Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars1,417
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio DownloadChange
Price:£17.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2013
I would have read this book in my own time, but the hyperbole and screaming headlines in the press, and reactions from those allegedly disrespected, prompted me to buy and read it quickly. After all, the single star reviews on Amazon were prolific and, if accurate, showed two surprising facts: 1) Sir Alex had betrayed the club; 2) there had been a sudden increase in the literary critique ability of the fans of other clubs. So I read it in three days - I had to as I could not put it down.

Sir Alex always maintained this was a book for the fans; fans who had remained steadfast with United and were owed an explanation of the gaps remaining in the journey of the last 26 years. And I found this was so. It is written in such a way as to be conversational, not great literary prose, but solid, honest words which every United fan would understand. He deals with his own errors of judgement and his drive to maintain a high standard, recognising early on that no man was greater than the club.

This is a book of Sir Alex's personal view of his time in charge and he lays everything out for a reader to digest. His dealings with Keane, Beckham, van Nistlerooy and his comments about Gerrard, Chelsea, Liverpool and all the rest from the headlines were not as reported. Even Wayne Rooney would find more praise than he may deserve - though he remains on the brink of becoming one of The Manchester United Greats, should he chose to [I hope he does]. I found the comments full, sound and robust, but not unfair. This is not a book about training methods and the technicalities of the game, though there are enough references as to tactics of particular games, or years, but a filling in of the gaps left unanswered from the last couple of decades.

If you are a Manchester United fan read it as a personal gift of information to you. If you are not, but love football, this will give you an insight to how the Premiership works, and how managers and players react to the demands. If you are not a fan, at least read the book with an open mind before dishing out a single star.

There is no ending to this book; just an open road to a new era by a man Fergie trusted to succeed him, and beyond.The updated version is equally pragmatic and answers the outstanding questions remaining over the demise of David Moyes and the next big step of the van Gaal era with the new group of stars. Sir Alex has earned his place as the greatest manager through hard work and a resilience seldom seen. I have to give this book five stars as it gave me a great deal of pleasure. And, yes, I am a United fan (since 1967).
55 comments121 of 138 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
I didn't find this a riveting read. It has merit in that we get a retrospective
account of Sir Alex's view on players, games and how he manages people.

He would like us to believe that he is a canny judge of character, is an avid
reader and enjoys to chew the fat on a variety of topics. The narrative speaks
about a close knit family, an affection for players that tow the line and a mix
of criticisms of players and himself.

One has to admire Sir Alex's frank approach, yet his reference to players as
boys or lads is clearly patronising. He lets the reader know that part of his
success lies in management by fear and discipline. His main weapon being
punishment. That of removing the right to play being the primary weapon.

Throughout the book, one has to remember that the writer is providing the
reader with Sir Alex's take on proceedings. While it tells us about the man, this
obviously doesn't help with objectivity. Wise words from a successful and sage
manager do not permeate. We read his candid views, as is. Take it or leave it,
with a pinch of salt. Consequently, criticisms from people he has a go at, are
inevitable from the sensitive.

I never gained the impression from the book that Sir Alex was anything but
a sombre, melancholic man, focused on his will to win. He chose his team
of followers to manage the coaching, scouting and information flow and
between them they plotted and planned the downfall of competitors and the
recycling of players to improve the chances winning. Authority, respect,
compliance and loyalty is absolute in the Ferguson factory.

There are criticisms of Beckham (celebrity seeker) Keane (anger management)
Rooney (slow learner & loss of fitness fast) to name a few. Counter to this, Ronaldo,
Giggs and the likes of Scholes can do no wrong. Overall, the criticisms throughout
the book seem rather sanitised. I think this is because it was Sir Alex's job not to
know and like people, but to identify their strengths and weaknesses and leverage
off that. This then makes a series of superficial takes on his sizeable number of
relationships with household heroes.

There are references attempting to make Sir Alex appear to be a man of the people.
His wife is the decision-maker at home, he is proud of all of his son's achievements
(but wasn't around much to raise them) and he does have moments of self deprecation
which seem honest enough.

That all said, I don't feel after reading the book, that I know Sir Alex any better than
before I read it. I think he attempted to reveal more of himself, but the soul, the spirit
and the drive of the man - and his emotional intelligence are left wanting in the readers
mind.

We are not told about how he built the club around the Class of '92, his views on
succession planning, his relationships with captains, who did his bidding, thinking
and research. Little is said about the Glazers, the business model as it affects the
strategic thinking, the players lifestyle management or travelling repeatedly with
players or his relationships with fans.

My view is that the chapter topics are rather dumbed down and lacks fresh
creativity. I found the book rather safe, facile and not particularly revealing,
considering the vantage point and experience the subject has. It is a book that
promised much, but in actual fact delivered little more then what is in the public
domain already. My sympathies are for those readers that are well versed in
Manchester United culture - who may have been able to contribute quite a few
more interesting anecdotes themselves.

I think the book, sadly....is OK, nothing more.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is not really an autobiography. It is more of an explanation for things that have happened to him or he has done through his life and career. As a result it really does compliment his autobiography My Life of about 2009 (that is much more an autobiography than this). It makes you realise what the papers say he said about Keane or Gerrard etc in this book is not what he says at all. Read the book, not the papers! it tells stories of Ferdinand, Keane and many others and why he did what he did. it is a book that has integrity and honesty. It is also a really good read. I would suggest a must for any football fan. Worth looking out for the updated version published a year or so after his retirement. SUPERB.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
A remunerating read, with a genuine knowledge into the psyche of a standout amongst the best directors in current football. Having perused some negative surveys and remarks with respect to the book, I was expecting something very surprising. For me, the book had a positive vibe, with Ferguson thinking back on his time with affection and his commonplace mind. It was sublime to peruse his musings and thoughts, and to perceive how somebody who shows up so certain and confident can likewise be exceptionally unsure and ailing in certainty. He reveals insight into numerous circumstances that happened in his time at Manchester United, and it was a joy to peruse all through.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
I had been looking forward to reading this for a long time. I'm not a Man U fan, but I'm fascinated by what they (he) did and how it was done. There are many interesting facts in the book but, to put it bluntly, it is poorly written. As a few other reviewers have noted, it jumps all over the place with a strange scattergun approach to any topic that left me feeling that it was, overall, just a massive collection of anecdotes stitched together rather randomly. A man of this stature would have had his story greatly enhanced by engaging one or more professional writers. Just as he starts telling a story that sounds interesting he'll suddenly be reeling off a whole pile of facts about other players and things that just detract from the current theme, switching years and decades in and out. You think he'll go back to the theme, but no, it often seems like unfinished business, just a collection of thumbnail sketches.

On top of this, a great deal of what he writes could be written by anyone with a decent knowledge of the club. Constant references such as "we went to Wimbledon and won 3-0 but Rooney was a bit off form" are not terribly exciting. In fact, you get far better analysis in the newspapers. These mundane facts litter the book and give us no real insight at all into what really goes on behind the scenes.

Nonetheless, all the anecdotes and side-stories are interesting and I never felt like not finishing it! Just don't expect him to stay terribly close to the chapter title or to any theme for any length of time or in anything other than superficial depth.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'm not a football fan, but as a person who likes to read biographies of interesting people I thought I'd give this a go.

I grew up in a Manchester United supporting house, my dad a huge fan, but personally I never saw the appeal of the game. Living in Salford and later Trafford, Old Trafford was always a local landmark, and Alex Ferguson rarely out of the news, so when his first autobiography "Managing My Life: The Autobiography" was released I read and enjoyed it, although by the end I still wasn't a fan of the sport. Since then, Ferguson pushed the team to more triumphs before retiring, and I was interested in reading the closing part of the story.

It's an interesting read, each chapter focusing on a particular subject, be it a player, a season, or some aspect of Ferguson's life such as his family or outside interests, and an easy read too, the chapters mainly short, but the structure is also its downfall. It's obviously ghostwritten, and clearly based on interviews or conversations - you can imagine the author switching on a tape machine and saying "tell me about Rooney," then typing the words up later as a ready-made chapter - but it's not very cohesive, lacks the continuity of a "straight" autobiography ("Managing My Life" for example) and the final chapter doesn't seem to bring the book to a close, instead appearing to just stop without any kind of conclusion or epilogue, looking to the future perhaps.

If you've read "Managing My Life" and want to read about what happened next, or at least Ferguson's view of events, this is a decent book, but if you want to read about the man, his life and his career you'd be better with the earlier book. As enjoyable as this is, it isn't an authoritative account of his life.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
It is hard not to read the conversational prose in SAF's own voice; it's an easy read and all the more enjoyable for that. He explains the background and reasoning to many of his decisions and situations in recent years and as a fan this is interesting and insightful. It helps to clarify what in his view went right, what went wrong and why and that rounds off the picture now that the facts as he recounts them are out there. His views of players, managers and his support network in the football business are interesting, but they may jar a little with supporters who don't share his confidence in some of the preferred players. This is a pleasurable read especially as a fan of both SAF and MUFC, although the content is bound together loosely in chapters that seem a bit disjointed, but this doesn't detract from the enjoyment.

SAF doesn't appear to have left out any of the more recent situations so as a reader it gives a feeling of completion and closure. Because of such frank explanations though, he will have trodden on a few corns and of course the press sensationalised these. In the context of the book though, they are less dramatic and appear to be fair; no-one comes out of it really badly once you realise that any negative comments (Gerrard for example) are his opinion and unsupported by facts. Not all opinions in the book will suit readers, but these are his entitled views. However, as others have suggested, there is an uncomfortable hint that his candid comments may be compromising confidentialities, but perhaps the topics that needed to be covered were never going to avoid this.

The pleasure in this book is definitely enhanced if readers are supporters and knowledgeable about MUFC history and day-to-day news. Not everything is explained fully and without the background something is lost.

At the end of it all, you have to admire a manager in such a capricious business and applaud his successes and longevity. May his successor enjoy the same.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
"Alex Ferguson: My Autobiography" is an interesting confession of a man who wrote history of English and world football for the last 30 years he spent as manager of Manchester United football team.

His book can be recommended to all fans of football, regardless of which club you are a fan because it provides a lot of information about the famous players that have marked the past years in one of the most popular sports in the world.

This is his second autobiography book, or continuation of previous one in which he focused on his career at Manchester United, though he's not only telling the story about his football manager career but also about his youth, his family and friends, even about him being an owner of a pub what is not so well known fact about him.

Media criticized this release due to alleged Ferguson's criticism to all and any that actually isn't true, although there are some places where Ferguson doesn't speak in superlatives about some players with whom he worked.

But when you read the book in its entirety you'll see that more often he speaks nicely about rival players, teams, even his colleague managers.

Therefore, this book can be recommended to all those who are interested to learn some truths (few of them spicy) about football matters from a man who was a top expert in his profession what kept him so long on the bench of one of the best football clubs in the world.

The reason why Ferguson still being alive already became the legend of world football.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
It is fair to start this review by saying I am a huge Manchester United fan so for me this book has a special feel. The book shows a unique sense of humour to Sir Alex Ferguson which was never very evident in his time on TV during interviews and matches.

This book has been well quoted in the media. I have to say after reading it the quotes of course are accurate but highly taken out of context. The well quoted opinions on Beckham and Rooney although accurate are largely taken out of context. What is missing from these quotes are the other highly supportive and complimentary opinions which Sir Alex includes. Of course positives don't sell as many papers and in all honestly may not have sold so many copies of the book itself.

The book details certain players and events in Sir Alex's managerial career. Although not chronological this is a fascinating insight to one of the most successful mangers ever. Mixed within the fact and opinions about Manchester United are antidotes and facts that will keep any football fan interested irregardless of which team you support.

This book took me longer to read than normal mainly because of the wealth of information that has to be digested. There were moments when I found myself realising that Sir Alex was talking about a match I had actually seen. As well as events you expect to be covered such as The Class of 92 and The David Beckham Boot Incident there are also other smaller events that are just as entertaining and were never reported in the media.

This is an amazing insight into one of the most successful football clubs and one of the most successful managers ever. For anyone who is interested in management, football or the man himself, this is a must read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
This book provides an interesting insight into Sir Alex Ferguson's personality and mind set. He reveals elements of his character that led him to make some of the decisions that shaped the modern era of football and specifically, the Premier League.

For those more interested in his upbringing on his earlier years (whilst there remains elements of this present in this book), they may be better directed towards an earlier of Sir Alex's books which focuses more on his younger life. This version provides a reflective and at times spikey appraisal of his rivalries, decisions and personal of the past 20-30 years.

For those who claim this book is slander, insulting to those who helped create the legend of Ferguson (Roy Keane, for example) then they are missing the point. Ferguson often points to Keane's greatness on the field, yet fiercely disagrees with him on other aspects of his claims. It's not a linear train of thought, stating 'oh he was great' and 'he was bad'. Ferguson delves deeply into his relationship with players and often tells it how it is.

Much like his temperament on the touchline it is often fierce, boisterous, fiery and direct, yet he gives credit where credit is due.

I found it to be a thoroughly interesting read and was glad when it became apparent it was not a PR 'fence-sitter', rather, a true reflection of the greatest manager of the modern era.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

£21.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.