Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
136
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2013
Here's £1500 chaps,go and buy a second hand estate car,and then meet up in Uganda.Your mission,should you choose to accept it,find the true source of the river Nile.And so,armed only with their wits,and the usual levels of incompetence,Jezza,Hamster and Captain Slow go blundering about in the hope of going where no motoring show has gone before.

So as you can see its business as usual for the Top Gear Trio,bickering their way across Africa,in three cars totally unsuited for the challenge.But that somehow rise how rise to the occasion,as do the boys themselves.There are plenty of laughs to be had along the way,including,thanks to the 12 certificate,language you wouldn't normally expect(it was beeped out on the BBC),and yes it is Jezza who is responsible.After the widely criticized India Special,this one sees them back on top form,and doing what they do best,Top Gear fans are going to love this one.There are some good deleted scenes,pity there isnt a play all selection,but if that is all I can find to complain about,show you just how good the African Adventure really is.

If anyone thought Top Gear was running out of steam,this proves that its as good as ever.So sit back and enjoy 114 minutes of brilliant entertainment.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
When I watched this special on TV I knew I would have to get it on DVD. The Top Gear boys have done some funny and great adventure specials before but I found this one really good. The DVD has extra deleted scenes unseen on TV.
A worthy buy if you enjoy Top Gear.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
We will all miss this trio once again the BBC has shot itself in the foot!! Bought this to remind me of a great programme made better by the trio's chemistry and Jeremy's sense of humour........sadly missed
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
The jokes, the journeys, the characters, the cars, the incredibly well crafted shots and sequences, and a beautiful look at Africa like not even David Attenborough. This is the Great African Adventure, this is Top Gear at its best. The best example of how this tv show can be not just an hour of car-fanatics but a fantastic entertainment and even something more.
The blu ray is top quality and shows you Africa like you've never seen it before.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After the lads’ absolutely rubbish India Special back in 2011, I was hoping that Jeremy, Richard & James would come back in winning form for their next ‘Great Adventure’. Thankfully, my hopes were justified. Top Gear: The Great African Adventure is a true return to form for the show, and proof that while the series has stumbled in recent years, you can STILL rely on it to provide such essential entertainment when it really matters.

This time round, Clarkson, Hammond & May are given £1500, told to buy second-hand estate cars, and use them…to find the ‘true’ source of the River Nile.

Now, this adventure was broadcast as a two-parter back in March 2013. So instead of another Great Adventure Box-Set, the BBC and 2Entertain have instead released just the two-parter as a single-disc feature. No Director’s Cut treatment, just the two-episodes combined into one. And the release is perfect as it is.

The problem with the India Special was that it just felt forced and too staged. Unlike their legendary trips to (say) the North Pole or the U.S., the lads’ expedition to India was just them outstaying their welcome with little-to-no-reason. In Africa, they once again have an actual mission. Along the way, there’s PLENTY of discovery, hilarities, historical insights, fascinating culture, beautiful shots and edge-of-your-seat dangers, but Jezza, Hamster and Captain Slow also take turns to show each of their own ingenuity with the inevitable modifications to their cars, which are genuinely refreshing this time, as they’re actually useful to their own survival out in the wilderness.

Needless to say, all the highlights are unforgettable (particularly the haunting visit to Entebbe Airport, the brilliant car-ferry and the thrilling final moments), but like Top Gear’s most famous moments, there’s also a real sense of achievement and triumph when all is said & done. Of course, the discovery of the ‘true source’ of the River Nile is bound to be argued over fiercely, but it’s irrelevant at the end of the day. The quest is genuinely inspired, and it’s fascinating and unforgettable all the way; just like Top Gear at its BEST.

There’s a rich assortment of deleted scenes for the extras (over 20 minutes’ worth), and the new material is the icing on the cake for fans. They’re so good indeed that nothing else is needed for this DVD. Top Gear: The Great African Adventure features the lads back in winning form. Fans and completists have nothing to worry about. The next thing to look forward to now…is the Burma Special.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
This dvd was worth paying for as it keeps us entertained for hours along with the other dvd's we have in the series!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
This is undoubtedly my favourite Top Gear special. Not only did I like to see how their cheap old estate cars would survive some of the toughest roads that Africa has to offer, but I also enjoyed the fact that they had a serious mission, the three amigos are as humourous as ever and the scenery was just breathtaking. When the Africa Special was originally broadcast, it was split into two episodes, but the DVD has them rolling seamlessly into one episode and I find that two hours just flies by when I watch this. In some ways, I probably get more out of this (and some of the other Top Gear specials) than an ordinary travel programme - whilst I am not a huge car buff, there is something about these epic journeys that Top Gear have done that makes me want jump into my TV screen, hire a car and join them on their trip, even when they park up at less-than-pleasant hotels or get stuck in mud as it shows the other side to these wonderful places. A great special that I watch time and time again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
For me this is by far the best adventure they have done. Its just every car and driving enthusiasts dream.... To buy a few old cars and go on a road trip across somewhere like Africa.

These adventures where they buy old bangers and damage each others cars on purpose are so much better than when they go on a road trip in cars worth hundreds of thousands of pounds, like this one where they modified their cars too suit their journey. I would rather go across Africa in a banger with my mates than go across Europe in a Ferrari because i would have more of a laugh.

As is the way with Top Gear most of it is put on purposely for entertainment, but that doesn't make it any less funny. I really hope they can continue to come up with epic adventures like this, they truly do have the best job in the world.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Its not for girls, possibly.
All the men in the house love Top Gear. Are ages are 34, 7, 5, and 2 and a half. We all laugh out loud at the silly bits: the speed bumps, stealing bits off of each others cars etc etc. We love it when they convert the cars with A-Team inspired music. And as a father I feel my kids are learning something about other countries so its educational really.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
3 child like men who live a life of cars true to every word they tell us of an age where are greatest moment was the CAR how fast it could travel, how wonderful to drive, sod the fuel just drive like big kids with evil car. That bring a spark of love back into mylife where a true monster of young petrol head use to live, has been awokend. By 3 very bad men who have turn my life into the fast car man once again. THANK YOU PLUS GREAT CHALLAGE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)