Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars102
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2013
Here's £1500 chaps,go and buy a second hand estate car,and then meet up in Uganda.Your mission,should you choose to accept it,find the true source of the river Nile.And so,armed only with their wits,and the usual levels of incompetence,Jezza,Hamster and Captain Slow go blundering about in the hope of going where no motoring show has gone before.

So as you can see its business as usual for the Top Gear Trio,bickering their way across Africa,in three cars totally unsuited for the challenge.But that somehow rise how rise to the occasion,as do the boys themselves.There are plenty of laughs to be had along the way,including,thanks to the 12 certificate,language you wouldn't normally expect(it was beeped out on the BBC),and yes it is Jezza who is responsible.After the widely criticized India Special,this one sees them back on top form,and doing what they do best,Top Gear fans are going to love this one.There are some good deleted scenes,pity there isnt a play all selection,but if that is all I can find to complain about,show you just how good the African Adventure really is.

If anyone thought Top Gear was running out of steam,this proves that its as good as ever.So sit back and enjoy 114 minutes of brilliant entertainment.
0Comment17 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
When I watched this special on TV I knew I would have to get it on DVD. The Top Gear boys have done some funny and great adventure specials before but I found this one really good. The DVD has extra deleted scenes unseen on TV.
A worthy buy if you enjoy Top Gear.
0Comment18 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
We will all miss this trio once again the BBC has shot itself in the foot!! Bought this to remind me of a great programme made better by the trio's chemistry and Jeremy's sense of humour........sadly missed
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After the lads’ absolutely rubbish India Special back in 2011, I was hoping that Jeremy, Richard & James would come back in winning form for their next ‘Great Adventure’. Thankfully, my hopes were justified. Top Gear: The Great African Adventure is a true return to form for the show, and proof that while the series has stumbled in recent years, you can STILL rely on it to provide such essential entertainment when it really matters.

This time round, Clarkson, Hammond & May are given £1500, told to buy second-hand estate cars, and use them…to find the ‘true’ source of the River Nile.

Now, this adventure was broadcast as a two-parter back in March 2013. So instead of another Great Adventure Box-Set, the BBC and 2Entertain have instead released just the two-parter as a single-disc feature. No Director’s Cut treatment, just the two-episodes combined into one. And the release is perfect as it is.

The problem with the India Special was that it just felt forced and too staged. Unlike their legendary trips to (say) the North Pole or the U.S., the lads’ expedition to India was just them outstaying their welcome with little-to-no-reason. In Africa, they once again have an actual mission. Along the way, there’s PLENTY of discovery, hilarities, historical insights, fascinating culture, beautiful shots and edge-of-your-seat dangers, but Jezza, Hamster and Captain Slow also take turns to show each of their own ingenuity with the inevitable modifications to their cars, which are genuinely refreshing this time, as they’re actually useful to their own survival out in the wilderness.

Needless to say, all the highlights are unforgettable (particularly the haunting visit to Entebbe Airport, the brilliant car-ferry and the thrilling final moments), but like Top Gear’s most famous moments, there’s also a real sense of achievement and triumph when all is said & done. Of course, the discovery of the ‘true source’ of the River Nile is bound to be argued over fiercely, but it’s irrelevant at the end of the day. The quest is genuinely inspired, and it’s fascinating and unforgettable all the way; just like Top Gear at its BEST.

There’s a rich assortment of deleted scenes for the extras (over 20 minutes’ worth), and the new material is the icing on the cake for fans. They’re so good indeed that nothing else is needed for this DVD. Top Gear: The Great African Adventure features the lads back in winning form. Fans and completists have nothing to worry about. The next thing to look forward to now…is the Burma Special.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
This dvd was worth paying for as it keeps us entertained for hours along with the other dvd's we have in the series!!!
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
So amusing each time we watch the boys, we have a duvet day daughter and myself and laugh all the way.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Its not for girls, possibly.
All the men in the house love Top Gear. Are ages are 34, 7, 5, and 2 and a half. We all laugh out loud at the silly bits: the speed bumps, stealing bits off of each others cars etc etc. We love it when they convert the cars with A-Team inspired music. And as a father I feel my kids are learning something about other countries so its educational really.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
Profile and reviews under construction as I work my way through my Top Gear collection. pre-set rating of 4 stars given to represent that I like the product, but this rating is subject to change.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
Cool dvd they go across Africa to find the source of the Nile and do things along the way its really really good cheers amazon for releasing this dvd great special from season 19 of top gear.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
really mind capturing something new at the time . Very different Africa story. Educative, I strongly recommend also for other than car people
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.