album, highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
really love this compilation of ska tunes ideal if your fan like me.great to listen to if you want to turn clock back and escape reallity for short while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
This will certainly get you on your feet some great tracks it will give you the opportunity to Shank hope you enjoy it as my family and friends have
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
Great album. If you like Reggae music, the real old stuff you will love this. It has all the old favourites. I was really eased with this download.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)