Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars254
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 23 January 2014
I took my neice and nephew to see this film - they are 9 and 6 years old respectively. I can tell you they both giggled away and thoroughly enjoyed this film. The film plays well to a broad age range, adults included. It's well animated - the 3D was good - funny and is full of great characters - the foodimals are hilarious! 5 stars!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 28 September 2013
"Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs 2" is a heartening and animated movie about an inventor who must figure out a way to deal with food creations that somehow morphed into "foodanimals." This inventor is accompanied by his friends and must carefully choose between either listening to them or another scientist that he truly admires. "Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs 2" is perfect for many people who like gleeful family friendly films.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 6 April 2014
The last U certificate film i watched was a pure childrens offering & really didn't work on an adult level.So i was a bit unsure what this sequel could offer,especially after such a good original.Firstly,all the characters are just great,all with funny quirks,thankfully it's the same daft bunch as last time as they try to stop a mad scientist destroying Lockwoods bonkers food animal island.
The one liners & literal jokes come thick & fast with Mr Ts character getting alot of really good lines.The film is very colourful,bit of a feast for the eyes,with more food animals whos names might sound familiar.
As i watched this it suddenly struck me what it actually was,"Jurassic Park:The Lost World",it's not a direct copy,far from it,but the basic story of an entire island of jurassic size food monsters isn't a million miles away.
Very funny & plenty to keep adults,kids or entire families entertained,if you liked the first,you'll love this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 5 December 2013
Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2 picks up where Sony Pictures Animation's hit comedy left off. Inventor Flint Lockwood's genius is finally being recognized as he's invited by his idol Chester V to join The Live Corp Company, where the best and brightest inventors in the world create technologies for the betterment of mankind. Chester's right-hand-gal - and one of his greatest inventions - is Barb (a highly evolved orangutan with a human brain, who is also devious, manipulative and likes to wear lipstick). It's always been Flint's dream to be recognized as a great inventor, but everything changes when he discovers that his most infamous machine (which turns water into food) is still operating and is now creating food-animal hybrids - "foodimals!" With the fate of humanity in his hands, Chester sends Flint and his friends on a dangerously delicious mission, battling hungry tacodiles, shrimpanzees, apple pie-thons, double bacon cheespiders and other food creatures to save the world again!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
I had written off the original film as being mindless entertainment for kids, but when I saw it, I was surprised at just how much I enjoyed it. So when I heard plans for Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2, I knew I had to see it. Fortunately, I waited until it was out on DVD because it wasn't nearly as good as I expected.

This movie picks up immediately after the last film ended. The Live Corp Company has been hired to clean up the food left behind by Flint Lockwood's (voiced by Bill Hader) invention. Live Corp was founded and is still run by Chester V (Will Forte), Flint's inventing idol, so when Chester offers Flint a job while the island is cleaned, he jumps at the chance.

However, cleaning up the island doesn't go as planned. In fact, the machine has survived and is creating something new - mutant food/animal hybrids. There's only one way to stop it, reprogram the machine. And so Flint finds himself returning to the island with his girlfriend Sam Sparks (Anna Faris), his father Tim (James Caan), and several other friends from the first movie. Will they be able to stop the machine?

The first movie was predictable, but it had creativity and charm going for it. I actually laughed quite a bit at the clever things they did with the premise. It wasn't great art, but it was entertaining.

This movie? It is still fairly predictable. And the food/animal mashups were actually pretty clever. However, it just falls flat. I think that was for two reasons.

First, we spend too much time away from the island and the food. Once we get back there, it feels forced. Yes, some of that was set up, but it slowed the pacing of the film down over all.

Second, it has a been there and done that feel to it. Yes, we are doing with food/animals instead of food falling from the sky. Still, how we had to stop it wasn't that original. Flint and his father are still having the same issues. And it always feels like a cheat to me when they have to start a movie by invalidating the climax of the original. Even Steve the monkey, who stole the show in the first film, isn't nearly as funny here.

Now this isn't to take anything away from the voice cast, who are still great. The animation, likewise, is fun and feels perfect for this cartoony film.

The humor is something kids will appreciate. I can see them, the target audience, still getting a kick out of it. However, some of the creatures might scare kids when they first appear, so parents will want to be aware of that.

Kids will probably still be entertained by Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2, but their parents will only be able to tolerate it. That's a shame since the first one was so much fun.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 16 July 2014
Well to be honest this review came from my two grandsons, the youngest (6) watched in 2D and said thanks grandad, well I guess that makes it a 5 star??? The eldest (11) said it was just as good as the first one and was even funnier. I can only go by what they tell me, I haven't watched all the way through myself yet. so watch this space.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 8 January 2014
When I saw the first trailer for this I thought it looked like a horrible, childish cash grab. But I was pleasantly surprised after seeing it, this is actually a very funny film, also great for adults and fans of the first film, definitely worth checking out.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 2 March 2014
I bought this for my 8 & 6 year old grandaughters, they love it and have watched it three times already
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 23 March 2014
Went to see this at the cinema, was slightly apprehensive as some sequels are pretty rubbish. Very impressed with this film though! my favourite character is Barry (The strawberry). Very good family film, and UV copy handy for on the road, out & about. The jokes are very similar to the first film in the way they're presented and the film had me laughing out loud in the cinema and watching it again at home.
You do not need to watch the first one to understand what's going on in this film as they re-cap at the beginning of this film, but to get to know the characters and the town i recommend you watch the first one before this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
Flint and Sam head back to Swallow Falls to defeat the Foodimals to keep them from escaping and destroying the planet in Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2. From Sony Pictures Animation, the film stars Bill Hader and Anna Faris. Is this a great animated sequel for the whole family or is it basically a delicious Jurassic Park rip off ?

Ever since he was a little boy, Flint Lockwood wanted to grow up to be a scientist. His boyhood idol was world famous super-inventor, Chester V who is the head of Live Corp. and the host of a syndicated television show. Flint wanted desperately to grow up and be one of Chester’s Thinkonauts and make the world a better place with his inventions.

After the events of the catastrophic food storm that hit Swallow Falls, the townsfolk prepare for clean up and get things back in order, but Chester V sends in his Live Corp. crew to evacuate all the citizens and do the clean for them instead. Impressed with Flint’s inventions, Chester V invites Flint to work at Live Corp. With his childhood dream come true and the encouragement of his friends, Flint accepts. With his family and friends now relocated to California, Flint gets to work for the next six months coming up with new inventions to impress Chester V in a big company contest in hopes of becoming the next Thinkonaut.

Meanwhile back at Swallow Falls, the FLDSMDFR (Flint Lockwood Diatonic Super Mutating Dynamic Food Replicator) is actually still functional. However, instead of synthesizing normal food, it now creates hybrid food monsters like Shrimpanzees, Watermelephants, Tacodile Supremes, and the dreaded Cheese Spider that has french fry legs and sesame seed eyes. The creatures known as Foodimals have taken over the island and are trying to learn how to swim in order to leave and attack the rest of the world.

All the Live. Corp clean up crew goes missing, so Chester V instructs Flint to go back to back to Swallow Falls to find his machine to shut it down with a special USB drive. Flint rounds up all his friends on his dad’s boat to go back and get to his lab in order to track down the FLDSMDFR. Can Flint and the gang shut down the machine in time before the animals escape or will someone with diabolical intentions have other plans?

As a kid, there were two books that I loved to read all the time. One was Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak and the other was Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs by Judi and Ron Barrett. Both books had amazing illustrations that I instantly fell in love with. While the first Cloudy movie was pretty loosely based on the book, it still had the charm and amazing visuals that made the book a regular on Top 100 lists. The movie is so loved by my kids, that it regularly gets tons of playtime on the DVD players at my house. When I heard a sequel was coming out, not only were my kids excited, but so was I, but still apprehensive because normally kids movies are usually just made to cash in on the popularity of the original. I have to say that not only is Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2 better than the original, but in the opinion of myself and my family, it’s the best family movie of the year.

What makes Cloudy 2 so special is not only beautiful visuals and the return of the charm and likability of the original characters, but added is the Jurassic Park like amazement of the Foodimals. Earlier in the year I saw DreamWorks The Croods and I totally loved the originality of the prehistoric animals which I thought was the best part of the film. Cloudy 2’s animals also have such a level of originality, but they are a lot cuter and with better personalities. My kids absolutely loved the large strawberry named Berry and the tribe of pickles named Dill, Sour, and Sweet that makes friends with Flint’s father. If your kids love the Minions of Despicable Me, they will absolutely love what Cloudy 2 has in store for them.

There would be no denying that the film doesn’t take a lot of its inspiration from Jurassic Park, and that’s not a bad thing. Now while the movie isn’t about an old guy trying to build a theme park, it has the action and adventure of the dinosaur movie, but a lot more kid friendly. I’d say the movie also shares a lot of the fantastical adventure themes with Journey to the Center of the Earth and The Mysterious Island. The characters ride a police car boat through a coconut milk waterfall and march through a pancake syrup swamp to reach a big rock candy mountain. The environments and settings were as unique and fun as the Sugar Rush Speedway from Wreck-It Ralph.

All but one of the original cast is back with a couple extras. Bill Hader plays Flint Lockwood. Like his character in the first movie, Flint is motivated by invention, but unfortunately lets his excitement overwhelm his common sense. Anna Faris is Sam Sparks the weather girl. James Caan plays Flint’s dad, Tim Lockwood. Andy Samberg plays Baby Brent now known as Chicken Brent. Benjamin Bratt is Manny the doctor turned news camera man. And replacing Mr. T is Terry Crews as the Officer Earl Devereaux. Who really steals the show is Steve the Monkey voiced by Neil Patrick Harris. NPK doesn’t have much dialog, but what he says along with Steve’s actions is absolute comedy gold. You almost have to not watch what’s going on in the movie and focus you attention on the shenanigans of Steve or you’ll miss some really funny moments of the movie. New characters to the sequel are Chester V voiced by Will Forte and Barb the Ape portrayed by Kristen Schaal. Chester V comes off like an evil Steve Jobs who tried to have the spirituality and flexibility of a Hindu priest. Barb is one of Chester V’s inventions. He took a human brain and inserted into the middle of an ape brain to make her intelligent, just don’t call her a monkey. Every single character is memorable and each one has their own unique purpose. No one is left out and no one outshines each other. The characters and actors are a great ensemble cast.

From beginning to end, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs is completely entertaining. It has amazing animation and visuals that are only even more spectacular in 3D. Some movies don’t take advantage of the technology, but Cloudy 2 is one of those movies that a 3D is really is effective. The computer textures also look fantastic as the skins of fruits and vegetables look almost life like. There is also a ton of attention to detail with the food. One example is the tribe of pickles. It would be easy to just give them mouths to speak with, but if you look closer, you’ll see that they actually have little seeds inside. You could sit and and just pick apart how all the Foodimals were created and then go home and make them yourselves with your kids in your kitchen.

I don’t think I can even say anything bad about the movie. Everything the filmmakers and the actors did in the movie was so much fun to watch. The kids will love all the neat Foodimals and parents will love the subtle and hilarious inside adult jokes. Instead of a movie about a son trying to impress his father with inventions, Cloudy 2 branches off of that with a highly imaginative adventure about friendship and discovery that never has a dull moment.

I don’t know what it is lately, but a lot of great movies are currently being released, Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2 is no exception. I loved the first one and the sequel is even better. I highly recommend the film as a fun family outing. Take my advice and see it in 3D. The visuals look amazing. Take the kids to a bargain matinee to save a couple extra dollars. Don’t leave when the credit start to roll. There is a lot of fun animation when the movie ends.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

The Croods [DVD] [2013]
The Croods [DVD] [2013] by Nicolas Cage (DVD - 2013)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.