Shop now Shop Now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars161
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
on 12 October 2009
These films provide three highly entertaining animated comedies for both young and old.

The first film is an unexpected delight. Several mismatched animals from the Palaeolithic age of a mammoth, a sloth and a sabre-toothed tiger end up travelling together when they come across an abandoned human child. The comedy never lets up and the film manages to avoid descending into cutesy schmaltz as it delivers a strong story involving the child being pursued by a pack of tigers, culminating in a moving ending. There are numerous comic set-pieces, not all of which are relevant to the story. Some of these sections work such as the squirrel Scrat and his endless pursuit of nuts and some don't such as the kamikaze dodos, an idea that was probably hilarious on paper, but not on screen. But even when they don't work there's some fun to be had. Especially good is the voices. With Ray Romano playing the not-so-obvious role from his sitcom persona as the mammoth, and Dennis Leary making good use of his small role as the tiger. John Leguizamo as Sid, the annoying Sloth steals the bits of the film that don't involve Scrat.

The second movie sadly presents an inevitable drop in entertainment value that usually happens with sequels. New good voices and characters are added such as Queen Latifah's Ellie the mammoth, and the animation takes a massive leap forward, but the story is slight. The animals must go from A to B to avoid a big flood, while learning valuable lessons about life and friendship and all those things that get forced into these type of films, although usually in a subtler manner than here. As with the first one there are some fine comic interludes, usually involving the persistent Scrat and his nutty exploits that are pure Tex Avery. And the relationship between the mammoths is both funny and actually quite touching, but too much time is taken up with elements that are designed for only the kids. Making something that works for both adults and kids is hard and in many sections the film fails as the animals face complicated dangers that are meant to provide roller-coaster excitement but which rapidly become tedious.

Any fears that the series would go down the diminishing returns route that Shrek did are put to rest with the third movie. Again the animation leaps forward in quality, and so does the story. The mammoths' relationship moves on as you'd expect with Ellie expecting, but this time the tiger and Sid have more to do when Sid finds some dinosaur eggs and is plunged into danger in a jungle filled with non-extinct dinosaurs. Any thought of the film playing too loose with history is cleverly and quickly dealt with, and with Simon Pegg voicing another new character that works there's little time for the many interludes that marred the earlier film. The format of the story also splits up the herd, and although that was viewed previously as the worst thing that could happen, it actually works well as it keeps the story rattling along. And Scrat is back again and his parts avoids the danger of repetition by the addition of his very own Scratette as a sparring partner.

So, three films in and I'm already looking forward to Ice Age 4.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 26 January 2011
Had the ice age 1 and 3 on dvd and took the plunge to replace the two films i had for the 3 film box set on blu ray...................Wow what a difference, each film is so much better sound and picture quality, especially the last film in the not have any problem in giving these films a five star review as they are real great family fun and look totally fantastic on blu ray! and at under £20.00 quid a real where did i leave that acorn?
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 5 April 2010
Brilliant! The humour in these films operates at several levels. Cute animals for the youngsters and a more subtle type for the older viewer. It also comes with a free download of each film so I can now carry and watch them wherever I want on my iPod.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 January 2010
The DVD contains three discs with a film on each disc. The first Disc is Ice Age and its sequels are Ice Age 2 - The Meltdown and Ice Age 3 - Dawn of Dinosaurs. For those that maybe haven't seen all or any of them I will explain a little about each film.

~Ice Age~

This film is set in the Ice Age. The three animals who are Manfred (better know as Manny), a depressed woolly mammoth, Sid who is a sloth and Diego, a mischievous tiger, find an abandoned baby. They realise that the baby's father is still alive and they are determined to make sure he is returned to him safe and sound. Sid is a little bit crazy and like a loveable naughty child, and slowly but surely he wins round Manny. Diego on the other hand has plans of his own and Manny isn't too sure about him but agrees that he can help them find the way back to the child's father. Diego has other plans but along the way he can't help but become friends with this strange pride and finds himself turning against his fellow tigers in favour of Manny and Sid. Along the way they are joined by a squirrel named Scratte, who is constantly trying to bury his much-loved acorn.

~Ice Age 2 - The Meltdown~

Once again we meet the friends Manny the mammoth, Diego the tiger, and Sid the sloth as they set out to find a boat that they think is at the other end of the valley. As the ice is melting this is their only chance of survival. They along with all the other animals start the trek towards the supposed boat but the journey is not that simple. On their journey they meet Ellie, a mammoth who is convinced she is actually a Possum (?!?), and her 2 brothers Crash and Eddie. The Pride gets a little bigger as they all try to tackle their way across to the boat with some of them facing their fears along the way. We also see the return of Scratte who is still searching for the ultimate prize....the amazing Acorn. His usual antics find him constantly just out of reach of his ultimate prize.

~Ice Age 3 - Dawn of the Dinosaurs~

Manny, Sid, Diego, Ellie, Crash and Eddie are back in this third film in the Ice Age series. Ellie and Manny are now a family and expecting a little one of their own. With this is mind Sid decides that he would make a great dad and comes across three eggs. With this in mind he waits patiently for his new ready made family. Only when they arrive, they are a little bigger than he expected and he soon realises that there Mummy is even bigger. With the help of Manny, Ellie and Diego they all decide to make the effort to return the dinosaurs to their rightful home. When they, along with Crash and Eddie make their way to the dinosaurs underground home they have no idea what they have let themselves in for. Thankfully they meet Buck who decides that he will help them return the babies and get them safely back to their over ground lives.

There are some special features on these DVD's and they are:-

Bunny Short
Walk the Dinosaur Music Video
Falling for Scratte
Buck: From Easel to Weasel

You also get a digital copy of the films for portable players. Personally, I was a little disappointed that there weren't more extras on this DVD as it would have been interesting to see how the writers developed the main characters like Manny, Sid and Diego. However, I did watch Buck: From Easel to Weasel and it is well worth watching. Not only do they show you how the characters are created and then used with computer graphics, but you also get to see the actor Simon Pegg reading his lines whilst they run the scenes alongside him. What I wasn't aware of is that the people who create these characters actually film the actors reading their lines. The reason for this is that sometimes they use the actor's mannerisms to develop the current character.

I know that this film is ultimately aimed at children but don't think that they had any idea it would be such a hit with the adults too. I personally have loved all the Ice Age films with the most recent being my favourite. The characters are loveable and all have their flaws with each film trying to convey a decent moral across. Personally the reason I enjoyed Ice Age 3 so much was the introduction of Buck, the crazy weasel who lived underground in the crazy world of dinosaurs. The fact that he is English adds to the charm of an American casting and also makes his character that bit more amusing. The animation itself is fantastic, no I am not an expert on animation at all but I find it astounding the amount of detail and work that goes into a production like this. The dinosaur world itself is full of prehistoric creatures that Manny's little gang had never come across before which made for some very funny scenes and the occasional cracking one liners (this helps when you have a childish sense of humour). Sid is the loveable little sloth that always manages to get himself into trouble and Diego is the calming influence on the group as well as being the protector. With Manny and Ellie being the mother and father figures of the group it only leaves Crash and Eddie that are the naughty little school-kids of the pack. The pack works well and I can truly say that I enjoyed al three films immensely. This is animation at its best. It makes a refreshing change to watch something with great casting, a nice little storyline and no violence, swearing or sex. Alright it's aimed at kids but I suppose I am a big kid at heart anyway.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 23 February 2010
This is a good set that gives you both Blu Ray and ordinary versions of the DVDs, at a great price. Only slight cricism is that when it states it plays anywhere, it doesn't mean other regions! We took ours to the USA to enjoy on holiday but it wouldn't play there.

If you like modern animations, you will love this box set.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 25 December 2009
To my surprise the box doesn't only contain the 3 films in blu-ray but also on DVD and even a special version is included on the DVD to copy to your iPhone or other digital media player. I think this is a great initiative from 20th Century Fox to provide people with more than normally, and a good way to go against piracy, because the box set now also comes with all the advantages of a download (being able to play it anywhere).

Now on the films: All very nicely animated and with a good doses of humor. Especially in the first film there are enough, more subtle jokes in there to also keep parents enjoy the film if they only watched it with ther children.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2012
Now I will be plain. Ice Age is an absoloutley superb series and are some of the best animated films out there! It is not a Pixar nor a Dreamworks, which for me, are my favourite studio's for animated films. These were made by a studio called "Blue Sky" they are knew to me and have not made many films, but this trilogy they have produced is great. The basic story in all three films follows the lives of Manny. Diego and Sid. Other additions do crop up along the way, but these are the original main three characters. It is set in the arctic and there are always struggles and challenges there. I will now review the films below

Ice Age 7.5/10

This is my favourite on the set. Like all original's to there sequels, it stands out. This is the one were we first see the characters of Manny, Sid and Diego. All the animals migrate in this one, because of some type of flu. Sid is a weird and odd sloth who tails along a mammoth named Manny, who is the main focus in the first two films. They manage to recover a baby that was lost down at the river after a tiger attack on a human herd. Diego joins them later, and is sent by other tigers to lead Manny and Sid to them so they can eat the baby. However, during their journey the three make a bond and create a friendship and Manny begins to kile Sid after first being annoyed by him, because Manny didn't go with the herd, and Diego after getting to know them, has doubts about his mission. It is a brilliant film and at times hilarious. You will love this, the best out of the three.

Ice Age 2, The Meltdown 6.8/10

Now this one was not quite as good as the first movie, but it was still a very good film. I would say it was good. It was not as entertaining as the first movie, and in parts it was flat. But it depends on which way you want to look at it. This movie was very much focussed on Manny again, and you could tell he was hurting from the loss of his family and you felt sorry for him that he was the only mammoth left. But later on he meets another mammoth named Ellie and two little possoms. I did not think this was a good idea - Manny having a love interest and this being a filler just to drag the movie on. The two little possoms really ruined parts of it for me, and they were annoying and dragged you away from the fun. I just thought these additions were unnecessary and it would have been better if Manny was still the last Mammoth, and he meets a herd of mammoth's later and this was pointless too. Anyway, the basic plot still follows the lives of Manny, Sid and Diego and there characters develop. All life in the "Ice Age" is forced to migrate because of a water meltdown which would soon flood. This was a great idea, and i really liked the ending. But i didn't like the new characters. I liked the first Ice Age better where Manny, Sid and Diego went on a real adventure and this would allow for character developmet more. Manny and Ellie spent way too much time on screen and i hated the bit with Sid. I would have loved to see more water attacks and at least some animals get killed off. But having said many negatives, i enjoyed this film and some parts were funny. It was fun, a bit boring in parts, predictable, but my highlight was the way they explored Manny in this film. Good job. Not quite as good as the first.

Ice Age 3, Dawn of the Dinosaurs 6.4/10

I liked the first two Ice Age films,but the third was slightly dissapointing for me. The problem was the story - Dinasours. Come on! there gone! another was more silly characters. It was not as fun or as good as the previous two, Ellie was still there, the possoms were still there and everything was mushed up. To start off, the plot was about all of them investigating a dinasour world found beneaf the Ice Age. This was a stupid idea. And Manny, Sid and Diego had a challenge in the previous two films. In the first, they had to get the baby back to the humans. In the second, they had to reach a boat to avoid a flood of water. But in this one, the third, there was no objective. It was just a silly dinasaur adventure. My favourite part of the film was the beginning, it promised so much. Infact it was a perfect opening. sid having problems with wanting to be a father, Diego leaving, and Manny and Ellie having responsibilities of being a parent and facing their own issues. It was all going so well, and i thought they might all clash on there own adventures. But no, it is an animated film and they didnt't just want adult themes so they sent Sid on a redicilous journey with eggs, and sent them all to a dangerous world, full of dinasaurs on a death chase! wow! not really, no the ending was good again but it was a drop in quality. Infact all three Ice Age films had good endings. Not as good as the first two

So, it goes 1,2,3 for me. But these films have great animation, and specisl features. They are really funny and i am looking forward to Ice Age four continental drift. It will be hard to beat the original Ice Age, but i will give you a review on it. This series was pretty good, but it did not live up to the quality of some of Pixar's masterpieces such as the titles "Monsters Inc" "Incredibles" and "Toy Story" But still great. i'm sure you will find it a delightful trilogy, setting you up for Ice Age 4, and this series will demand multiple viewings because of its sheer entertainment and comedic fun!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 4 January 2010
Bought this for my 4year old and she has watched it over and over again. She absolutely loves it and is now quoting from it. Would thoroughly recomend this for all kids and their parents. I found this really good value for money, and the belly laughs coming from Emma proved that she had enjoyed it as much as I hoped. Only one thing, she is now asking if she came from an egg and if I had to sit o it. Not sure if she is being serious or has a rather dry sense of humour.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
The Ice Age trilogy delivers everything for the kids and so much for the adults in all three films. BlueSky really hit the nail on the head with these three.

Usually as films progress they become worse, no one knows the reasons, but thats the way it goes. Mainly films survive a sequel but not a trilogy. Ice Age breaks the ice in this concept an delivers three fantastic films with consistent quality, and rumours of a fourth which I'm sure will be just as good.

The characters are loveable and beautifully written, voice acted, and animated. The "set pieces" are fantastically detailed, bright and enjoyable. The main narratives are easy to follow for the kids, and offer enjoyment for adults too, especially as some of the humour would surely go over some children's heads, so it must have been included for the adults.

I feel that the only thing that improved over the Ice Age trilogy is the animation, as between 1 and 3 you can see the rendering has improved quite a lot. But other than that, the consistency, humour, and fun has all remained intact and central to the films, nothing has been lost.

Hugely enjoyable for children and adults alike, brilliant films. Great box set.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 7 January 2010
I had seen all of these films before but they are so brilliant i wanted to own them!!
they are brilliant, and appeal to young and old.
Can't say how highly i rate them!
Also i find normally the sequels are not as good but these are just as good if not better.
the only thing i would say is i thought it would be 3 seperate dvd cases but it was one. not a problem though!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Ice Age [Blu-ray]
Ice Age [Blu-ray] by Chris Wedge (Blu-ray - 2008)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.