Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars678
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 2 January 2014
One by the book F B I agent, Sarah Ashbourne is forced to team up with loud unconventional cop partner Shannon Mullins when they realize that they are both after the same drug dealer and must put their differences aside to work together despite hating each other. It's a familliar buddy buddy cop action comedy with the big twist that the 2 cops are women being the best most original thing about the whole film. Sandra Bullock and Melissa Mccarthy are both good as the mismatched partners and there are some decent action and laughs but plot wise you've seen this sort of thing before.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
The film starts by introducing the two main characters. Sandra Bullock plays FBI Special Agent Ashburn. She is smart, confident, arrogant, cocky, and disliked by all her fellow employees.

Melissa McCarthy plays Mullins. She is a street smart Boston cop with her own way of doing things. She has a potty mouth and even arrested her own brother to the dismay of her zoo family.

Circumstances forces these polar opposites to work on a drug case in Boston with formulaic results.

Melissa McCarthy was simply hilarious, stealing scenes from Bullock on a grand larceny scale. The humor at times is slapstick and other times crude, but always funny. I had to laugh out loud just watching Melissa get out of her car. It was a marvelous performance. The plot of the story proved to be immaterial as I waited for the next gem to flow the mouths of Bullock and McCarthy.

This is a comedy worth owning.

Parental Guide: many F-bombs. No sex or nudity. Bullock in bra. Sex talk.
0Comment47 of 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Marvelous entertainment with laughs galore, about 2 mismatched cops ready to take on the world. One cares and the other, it doesn't really matter. Now why spoil it for you and go to great details than let you down. If you like comedy that is different with a twist here and there than you will love this. I found this fabulous with the cast doing a fantastic job convincing me I was there with them. So I rated this movie an A grade plus for sheer pleasure of relaxing in front of the television and not wanting to leave for any reason, I didn't want to miss a thing to be honest. Entertainment at its best worth putting your feet up with all the family, Don't forget the popcorn. Relax and enjoy a marvelous show.
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Sarah is has her eye on a promotion, but her co-workers hat working with her. She is sent to Boston to uncover the identity of a drug lord, by tracking down his second in command, and stands a good shot, if she finds him.

When she arrives in Boston, she learns that he has been killing his competition and taking over their operations.

The SIC is in police custody so she goes to ask him what he knows, but is warned that the cop who arrested him, Detective Mullins, is very territorial, and unsociable.

Like all true buddy cop comedies, they don't get along. When Mullins learns why Sarah is in Boston, she decides to find the drug lord herself. But Miss Congeniality decides they should work together.....

If you like McCarthy, you will like this film. Despite Bullock getting top billing, she is just company for McCarthy, who steals any scene she is in. Having seen Bridesmaids and Identity Thief, and being left very underwhelmed, it surprised me just how good she is in this.

If this movie was made in the eighties, it would have become something of a cult classic. It has that feel to it, a little Midnight Run crossed with Tango and Cash, but having two women play the cops? Joel Silver would have balked back then.

If you don't mind profanity, its funny, and there are some lines that has me laugh out loud, and although Bullock is good, she's channelling Stanley Goodspeed from The Rock, with her non profane dialogue, until her little outburst.

Supporting characters are good, and although the plot is a little derivative and predictable, its still a pleasant little film which promises McCarthy will be a standalone box office star soon.

Plus its the best film ever made starring Bullock where she is starting to look like Cher.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Another good film from Sandra Bullock,A very good story line and action fully recomend to each and every one of you
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 November 2013
FBI Special Agent Sarah Ashburn (Bullock) is a by the book agent with a patronizing & arrogant attitude, gunning for promotion. And if she can bring in an illusive drug kingpin, only known as Larkin, she has it in the bag. However, as the trail leads her to a low level dealer in Boston, she crosses paths with the arresting officer, larger than life, foul mouthed, rule bending detective Shannon Mullins (McCarthy) who doesn't work well with others & has her own motives for getting to the bottom of things. Comedy & mayhem ensue.

After the bitter disappointment of Identity Thief , we thought this could go either way with Melissa McCarthy saddled with another Hollywood A lister & hoping for the best. Thankfully though.....The Heat is a much better offering thanks to the great comedy writing by Katie Dippold (Mad-TV) & directing from Bridesmaids Paul Feig, who certainly gets the most out of his lead duo, who click well & are hilarious. Sandra Bullock's (Speed) natural flair for comedy & Melissa McCarthy's (Mike & Molly) larger than life persona & stand up comedy roots. Both bring they're unique, hilariously flawed characters to life perfectly, which makes for very funny situations on they're own, but together, the clash of these poles apart sisters offers up some comedy gold. While it throws in some serious edge too, as both characters have sad past's that you can't help but connect with them on some level, with a few heartwarming moments. In this respect, the writing makes these flawed characters more likable than loathable, making for a much better transition (compared to Identity Thief) for us to understand the characters motivations, and gradually feel sympathy & friendship for them.

In conclusion, Bridesmaids showed us that the girls can do outrageous comedy just as well as the boys, and now with The Heat they have proven they can make an all round very funny buddy cop action comedy, with just the right mixture of action, laughs & serious heartfelt moments. The sequel is in the pipeline, high hopes for that. Contains very strong language throughout & some graphic violence. Recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Well packed & fast delivery. It's got Sandra Bullock in it & so is most definitely hilarious, (excellent actress) cried with laughter. recommended to all Miss Bullock fans.
11 comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
The Heat is quite simply the best film I've seen to date. As a big Sandra Bullock fan I had high hopes for this film & I wasn't disappointed. I laughed out loud throughout the film & even cried with laughter on a few occasions!

Sandra Bullock & Melissa McCarthy make a fabulous pairing & I only hope the 2 of them will work together again in the future. If you're a fan of them or just enjoy a good laugh I suggest you watch this film, I can't wait for it to be released on DVD so I can enjoy it over & over again!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
Theatrical Release review...

This is (without doubt) my favourite comedy of 2013. If you like 'Identity Thief then you'll love this.

Melissa McCarthy is common, vulgar and foul-mouthed. Sandra Bullock is stuck-up, prim and proper. Together they're the perfect couple!

It's Cagney and Lacey versus The Hangover with a pinch of Miss Congeniality and a dollop of Bridesmaids! I am really looking forward to watching the uncut edition which is rated 18 as opposed to the theatrical release 15.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
I bought this on the strength of the leading ladies being great actresses and thought it would be great.Actually v disappointed to find that the film was formulaic and just not that funny.Boo.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.