Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars65
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2013
While DC/Warners are being very tardy in bringing a lot of their great DC Animated Movies (made by the same team behind Batman: The Animated Series and Justice League) over here to the UK, this box set makes up for that to an extent. Several of these movies haven't been made available, and even if they have for the price it's worth it to get the rest. I'll do a breakdown of the films included, but the big omission from this collection is ALL-STAR SUPERMAN, one of the best Superman tales and (once again) not available in the UK. I'd rather DC had cut out one we already have to put that in, or include it and raise the price a little. Anyway...

SUPERMAN: DOOMSDAY - The retelling of The Death and Return of Superman condenses a lot of the events into a thrilling and often brutal tale. Good, but this is the one you're most likely to already have.
SUPERMAN: UNBOUND - Released the same day as this box set separately, retells Geoff Johns' 'Brainiac' graphic novel. Slightly odd Superman design aside this is a well-told and exciting movie, with John Noble doing an excellent Brainiac. I loved it.
SUPERMAN VS THE ELITE - The most underrated of all the DC Animated Movies, I personally love this as it highlights exactly why Superman and his often naive ideals are necessary... and how terrifying he can be if he ever loses them.
SUPERMAN/BATMAN: PUBLIC ENEMIES - The voice cast from Justice League return with a tale that's essentially one long series of fight scenes, and that's okay with me. Lex Luthor is particularly great as an insane President.
SUPERMAN/BATMAN: APOCALYPSE - Arguably the weakest on the set but still good, it's set directly after Public Enemies but before Unbound as it introduces Supergirl (and brings in Wonder Woman for good measure). If you don't like Batman IN SPACE stories it might annoy you, but otherwise a solid entry.
11 comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
This 5 disc set includes: Superman & Batman: Public Enemies / Superman & Batman: Apocalypse / Superman: Doomsday / Superman: Unbound / Superman Vs. Elite.

As these films are not available in region 2 and the imports are very expensive this is a great way to get them all for a very good price, all the films are excellent with my personal favourite being Superman & Batman: Public Enemies - amazing animation and great voice acting from Tim Daly & Kevin Conroy as Superman & Batman respectively.

For those bored of Lex Luthor always being the villain, there is Doomsday, Brainiac, Darkseid, Manchester Black and lots of other cameos - although Lex Luthor is the main villain in Public Enemies (him being the President is a good twist though).

Why this set does not include All-Star Superman is a very good question, however bought it separately on region 1 and it is also a very good film.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
This pack is Brilliant Value. Of the 5 films none of them are terrible and any 2 are probably worth the price alone.
As a huge Batman fan the 2 crossover films are my favourites, however there is plenty of action and adventure in all of these titles for any DC comics fan.
The voice acting is again uniformly pretty good, and the DCU film universe has certainly built a strong foundation on the back of it's 2 biggest heroes.
Any fan of superman should appreciate this pack. 1 word of note it is rated 15 because one of the films is. The rest are 12 or PG, therefore it will be a judgement on what to let any children watch from the box.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
Purchased this from Amazon after seeing in the shop, this was a fiver cheaper than the high street. And an absolute steal at only £10, five full length films a must for any fan (no matter how old). Only small gripe is they are not packaged in the right chronological order, but have a look at some of the other reviews for the right order.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
Animation is the best form of super hero's adventures and these are some of the best available. I own a couple already but I was missing a couple so when I saw this at the same price as one film I thought it a brilliant deal. And I was right.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
Great selection of films for the price. Watched them with my son over the summer holidays. Also worth looking out for a similar Batman set.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
This boxset is a must have for any Superman/DC fan, as it contains some of the best DC animated movies out there! similarly like the other reviewers have done, I will do a short review on each film

Superman: Doomsday-One of my favorite DC movies. This contains some fantastic fight scenes, great animation and a very well done story. The fight scene with Doomsday will keep you on the edge of your seat! 8/10

Superman Vs. The Elite- My second favorite DC movie and probably one of the most overlooked movies of the DC universe. The animation here is SUPERB and has some very impressive fight scenes. It also shows what Superman might have been like if he didn't have his "killing is wrong" attitude....and boy, is that scene epic!-9/10

Superman/Batman: Public enemies- Fighting, Fighting and more FIGHTING! This movie is mostly taken up by long fight scenes, which isn't a bad thing, but it isn't in particularly strong in the story department, which may put off some viewers. But seeing Batman and Superman work together is alot of fun!-7/10

Superman/Batman: Apocalypse- A bigger improvement over Public enemies IMO, as it includes a better story and alot more character development. The last fight scene is probably one of the most impressive animated fights i have ever seen. The only bad thing i have to say is that it mainly focused on Superman and Supergirl and less on Batman, but this is only a minor nitpick-8/10

Superman: Unbound-Not only is this the worst movie in the boxset, but it is also the worst of all the DC animated movies! Poor character designs, Awkward animation, boring plot and lame and short fight scenes! What a huge disappointment!-3/10

Overall, This set contains some fantastic movies (apart from one) and is definitely worth the money!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
I didn't really know what to expect when I purchased this collection but the price was right and having watched them all I'm glad I did. They are not for the kiddy winks (at least not the youngest) which is good as I am a more '"ahem" mature viewer, there are 5 of them and they are all pretty good little films. If you like your DC and superman then I don't think you will be disappointed with this collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
While the 'Unbound' story with its badly humanised Brainiac went downhill (in my opinion) the other movies were absolutely top notch (I mean, how can you possibly go wrong with 'Public Enemies', 'Apocalypse', 'Doomsday', and 'The Elite'?), and when you add the price that allows you to watch all these movies in this package, you would realise that this one is a compulsory buy.

Recommended, obviously.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
This is a really good DVD. I love all the different styles and interpretations of Superman designs. And without the Justice league to 'slow him down' we get to see Supes really cut loose in these adventures and demonstrate what Superman is truly capable of.

Nice to see Wonder Woman and Supergirl (much under used character) making appearances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse