Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars1,033
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£19.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2014
I LOVE THIS MOVIE, it is BRILLIANT!!! I love HTTYD 1, it is one of my favourite movies, I was worried about the sequel as they often don't deliver and lose the magic and balance of the first, I was wrong to have worried, it is even better. The whole world that is created is rich with detail and the magical relationship between Hiccup and Toothless is a wonder to behold, the team working on this should be throughly proud of their talent and attention to detail, it's incredible.There are so many films these days that get it all so wrong and just repeat a tried and trusted formula, Disney in comparison is so Dull Dull Dull. I would Highly Recommend this film to people of all ages , the movie experience doesn't get better than this.
0Comment|65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Just as good as the 1st one. It gets very sad and dark at some points, but if you loved toothless in the 1st film you will totally love him even more in this one.
They pulled off ageing the characters very well, its like they aged with me since the 1st film. The amount of detail in the faces of the humans and dragons is amazing. even Astrids hair has amazing detail.
The animation is just out of this world, dream works really have created a work of art.
I just hope they don't do something stupid in HTTYD 3, and i really hope they don't end the hole thing the same way as the books.
I hope we don't have to wait to long for it to come out on DVD and Blu-Ray.
if you have a 3D tv i would advise getting it in 3D, it makes for a more immersive experience but the best thing about it is the 3D isn't in your face like things flying out at you. it just gives you a better depth perception.
If you haven't watched the 1st one i would advise watching that before this. It will give you a better understanding of how Hiccup became friends with toothless and how he changed the way his island reacted to dragons.
Also if you watch it for a second time just keep an eye on toothless in the background, I must have looked silly in the cinema laughing to myself at emotional scenes when he was messing around in the background.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
VIDEO (3D):

How To Train Your Dragon 2 3D arrives on blu-ray with MPEG-4 MVC 1080p 2.35:1 encode. The transfer is simply outstanding with a high bit-rate of 36.6 MBPS. The depth is well defined. There are many pop-out materials from the very first sequence, where the marauding dragons seem to emerge from the screen directly at the audience. DeBlois and his rendering team regularly place stationary objects in the foreground to immediately establish planes of depth. This is a truly immersive 3D experience. (5/5)

VIDEO (2D):

How To Train Your Dragon 2 arrives on blu-ray with MPEG-4 AVC @ 23 MBPS 1080p 2.35:1 encode. Even at 2D, depth is extraordinary. Even with a relatively low bit-rate of 23 MBPS, detail is still exceptional in costumes and Viking’s hair, with the textures of various classes of dragons beautifully rendered. Contrasts are consistent and blacks are inky deep. (5/5)

AUDIO:

How to Train Your Dragon 2 3D's lossless DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 is as aurally immersive as the film's 3D presentation is from a visual standpoint. The opening sequence sets a very high bar, with a whirlwind of surround activity as Hiccup and his friends battle during the Dragon Races. John Powell’s score is beautifully rendered. Dialogue is very cleanly presented. This is a totally immersive experience. (5/5)

MOVIE:

This is the second of a trilogy, directed and written by Dean DeBlois. The entire original voice cast – Jay Baruchel (Hiccup), Gerald Butler (Stoick), Craig Ferguson (Gobber), America Ferrera (Astrud), – returned for the sequel. New additions included Kit Harington (Eret), Cate Blanchett (Valka, Hiccup’s long lost mother) and Djimon Hounsou (Drago Bludvist, the bad guy). The main plot involved Hiccup’s new adventure, finding his long lost mother, fighting the bad guy after losing Toothless at one point, revenging the death of his father Stoick, and eventually becoming the chieftain of Berk. I thought How To Train Your Dragon 1 was first-class, but this sequel has even better graphics, more action than the first one with a more interesting plot. (5/5)

TECHNICAL IMPROVEMENT:

DreamWorks Animation had substantially over-hauled its production workflow and animation software. How to Train Your Dragon 2 was the first DreamWorks Animation film that used "scalable multi-core processing", developed together with Hewlett-Packard. Called by Katzenberg as "the next revolution in filmmaking," it enabled artists for the first time to work on rich complex images in real time, instead of waiting eight hours to see the results next day. The film was also the studio's first film to use its new animation and lighting software through the entire production. Programs named Premo and Torch allowed much more subtlety, improving facial animation and enabling "the sense of fat, jiggle, loose skin, the sensation of skin moving over muscle instead of masses moving together.

TRIVIA:

1 How To Train Your Dragon 2 is the highest grossing animated movie of 2014, surpassing the Lego Movie & Rio 2. It has grossed $176,734,149 in North America, and $438,383,955 in other countries, for a worldwide total of $615,118,104. Comparatively, How To Train Your Dragon 1 has grossed $217 million in North America and $277 million in other countries, with a combined gross of $594 million.
2 It is also the 6th highest grossing movie of the year (2014): (1) Guardians of Galaxy ($768 million), (2) Maleficent ($757 million), (3) X-Men Days of Future Past ($746 million), (4) Captain America: The Winter Soldiers ($714 million) and (5) Dawn of the Planet of the Apes ($707 million). Quite an achievement for an animated feature. But the all-time gross champion for animated feature is of course Frozen ($1,274 million)!!
3 Did you notice that Hiccup is left handed? And supposed to be 6 feet tall. This is something he shares in common with his voice actor Jay Baruchel, who's known for his tall, slender build.

PACKAGING:

In the 3D version, the 3D and 2D discs have their own flipcases, instead of stacking one ontop of each other. Thank you.

20TH CENTURY FOX HALTS BLU-RAY DISC REVIEWS:

On September 3, 2014, 20th Century Fox sent out emails to all professional reviewers in various websites that blu-ray disc versions of feature films and television shows would no longer be sent out for reviews. In other words, for the average viewers like myself, we won’t be able to read reviews ahead of release date to make our purchase decisions. This is really unfortunate. And this may spread to other studios too.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Savvily dealing with issues like the realities of adulthood, loyalty and (just for good measure) world peace, How To Train Your Dragon 2 is an incredibly rare sequel that I feel surpassed its predecessors. It also has improved graphics, with top-notched video and immersive audio. If you have a 3D set, the 3D version is definitely preferred. But the 2D version is also very highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
I am always a little wary of sequels having felt a little disappointed with many I have seen in the past, however, this is one sequel that has not just equaled the first film but topped it!! It has become my all time favorite film, along with the first one of course, and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone!! This movie has something for everyone, its funny, emotional, full of action and I have to say that if its possible, Toothless is even more adorable than he was in the first film and TV series!

I love the fact that all the characters have aged and the bond between Hiccup and Toothless has just grown and grown, their relationship is amazing and is, in my opinion, the best thing about the films! I have nothing bad to say about this film, its a roller coaster ride of epic proportions!!!!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
Went to the cinema today to watch this.I was not expecting to enjoy this film as I do not watch many animated films.How wrong I was. The cgi in this film is amazing and even better when watching in 3d.The story is simple but not boring at all.I found myself instantly connected with tthe characters especially toothless the dragon.I also felt the emotions of certain events that take place in the movie near to the end (no spoilers).I would highly recommend this film to ANYONE as the adults also enjoyed it too.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
I took my grandson to HTTYD2. My own honest opinion of the film can only be one word MAGIC.
A truly remarkable film/story---- absolutely amazing, and very very enjoyable.
I enjoyed it that much, am now ordering the DVD.
Go see it and enjoy.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
Hiccup and Toothless are back to defend their home from a marauding new enemy in DreamWorks How to Train Your Dragon 2 starring Jay Baruchel, Gerard Butler, Cate Blanchett, Craig Ferguson, and America Ferrera. Will this highly anticipated sequel be one of the best animated movies of 2014 or does it fail to capture the heart and adventure so many fans loved about the first?

On the small Viking island of Berk where dragons were once feared and hated, the townspeople now love their scaled and winged friends. The beasts help with chores, rebuilding the community, and have become loyal companions. Stoick the Vast is the tribe’s chief who has become the dragon’s number one fan. He once slaughtered hundreds of them to protect the village, but now embraces them and enjoys officiating the weekly dragon races ran by Berk’s young dragon riders.

None of the village’s newfound happiness would have been possible if not for Stoick’s rebellious son, Hiccup and his Night Fury dragon named Toothless. Hiccup is never content with sitting idly by. While his friends are racing and goofing off, he and Toothless explore and map out the world. Hiccup is also crafty with inventions and has created a winged flying suit so he can experience the thrills of flight like his buddy.

While on one of his expeditions, Hiccup and his girlfriend, Astrid, come across a group of men who are capturing dragons for an evil man named Drago who is building a dragon army to conquer and rule all who oppose him. Hiccup and Astrid fly back to Berk and inform Stoick. Now fearing for war, Stoick orders Berk’s gated sealed and the villagers to prepare for defense. Knowing war is not even an answer, Hiccup escapes the town with the intentions of changing Drago’s mind. If Hiccup was able to change his father’s attitude, will he be able to do the same to Drago before countless humans and dragons are killed and will a mysterious dragon savior be able to help?

For anyone that knows me, I’m a 41-year-old big kid at heart. Even if I wasn’t the father of four kids that range from three to ten years of age, I’d still watch cartoons and animated movies. I love the Toy Story trilogy, The Incredibles, Kung Fu Panda, Tangled, and Wreck-It Ralph. But probably one of my favorite animated movies is How to Train Your Dragon. It was the first ever animated movie to be projected in 3D and while the story of friendship and family was simple, it was powerful in presentation. It has phenomenal visuals and an amazing orchestral score. I’ve watched it a million times with and without my kids present. The movie is so popular, it’s spun off bonus mini movies, holiday specials, and two television series on Cartoon Network. When I heard a sequel was hitting theaters this year, I was overly excited, yet apprehensive because a lot of times the sequels never get it right. Fortunately How to Train Your Dragon 2 absolutely gets it right on so many counts and then some. The movie does a great job bringing audiences back into the amazement and wonderment of dragons while adding to the mix a darker story, romance, and danger.

Everything that made the original movie fantastic is back, but better and more of it. Better technology makes the movie look better and new characters and super cool dragons add to the adventure. The movie takes place five years after the events of the first. The Cartoon Network shows Riders of Berk and Defenders of Berk bridge the two movies, but you don’t need to be watch them to know whats going on in this sequel. In fact the movie sort of dispels the television shows as story cannon in the same manner as the DreamWorks Penguins show is in the same universe as Madagascar, but not really part of the film franchise.

Hiccup, voiced by Jay Baruchel, is older and wiser. I loved how this movie matured him. Hiccup was always an inventive kid, but now as a young adult he’s taken his intelligence to a whole other level. He created this amazing wing suit that lets him fly with his dragon. It is also equipped with more toys and gadgets than Batman’s utility belt. He even has this really neat flame sword that is like a Jedi light saber, but better as Hiccup can interchange cartridges of different dragon breath to create different defensive and offensive effects. But it’s the relationship with his Night Fury dragon, Toothless, that makes the movie special. Toothless isn’t a mere beast. Even though he has characteristics of both a cat and a dog, he is a friend with real emotions and even a sense of humor. If you loved Hiccup and Toothless you’ll love them even more in the sequel. In this movie, however, Hiccup and Toothless’ friendship is put to the ultimate test.

The rest of the original cast has all returned. Gerard Butler is Hiccup’s dad Stoick the Vast, America Ferrera is Hiccup’s girlfriend Astrid, and Craig Ferguson is Hiccup’s weapon’s mentor Gobber. As Hiccup’s friends and Berk’s Dragon Riders are Jonah Hill as Snotlout, Christopher Mintz-Plasse and Fishlegs, and Kristen Wiig and T.J. Miller as the twins, Ruffnut and Tuffnut. The biggest difference between all of them comparing the two movies, besides their obvious older appearances, is how they all have a command of a dragon that best represents them. The coolest is Stoick’s dragon named Skull Crusher. What I also that was really neat is how they ride the dragons as if they were riding a motorcycle. Snoutlout and Stoick sit in their saddles and look like their riding Harleys and high handlebar choppers. At times, Hiccup even looks like he rides Toothless like a high performance Japanese racing bike.

How to Train Your Dragon 2 wouldn’t be a proper sequel if new characters weren’t introduced to continue the story and challenge the protagonists. Kit Harington from Game of Thrones plays Eret Son of Eret. He is a dragon trapper who Hiccup and Astrid run into. He tells them that if he doesn’t capture dragons and turn the over to Drago, he gets punished. Eret, Son of Eret has been brainwashed into thinking dragons are evil, but slowly sees the magesty of the beasts. The big villain of the movie is Drago Bludvist voiced by Djimon Hounsou. He’s as large in stature and strength as Stoick, and with a hatred for dragons that’s parallel to none, but Ironically he uses the animals to conquer worlds. What makes him the most powerful and intimidating viking of all is that he controls an Alpha Dragon. It’s as big as the big dragon in the first movie, but it’s power is that is can mind control all dragons into doing Drago’s bidding. The only person that can really help Hiccup and his friends defeat Drago is a mysterious dragon savior named Valka who is voiced by Kate Blanchett. If you haven’t seen the trailer for the movie, I will not spoil her surprise. Valka is like a female version of Steve Irwin when it comes to dragons. She studies them, provides a sanctuary for them, but most importantly loves and respects them. Valka was really cool, especially when she wearing her intimidating dragon rider mask. She also carries a double-sided staff that she rattles and swings in specific motions to command the dragons. All three additions to the How to Train Your Dragon franchise were great and were well voiced by their actors.

What I really loved about this movie was the roller coaster of emotions it puts you through. It’s filled with joy and happiness, but without notice takes audiences into some sad and dark places. I can’t spoil exactly whats going on, but I’d compare it to The Empire Strikes Back as a dark sequel. I was blown away by a few to the movie’s reveals and saddened at the horrific event of the second act. All the emotions come to a close at the movie’s amazing finale.

How to Train Your Dragon 2 a an absolute beautiful movie to watch, especially in 3D. The dragons look like they are flying directly in front of you. When dragons like Toothless shoot out their fireballs, it looks like it’s coming right at you. The movie is directed by Dean Deblois who directed the first movie as well. So if you liked the first movie’s quality of story and characters, then you’ll be happy that the sequel does an excellent job telling their continuing adventures. How to Train Your Dragon 2 is an absolute must see for kids of all ages and those big kids like me.

A lot of sequels forget what made the original special. Fortunately for fans, How to Train Your Dragon 2 does everything right. It retains the sense of wonder and adventure from the original, while adding a bit darker story, a little romance, some new dragons, and a bit of sadness. I personally prefer the first movie, but only by a small fraction. The visuals are spectacular, especially in 3D. This is a movie for all ages. It’s a movie like Toy Story and Kung Fu Panda that doesn’t require children for adults to see it. As for animated movie of the year so far, that title still goes to The Lego Movie for its fun factor and originality, but How to Train Your Dragon 2 is still a highly recommended must-see movie. This will be a movie I add to my Blu-ray collection when it becomes available on home video.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When I finally got around to watching How to Train Your Dragon, I was surprised at just how much I enjoyed it. I didn’t love it, but it was fun, so I was definitely interested in seeing the sequel. I never got around to seeing it in the theater, but I finally rented How to Train Your Dragon 2 over the weekend. Sadly, I didn’t find it nearly as much fun.

The story picks up 5 years after the first and life in Berk has greatly changed. The dragons are now living in the Viking village and are an important every day part of life. Meanwhile, Hiccup (voiced by Jay Baruchel) and his dragon Toothless are spending every minute possible exploring the surrounding area to learn what else might be out there.

They are surprised one day to run across a ship that captures dragons. Even worse is the news that Drago (Djimon Hounsou) is using these captured dragons to build an army to start and win a war. When Hiccup goes out to trying to find Drago and talk him into peace, he makes an even more startling discovery. Will his world ever be the same again?

It’s been a while since I watched the first movie, so I can’t pin point exactly what has changed between the two. I can say that the preview I saw on another DVD the next night certainly made me glad I hadn’t seen it first. It gave away all the twists of the film except one.

And that twist that they hadn’t given away? It was definitely one thing I didn’t like about the film, especially because I didn’t feel the payoff was worth it.

Part of that was because the movie was so focused on the story that characters didn’t really come alive for me. Again, maybe if I’d seen the first one more times I would have connected with them better. Honestly, there are only a few that get any significant screen time as it is (not that it helps us connect with them). The rest of the returning cast have a very small part of the play.

Those supporting characters can be wonderful comic relief, but in this case they were wasted. They were fine, and frankly I think I would have liked to see more of them.

The plot, which as I already said was the focus of the movie, was a bit rushed as well. It’s almost like they tried to tell too much story for the run time of the film.

Not that the film is bad. I was entertained while I watched it. I just wasn’t captivated and pulled in, and I certainly don’t see a reason to buy it or watch it again.

None of this reflects on the voice cast. As is usual for a DreamWorks animated film, there are many familiar names, and they all do great jobs bring their characters to life.

And the animation is truly wonderful. There are some beautiful shots over the course of the film that truly make you appreciate how far computer animation has come.

So How to Train Your Dragon 2 is worth seeing if you were a fan of the first movie. If you didn’t like the first, you can definitely skip this one. It’s an okay movie, but nothing that will thrill anyone but the biggest fans of the original.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Amazing!
I saw this in the cinema and wow! it was absolutely amazing, i didn't think that they could make the 2nd movie better than the first, but they totally smashed it. It blew me away.

I cried at some points in the movie, as it was sad but overall,
It's absolutely Amazing
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
Loved it! Was a bit worried they were going to ruin it after the success of the first film, but if anything I enjoyed this even more. Brilliant.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse