Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars265
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 31 July 2014
Purchased for my 17 year old who loves this group - haven't stopped playing this all summer! Really good songs, really good musicians - stand out tracks for me Days are Gone and The Wire, daughters like If I Could Change Your Mind and Falling. So refreshing to have talented young girls who can sing, play their instruments so well and don't feel the need to strip down to their knickers in order to sell records.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 May 2014
Not the best album I've ever heard, but give "Days Are Gone" a few listens, and then it just clicks. There are, of course, songs that stand out and are much better than the rest ("Falling", "If I Could Change Your Mind" and "Days Are Gone" are the shining stars of the album, and, having bought the limited edition with 8 extra tracks/remixes, I would say don't bother, unless you are a hard-core fan). The album is bright and breezy pop sound (with a hint of rock), polished and chillaxing.

The sister-act rock band Haim are from the sunny LA, and you can almost feel the sunshine seeping through the album. The songs are sparkling, danceable and infectious, and this is a classic Haim sound. Yes, it is their first studio album, but Haim have been cultivating their sound for over fifteen years, and [some think] they are much better live than recorded. There are debates around the fact that Este, Danielle and Alana Haim let the producers rub the edges off their talent, and I agree. If you saw them on Jools Holland (or any other life performance) you can tell some of the momentous live energy has been lost in production of "Days Are Gone". But it does not make the album any less enjoyable and easy-listening.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
I’m a sucker for that early ‘80s new wave blend of palm muting and power chords, so Haim provided a rather Fleetwood Mac-inspired breath of fresh air to the pop mainstream. The indie scene is crying out for axe-wielding rock chicks comparable to Stevie Nicks and Christine McVie, so Haim deserve some credit for having the cajones to drop the bomb that is Days Are Gone, an album which recalls the golden era of ‘80s pop rock.

From the ‘Vienna’-esque Ultravox pulse at the start of its opening track ‘Falling’, the Haim sisters hurl themselves into a maelstrom of new wave abandon from the Tango in the Night arpeggiated synths in the background of ‘The Wire’ to the breathy vocals of ‘Honey & I’. These girls are adept at crafting danceable pop songs with rhythms so tight that Quincy Jones would be hard-pressed to deny the similarities between the riff in ‘Forever’ and Michael Jackson’s ‘Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough.’

‘Don’t Save Me’ is a standout track showcasing Danielle Haim’s vocal hiccups and her ability to switch octaves down to little more than a murmur, and ’If I Could Change Your Mind’ shows that the girls are unafraid of trying on the pop formula for size without being branded as Pussycat Dolls, with ‘Days Are Gone’ itself hinting at the influence of contemporary R&B. However, it’s Este Haim’s peerless bass-playing which allow these influences to cohere firmly under the ‘pop rock’ genre.

In the same year which saw Fleetwood Mac reunite with Christine McVie at the London O2 Arena, it’s refreshing that Haim garnered critical recognition for taking sips from the same creative well of inspiration – in fact, if Haim open the door for more women to enter the music world to strum a guitar instead of ‘twerking’ to Robin Thicke then I think that can only be a good thing. Sure, the album may occasionally veer too close to Shania Twain territory at times, and it’s true that Haim do wear their musical influences on their sleeves, but the album remains a satisfying listen irrespective of this.

Their biggest crime? Cosying up to David Cameron on BBC1’s The Andrew Marr Show. Although, to be fair, Este Haim’s dedication of ‘The Wire’ to the Prime Minister by saying that it was all about him – a song which has lyrics ranging from ‘I’m bad at communication’, ‘it’s not right’ and ‘I fumbled it when it came down to the wire’ – may have been more rebellious than you’d think. But in spite of that incident of shameless political posturing, I’m willing to let it slide. After all, if women did less swinging around on a wrecking ball in their birthday clothes and followed Haim’s musical example, the BBC Radio 1 playlist would be an entirely different beast.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
I came across Haim after hearing one of the tracks in the background on "Made In Chelsea". It's a bit like Cyndi Lauper, Kate Bush, Little Boots and La Roux all bundled up into one. One minute it's very fresh and modern, the next it has a kind of 80s retro-feel. Most of the tracks are catchy, with my favourite being "Go Slow". Definitely worth downloading, you will just keep playing it. Yes, it's probably a little over-produced when compared to their initial raw tracks when they were first discovered; but who cares, it works!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 May 2014
Its nice to hear a band so fresh and different without needing to get there boobs out. Very talented girls and only two songs I don't like!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
I bought this album after discovering this on the 'Deezer' app and loved its distinctive sound. These three girls are large talented and give great summer sounds that are essential all year round. The album has a slight rock feel but with authentic indie sounds at heart. This album is guaranteed to lift my spirits.
It is extremely hard to pick my favorite song as they are all so great. Full of chilled summer anthems that have become an essential album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
Great album, first discovered this group watching radio ones bid weekend derry/Londonderry and immediately liked there boho style and there live performance. This album lives up to that and I like all the songs on the album witch is rare as there is always 1 or 2 I don't like . Would be on my top five favourite albums of the year, just falling sort of my favourite by foals holy fires.
Would recommend to people that like something a little different.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
Finally got around to getting the album,only a year after release! Love the Californian influences on the tracks as you would expect with a modern twist. The nod to The Eagles on the intro to The Wire,think was Heartache Tonight inspired, as is the rest of the album. Seen live on tv Glastonbury I think and excellent live,lot rawer of course but you would expect that,best of both worlds! Looking forward to more great music from the trio!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I ranked 'Days Are Gone' #6 on my top 25 from 2013 list (of which Savages, Vampire Weekend and Janelle Monáe gained top 3). Overall it is a fantastic indie pop record with seemingly universal appeal; I suspect because of it's ability to combine accessible (and catchy!) pop structure with interesting and dynamic sonics. Because of this it is one of those rare records that you can play to the entire extended family!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
This is a great pop/rock/alt album, with some really catchy hooks, and some great instrumental work. A lot of the songs on this album could have (and in fact may have been) released as singles. Particular stand-outs for me are "The Wire", "If I could Change Your Mind", and "My Song 5". It's an album you can put on and enjoy every track, even if you aren't quite paying full attention.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
If You Wait
If You Wait by London Grammar (Audio CD - 2013)

Pure Heroine
Pure Heroine by Lorde (Audio CD - 2013)

Glorious by Foxes (Audio CD - 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.