Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars1,219
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2013
This is the first book, in quite a while, that I haven't wanted to put down until it was finished. It made me laugh, smile and even choke back some tears. What an interesting varied life John has led and he delivers his story in such a down-to-earth way, you can't help but think you were actually there at some stage!
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Love John Bishop as a comedian And now admire him as a person. What an interesting and and eventful life.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 September 2014
Of course the essence of an autobiography is to make your readers like you, although some authors have achieved the opposite. So the key is to be nice but not too nice. That's why John Bishop's book is a good un. He always comes over as an amiable chap anyway, the kind of guy you would like to share a few beers with. But he's not perfect as he continually tells us.

This book makes you like him even more. The guy's not perfect - he admits he hasn't been the greatest husband or father. But that adds to the honest approach which is appreciated. Here is a man who knows that he has been lucky in life, but that luck is based on ability and talent.

What shines through is his pride in being a Scouser and the pride in what he does. Today's celebrities seem to fall into one of two camps - eithe empty vacuous celebrities who are famous for just being who they are or genuine talents who go that extra mile. With his endurance and charity work Bishop falls firmly into the latter category.

This was an excellent and easy to read book that I was sorry to finish. And I still like the guy despite his radio show comments about Norwich and Norfolk.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
Absolutley love John Bishop...even more now since I've read this. Had tears rolling down my face so much I had to invest in a new box tissues. Thanks xx
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
John Bishop is one of the best nation stand up comedians. It is interesting to read a book about his journey of becoming a comedian. I found the book interesting and witty. John comes across as a genuine nice and down to earth person. He is a northern lad hailing from Liverpool. The book reflects on his childhood, education, career and of course as a comedian. There are interesting stories which kept me glued for long periods. He vividly describe the events. I like the way he opens up to readers. There are plenty of parts where I laughed out loud. Writing an autobiography is about sharing memories, talking about ups and downs and being honest. John does a wonderful job of this. I throughly enjoyed the read and would recommend the read for anyone is a fan of the comedian and appreciates a quality autobiography.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
Great book, honest and very funny. Really enjoyed John's description of his childhood. Would highly recommend as it kept my interest throughout. Well done!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
What a great way to spend a rainy cold afternoon, a nice cuppa in your hand and John Bishop in you lap! Loved the book, no airs and graces just good old fashioned story telling and interesting it is too. Thank you John for a thoroughly enjoyable book and well done for trying........
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
This is the quickest I have ever read any book. Every spare moment I just grabbed the book even if I only had time to read a couple of pages. John has led such an interesting, if hard working life. His success was hard won, but well deserved. He is just naturally funny. He and his family make a good team. Good luck to all of you.

Sylvia Harvey
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
Really enjoyed reading this book. Husband is now reading it. Written well, slightly humourous but a great insight in to this comedian's life. Pleasure to read, no nonsense and whereas some autobiographies leave you with a negative feeling about the celebrity, John Bishop comes across as a really decent fella with experiences that many peope go through.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
A true northern lad with true grit and determination. A book which i could not put down and ha me laughing out loud.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)