Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars564
3.9 out of 5 stars
Size: StandardChange
Price:£94.00+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

316 of 332 people found the following review helpful
Having previously owned a Roku XS2, I decided to upgrade and now use the older one in the bedroom. I have to say this is much snappier (things load like you'd expect a modern streamer to do (almost instantly), whereas with the XS2 there was always a delay of 3-5 seconds for each app to load. Not essential, but very welcome--though it will still depend on the speed of your internet connection (anything above 5mbs should play fine). I never use the headphone socket on the remote, but it is a nice feature if you want to watch late at night or use it (as another reviewer suggests) as a portable music player.

They are fairly easy to set up. You need to plug it in, let it find your network (and enter your wireless password if you're using wireless), then go online and register at Roku. The box will give you a code to enter online, then it installs all the channels and you're done. You can add/remove channels in the channel store.

As for content, you get:

BBC iPlayer (includes TV/Radio and the ability to store favourites)
ITV Player
4oD (nice app and has a huge catalogue of older programmes--same as 4oD website)
BBC News
BBC Sport
Sky News
Now TV (Sky Sports £9.99 for 24 hours, Sky Movies £8.99 per month and Sky Entertainment Package (includes Sky Atlantic) £4.99 per month)
Sky Store (tons of New and old movies, Pay Per View between 99p and £4.49)
Plex (Stream Video files, YouTube, iTunes and some other channels from your Computer, also bookmark web videos from your browser to watch on the Roku later)
Spotify (requires premium membership)
Fox News
Russia Today
Angry Birds

450+ Rubbish channels.

I really only use it for iPlayer, 4oD and Netflix. Though the news channels are useful (on Sky News you can watch the latest weather report whenever you want). The picture on Netflix is fantastic (though it seems to auto adjust to the best picture depending on your internet speed). I'd highly recommend one if you can afford it, if not then the Roku 2 is probably your best bet. If Netflix isn't essential then you should probably just get a NowTV player from Sky for £10. I'd certainly not recommend a PS3 (as another reviewer suggests) unless you specifically want to play games (besides the initial extra cost, Roku consumes around 5 watts, whereas PS3 is 100+ watts).

UPDATE: Recently got a TV card for my PC and use it a lot for recording films. Using Plex I can stream things recorded with Windows Media Center to my TV with the Roku app. You just have to install Plex Media Server on your PC, add a "home movie" collection to your Plex media library and link it to the folder you keep the video files in. It plays Windows Recorded TV Show (.wtv) files fine :)
1313 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 6 November 2014
I have used a couple of different streaming devices and this is my favourite so far. It is small and very easy to use. It can be used with most of the streaming services; iPlayer, 4OD, Channel 5 OD, Netflix, Plex, Sky's Now TV, You Tube and some others. The most notable exception is Amazon's Prime service, which whilst available for the device in the States is not available in the UK! Nor can you use the online device management in the UK to add apps to the device over the web, you can only manage the apps from the device itself.

The remote is quite neat in that it has an accelerometer within it to be used on games, such as Angry Birds.

One negative is the lack of a power button; whilst the device draws very little power in standby mode, it would still be good to be able to physically switch it off at times.

Another minor negative is the need to sign up for a Roku account before you can even use it; this requires lodging credit card details for any purchases of paid for apps you may subsequently want to make.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 10 November 2015
Finally, Amazon Prime/instant support on my favourite media player! Roku 3 is fast, easy to use and produces a great HD picture. Stream NetFlix, Amazon, Google movies, BBC iPlayer - including live streaming, ITV player, 4OD, Channel 5, YouTube and more.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 18 August 2015
I dont watch TV. I find there is too much crap on there to tolerate. After buying my Dad a Roku for Christmas, I realised this would be a must purchase for myself sooner or later. The combination of services like Plex, Netflix and NowTV ensures I always have quality television to watch.

There are some downsides. The Youtube app is terrible. It plays at extremely low quality and is not adjustable. Amazon Prime Video is not available in the UK, despite being available in the US. There are also a lot of awful apps available that just arent worth the money. If you know what to look for though, this isnt a problem.

This device has breathed new life into my TV and TV watching habits.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
80 of 93 people found the following review helpful
on 12 October 2013
This is the best media streaming box I have used, previously I have worked with the PS3 and XBOX 360 to stream iPlayer, Netflix etc. Roku 3 is faster, easier to use and has the AWESOME WiFi remote with a headphone jack to relay sound to.

This audio output in the remote is excellent for Spotify, TuneIn or even your own music (via USB or the PLEX media server app on PC, Mac or mobile device.) take the remote into another room, plug some speaker in and enjoy your music throughout the house.

The PLEX app also enables access to Video and photos on your other devices too - And PLEX is an awesome DLNA replacement - It creates order from the chaos that is my "Videos" folder on my PC, organising shows into seasons, getting synopsis data from the web even looping the theme tunes as background music!

PLEX can also access iTunes on your PC.

But of course, Netflix and iPlayer will be what is used the most, and they work perfectly, great picture, great sound, simple navigation. Add in the mobile device remote and you can even have voice navigation.

And it has a USB port which can accept USB sticks or external HDDs - perfect for backup copys of DVDs and blurays!

The only downside so far is the lack of of 4OD, YouTube and ITV player - but I'm sure they are coming soon.

***Update 4OD and YouTube are now available *****

*****New Media (was USB) app update makes it much easier to use AND IS DLNA COMPLIANT! - and the "Play on Roku" function of the mobile app is superb. *******
1919 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 10 November 2015
Now comes with Amazon Instant video! (as of today)
So no reason not to buy this little beauty.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 19 October 2015
Solid streamer, I've had this for nearly a year now. The performance is truly rock solid. After being disappointed with the Roku 2 (NowTV Box) wifi performance I was planning on running an Ethernet cable but the Roku3 has not skipped a beat in terms of wifi performance.

The box is nice and compact and feels well made. The remote is small but avoids getting lost too much because of its lanyard. I have never used the headphones on the remote so I can't comment on the quality.
The remote being Bluetooth is a bonus as well. No more will I be chained to the servitude of pointing at the television, plus the batteries are still going strong after a year.

I've knocked a star off because my only issue with Roku is with the Roku SDK (software development kit). It seams very limiting, apps such as the BBC Iplayer and Plex are nothing compared to there android and iOS counterparts. Perhaps this is an attempt to keep the Roku lightning fast. This is however steadily improving and the plex app is now pretty good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 14 July 2015
Don't bother purchasing if you're outside of the US. After much hype I bought the Roku 3, it barely supports any of the apps and channels it proclaims to on the website, the number one being Amazon Instant due their deal with Now TV (heaven forbid you buy one of those either, awful awful service and concept.)

It's going back first thing tomorrow, utter pile of rubbish. Will be purchasing an Amazon Fire TV instead.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 26 May 2014
No aerial, so needed something for upstairs bedroom.
Runs off the wireless and streaming works well.

If more channels were available I'd give it 5*.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 8 July 2015
Most disappointed, on the streaming side the screen aspect is not consistent, Apple TV much better. As a media player it does not play as many formats at WD players.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 270 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.