Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars381
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£8.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
on 19 November 2013
With Christmas looming,you know there is going to be a new Top Gear DVD on offer,this time fronted by Jeremy and Richard,it serves up all the staples you would want and expect.A precession of exotic cars,Lamborghini,Ferrari,Bugatti,Pagani and Jaguar all get a look in,as,in typical loutish behaviour,the very gruesome twosome,set off on a road trip from Venice,across Italy and into France.Along the way serving up some insane challenges,and deranged races,not to mention some truly stunning scenery.

However there is a problem,at least with the DVD (cant comment on the Blu Ray as I didnt buy that version)the sound quality isnt that good.Its got a hollow,echoy quality to it,from start to finish.I tried it on several players,I normally watch things with the aid of a sound bar,I even turned that off and went back to the TVs speakers,but it didnt improve the quality.It doesnt spoil your enjoyment of the programme,but its a bit much that it was passed for release with such an obvious defect.Perhaps there was a slightly faulty batch,and I just happened to buy one,I intend to return it and get a replacement.I will post the results in the comments section when I do.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
The concept of this DVD is great perhaps the best one yet as it involves super cars and Europe which is a great combination. However immediately there is a problem (JAMES MAY)isn't in the DVD. This is a real shame as the three of them create a great balance of education, comedy and excitement but all three seem slightly reduced by May not being in it. Anyway the quality of the DVD is excellent and three quarters of the DVD is good, it's just some of the scenes do go on a bit and feel similar to what's already been done. The race using a boat and a motorcycle is brilliant and by far the best part of the DVD but has been done before except with a Ferrari Daytona. Also the ending is a real let down as it's incomplete. If your a top Gear fan like me I'd get it but would recommend borrowing it or renting it first then buy it if you like it. This is the closest thing to the India special they've done yet. Also the DVD is nearly an hour and a half long and it feels it. There is a lot disappointment but I'm glad I've seen it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
This is one of the better dvd only top gears. It benefits from having the root of the idea in the india tv special, so not thought up in a production office but a genuinly daft idea dreamed up freezing on an lndian mountainside at night, also its a decent lenght at 1hr 25mins. Its a pity its the usual 2 out 3 presenters, james would have been nice too. It also contains some of the worst editing in top gear history. The convertable rally stage is unbelievably bad. Watch as hammonds car goes from clean to dirty and back as well as having a broken number plate to a fixed one and back all in the same lap without stopping! CLASSIC topgear editing.... as clarkson has stated in the past... ambitious but rubbish. Business as usual then, larking about with no concept of success in the offing!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
What better place to start a road trip than on a boat? If your name is Clarkson or Hammond then of course it makes good sense to do so. Leaving the boat they don their usual Top Gear persona and have a great time driving some pretty impressive cars across Europe while challenging each other to greater and greater excess. That it's a film for petrolheads there is no denying, but those who simply want to watch two middle-aged men acting like teenagers can also derive quite a bit of amusement and escapism from this dvd. My biggest laugh was at what happened to them at the film's end. In Hammond's final comment, "You idiot, Clarkson!", there was a very apt full stop.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
Out of all the special Top Gear DVDs this has to be one of the worse ones. First thing, no James May, yes he can be boring, but after watching this one, Its Richard who gets on my nerves by being boring, the one thing I did like that he wanted to do was rallying. The next thing was they didn't do much, hard to explain but after just watching it, I was board. The last thing to mention is the length of the DVD, just goes to show they didn't do much. Such a shame, going to sell it now.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
This DVD has all the usual jokes, challenges, thrills and spills, but I felt it was lacking that special something that makes regular 1-hour TV episodes of Top Gear so brilliant. James May's absence probably doesn't help (I really feel that if you're going to make a Top Gear DVD then you need all 3 of the presenters), but even with that aside it still doesn't quite do the show justice. Worth a watch, but it won't be my most treasured DVD by far.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Although there are some great scenes in this film, It seems like the boys have lost some steam. Also, the unfortunate conclusion to this film also left me feeling unsatisfied and should have been edited in a different way. There is a build up to an epic conclusion only to find out you never get to see it (even though there is a very valid reason for this).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Another Christmas, another exclusive Top Gear DVD to coincide with the Yuletide Season. After Apocalypse, At The Movies and The Worst Car in the History of the World, this year we have none other than Jeremy Clarkson and Richard Hammond hosting `The Perfect Road Trip'.

First, I must question the TITLE of this 2013 home video release. `The Perfect Road Trip?' We've ALREADY had that on Top Gear before! Everyone remember 2007's Great Adventure where the lads embarked on their unforgettable road trip across the US? Of course we do! It's unforgettable!

Anyway, the premise this time is that Jezza and Hamster are researching the best forms of transport for separate legs of their road trip from Venice, Italy to Pau, France. Immediately, the DVD scores points for its flashy showcase of cars, bikes & boats (old favourites the Bentley V8, Rolls Royce Phantom coupe and the almighty Bugatti Veyron return here), welcome appearances from the Stig, interactions between Jeremy & Richard, and the breathtaking photography/camerawork of all the stunning places they visit.

But sadly, the whole DVD is a letdown, especially after last year's BRILLIANT `The Worst Car in the History of the World'. The idea alone behind `The Perfect Road Trip' is somewhat lacking when compared to (say) `Apocalypse' and `At The Movies', and despite some mildly amusing banter/antics from Clarkson & Hammond here-and-there, too much of it feels forced. Like they're really struggling to entertain fans this time.

At eighty-five minutes, The Perfect Road Trip is also far too long for what it is. There's no special-features to speak of (on this DVD), and the absence of a third Top Gear presenter (this year it's James May, who's busy with Oz Clarke for the upcoming Toy Stories special) is a trend that continues to haunt these home-release exclusives. Until we have ALL THREE of the lads together presenting one of these Christmas-time DVDs, they'll never really be perfect (in my view).

Compared to regular Top Gear, `The Perfect Road Trip' feels like filler. Something to satiate fans until the show comes back for the next series. This year's DVD also feels inferior to previous exclusives (Apocalypse, At The Movies and The Worst Car in the History of the World) and that's disappointing. Other Top Gear fans may struggle to like this. Has some good moments, but nowhere near as much as there should be. For completists only.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Buying an item for my nephew is always a terrible worry but I can honestly say that this DVD made me the best auntie in the world in my nephew's eyes. Well done Amazon and well done Top Gear it was a great pleasure doing business with you. Thanks Maria or as my nephew would say Wicked Auntie Maria.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
I really loved this. It's just typical Top Gear (indeed, better than the TV show really) - with more emphasis on the cars themselves. Lots of great camera-work and some good laughs along the way.

If you like Top Gear you'll love this. The Blu Ray is stunning as well. Great picture.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Top Gear - The Patagonia Special [Blu-ray] [2015]
Top Gear - The Patagonia Special [Blu-ray] [2015] by Jeremy Clarkson (Blu-ray - 2015)

Top Gear - The Perfect Road Trip 2 [Blu-ray]
Top Gear - The Perfect Road Trip 2 [Blu-ray] by Jeremy Clarkson (Blu-ray - 2014)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.