Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars701
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 August 2014
Not nearly as good as the first one which was excellent. The acting on the whole was very good especially Anthony Hopkins, but it was a bit all over the place and not nearly as well planned as the original. Still fun to watch if you've nothing else to do but on the whole disappointing.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
Not as good as the first,Just seemed to go on and on.Good BLU RAY picture 2.35.1 ratio,Some extras good action scenes just seemed to lack something,Anthony Hopkins is the best thing in it and not in it enough.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
What a breath of fresh air; a bunch of brilliant actors having a great time cramming every action movie cliché in to a smidge under two hours of rip-roaring brain-out entertainment.

The all-star cast of Retired Extremely Dangerous old-school black ops types are back, saving the world again, this time from a magnificently bonkers Anthony Hopkins. John Malkovich shines again as Marvin and Bruce is, well, still Bruce and everybody is just brilliant; it is not possible to single out a single cast member for particular praise.

Penned by the same writing team as the first film, but under a different director (the same chap who brought us the splendidly daft Galaxy Quest), Red 2 dovetails perfectly with its predecessor. The carefully not quite over-the-top humour is unexpectedly subtle at times and manages to avoid being juvenile & shallow; the cast operates as a skilled and craftsman-like whole (you’d expect nothing less from such experienced actors); the pace is relentless and there are some cracking stunts in fancy cars.

RED 2 is massively entertaining, surprisingly witty and superb fun. A perfect case-study in pure entertainment and even better, if that’s possible, than the first movie. Simply brilliant – if your head’s aching from trying to figure out Cloud Atlas then give it a rest and watch this!!
0Comment16 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
The film incorporates Wikileaks as the new problem child for Moses Frank (Bruce Willis) and company. An article claims he and Marvin (John Malkovich) were involved in a 1979 operation called "Night Shade." They have become wanted men.

In an expanded role Sarah (Mary-Louise Parker) our meek lady from Kansas has become a thrill seeker and joins the group as they travel the world to find "Night Shade." In addition to Interpol and the Feds looking for our heroes, there is also a hitman (Byung-hun Lee) after them and Victoria (Helen Mirren) is also contracted to kill them...Malkovich proclaims "Friends don't take out a contract on friends." They are allied by KGB agent Katja (Catherine Zeta-Jones) to the displeasure of sweet innocent Sarah who says..."Can't we just kill her?"

The film is filled with Malkovich one liners which we enjoyed in the first movie. The expanded role of Sarah added to the feature. This is perhaps a notch below the first installment, but a worthy action-comedy sequel that will be in my collection when it comes out.

Parental Guide: No sex or nudity. One half spoken f-bomb.
0Comment36 of 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
Not anywhere as good as the first film. Bruce Willis is going through the motions as in a lot of his movies at the moment and for people wanted by all international police agencies they are able to flit all over the world with ease. Some good moments and Helen Mirren is very good. A few missed chances with Anthony Hopkins. Watchable but typical of sequels.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
So complicated for the first 20 minutes it put me to sleep and on coming back to the present for the last 15 minutes I came to thr conclusion I had not missed much
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 December 2013
I loved RED and really looked forward to RED2. Unfortunately I was dissapointed. Yes, there is plenty of action and mayhem but to be honest I felt that they had tried to get too much into the story.
The team is sent all over the world, It got more and more complicated. Virginia (Helen Mirren) is given order to kill them and that adds complications.
RED was basically a very good, solid story with a team that one could relate to. RED 2 just tries to do too much and too many twists and turns.
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
I wanted to watch this based on my experience of watching the first movie. A good fun filled romp, not quite up to the standard of the original and indeed nothing in the script to challenge the skills of the actors. The action was fast and furious, good sound, though more could have been done to engage the rear channels of a 5-1 system. Sometimes the dialogue was a little lost in the mix and I found myself re winding to catch up missed plot lines. (Using a Pioneer digital amp into Focal Dome sub sat system)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Not as good as the first film; but passed a couple of hours on a rainy Sunday afternoon. Probably should have just left it with the first film..
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Red one was funny and fresch. Number two is good too but clearly number two using the first ones reputation.Willis and Malkovich are still good duo. Helen Mirren wonderful and Mary-Luise Parker does funny and seusual work and Catherine Zeta Jones contines being stunning. All the ingredience are good but perhaps the script does not have the strong drive anymore. With this team you can do what ever. Maybe its the speed that everything has to happen. Hire Luc Besson to make third one..
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.