Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars897
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
The first 25 minutes of the film sets it up for the action. We return to 1999 when Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) ignores Aldrich Killian (Guy Pearce) a young genius in order to spend time with a conquest (Rebecca Hall). Years later a terrorist called Mandarin (Ben Kinsley) appears on TV. Meanwhile Tony is working on a device to call his suit to him. Stark comes under attack as the subplots collide.

On the scale of films I rate this above the second Iron Man feature, but below the first one and of course "The Avengers" which raised the bar.

In this movie there are references to the Avengers, or "super friends" and the worm hole, but they don't play a role. There were lines in this film written for us older guys such as "You like that West World" something even the hip youngsters might miss. Iron Man is aided by Don Cheadle and a kid from Tennessee (Ty Simpkins). I was also glad to see Gwyneth Paltrow's role expanded.

A good one to see on the big screen and a must addition to an Avengers collection.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
There are some actors simply born to play a particular role: one thinks of Harrison Ford's Han Solo, Christopher Reeves in the original Superman movie, Will Ferrell's Ron Burgundy.

Add to that list Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark/Iron Man. Superhero fans knew they'd stumbled upon something special when Downey first appeared as ol' Shell Head back in 2008, but back then there was a certain Christopher Nolan superhero trilogy at the top of its game, and Iron Man spent that summer playing second fiddle.

Five years later, and with the massive success of Avengers Assemble prompting fans to give Iron Man (and its limp sequel) a fresh viewing, Iron Man 3 finds Downey on top of his game in the role of the smooth-talking, fast-living Stark.

Except, of course, that Tony is not so fast and smooth this time round, having been knocked off his stride by the shocking experiences of The Battle of New York in Avengers. As Tony himself surmises: "gods, aliens? I'm just a man in a can"

It is this originality in character development that provides much of the bristle and bounce to IM3. Tony's humanity, limitations and vulnerability become the focus of the story, as he considers what matters most to him in life and what it really means for him to be "Iron Man". His soul-searching is entirely believable and at times touching, particularly in scenes with Gwyneth Paltrow's Pepper Pots. Impressive stuff for a comic book flick.

But fans of the fast talk and ferocious action needn't fear: it's still here in abundance, and IM3 is no less a joy ride than was Avengers Assemble or the original Iron Man film (the less said about IM2, the better). Bringing the threat in outing no. 3 is Ben Kingsley's The Mandarin, a vague and chilling talking head who is claiming responsibility for a spate of recent terrorist attacks. Added to that is the appearance of Guy Pearce's shady businessman, Aldrich Chillian, trying to smooth-talk his way into business with Pepper, and Tony has his hands full in a story that is all about what happens when he's stripped of his armour - in every sense of the word - and taken out of his comfort zone. How much of an "iron man" is he then?

The film bounces along nicely, director Shane Black succeeding where many Marvel directors have failed in striking a balance between character development and big action. Paltrow, Don Cheadle and Jon Favreau pitch in with good work in the supporting cast - not to mention newcomer Ty Simpkins, stealing scenes here and there as a little kid Tony meets along the way. Like Spider-man 2 and The Dark Knight trilogy, the film looks like a bright and colourful page from a comic book, with stunning vistas and impressive visual effects.

Niggles? One or two, mainly the Transformers-lite climax, where Tony bounces so quickly from one suit of armour to another that it's hard to keep up at times. What had been a very personal and dramatic film gets a bit lost in the robotic fisticuffs, but Downey is always on hand to lighten the mood with a zippy one liner. There are also some small plot-holes along the way, as well as the now-customary Marvel Cinematic Universe crossover winks and nudges, which are either playful or tiresome, depending on what mood you're in.

But none of that takes much away from a bouncy, bonkers, brilliant movie that keeps you watching and laughing all the way through. Downey is on top of his game here, and it's easily the best stand-alone Iron Man film of the series, as well as being some of Marvel's best work as the MCU continues to expand.

Sit back and enjoy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
This movie had some new ideas which were interesting but also brought the movie down.

1. After fighting Thor and those giant alien things in the 1st Avengers, his suit in this shouldn't have smashed to pieces when hit by a truck. It was kinda funny but also stupid. I believe in the comics he's called the invincible Iron Man, but in this movie he is completely destructible.

2. Ben Kingsley plays the villain extremely well and it's funny to hear him with a British accent, but unfortunately it was also annoying to find out he was only hired by Guy Pierce' character (I don't remember his name) to pretend to be the enemy. Kingsley was better than Pierce which is partly why the twist was very sad.

3. In the trailer you got to see a load of Iron Man suits which were helping Tony remotely, but they appear only at the end and get destroyed right after. A pretty big waste of time building them in the first place then.

4. Tony gives the villain his home address and then is surprised when the hunchmen show up and destroy it. Apparently Tony doesn't have good enough security to prevent this. Sure it made for a really cool action sequence but it was still very stupid.

This for me is one of the weakest in the Marvel series so far. I'm guessing a few others picked up on what I did, and I wanted to really like this movie, but instead it turned out to be one of those movies which I only watch to keep being filled in with overall character/story arc progress. I may not be a fan of the Tony Stark or Iron Man character but that's not the point. I was told this movie is better than the Avengers.........all I can say is it could have been.
Iron Man 1 is still better.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 May 2013
I think this is the best "Iron Man" until now! I liked it and, even more important (and quite incredible in fact), my wife liked it even MORE! Below you will find more of my impressions. This review in principle is FREE OF SPOILERS.

"Iron Man 3" is a merry, cheerful adventure, very fast paced, with excellent fighting scenes, but mostly relying on humor and excellent dialogs, full of typicall Tony Stark's jokes, half acid, half bitter but always pretty funny. Quite obviously this film has for only ambition to entertain us - and it succeeds in doing just that.

The story is mostly about Tony's past coming back to kick him in the butt with the maximum speed and strength, forcing him to visit places even more exotic than the wormhole in "Avengers", like deep ocean and rural Tennessee - and no more will be said. There are some darker moments, but general mood of this film is light - this is an amusement ride, not the voyage to the heart of the darkness.

Robert Downey Jr offers here to his public a spotless, brilliant performance, even better than in previous parts and "Avengers" - and honestly, I think here he is even better (funnier) than in his "Sherlock Holmes" franchise.

Gwyneth Paltrow is a very, very beautiful woman - but in this film she is much more than that. She is HOT, she is smoking hot, she is burning hot, she is lava hot, she literally bursts in flames so hot she is, in fact she is so hot that by moments she outshines the principal hero...))) No, for real, it is not an exaggeration - I will even hasard an opinion that in this film she reaches the degree of hotness never before attained by any other Hollywood actress...)))

Guy Pearce does well in this film. The character of Tony Stark's loyal bodyguard named Happy plays an important role. There are also some more hot bad guys and girls involved.

Dora the Explorer makes a short but remarkable appearance in her debut on the big screen - but nothing more will be said. And no, this is not a joke!

But it is Ben Kingsley, who plays the "Mandarin" who completely steals the show once we arrive to his evil den, which is a place of vile infamy, maleficent plots, decadent delights and rotten corruption so infamous on so many levels that it defies imagination! Believe me, in whole history of cinematographic villains, you have never seen a place so abominably unique as the horrifying hostile heretic hideous hidden hideout of "Mandarin"! And the lord and master of this place matches it in infect depravation!

Very exceptionally for a Hollywood super blockbuster, this film is not offensive to French or Muslims. No, really. I am serious.

As I already stated above, this film is so good, that my wife, who usually is not at all into comic books and/or superheroes almost died laughing and she actually thanked me for taking her to see it (and that doesn't happen often!). Therefore I recommend it without hesitation for a viewing with your wife or girlfriend - this should be a very pleasant common experience.

I will say nothing more here. Go see it in the cinema as long as it still plays - and me, I think I will definitely buy the DVD as soon as it is available! Enjoy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 9 May 2015
This film came across and generally fantastic and a real eye opener. Where the superhero was stretched to this extent, but a definite nope to 5 stars. The ending made no logical sence for the future of marvel films. It would of been perfect, if preserved for any fanalie Marvel film, so it's magor flaw was just the fact it came in too early for the Marvel series. I think the rest of the play worked out great. The powers of the enemy looked inlogical too but as long as the production played it to the comics then they have my respect..... ending plot was wrong though.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 January 2015
I loved the first two Iron Man films. In fact I have loved at the time of writing this ever Marvel studios made film, except this one. Iron Man 3 was such a huge disappointment from start to finish I found it difficult to even wonder how it happened though the change of director from Jon Favreau to Shane Black who also had a part in the script as the most likely culprit.

So where to start? At the start. The first song that played was Eiffel 65 - Blue during the opening credits. What happened to AC/DC? The soundtrack for the whole film was pretty bad, even the original score was lacking any memorable moments.

That on it's own couldn't truly ruin the film but sadly it's not the only problem this movie has. The storyline follows on from the events of Marvels Avengers with Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr) being rather traumatized at the events, struggling to sleep building dozens of new Iron Man suits. During all this a terrorist known as the Mandarin (Ben Kingsley) rises making threats at Stark.

The story makes a mockery of the beloved Iron Man villain the Mandarin in what, I assume, Shane Black thought was a clever way and while I praise Ben Kingsley's performance in the role I found it insulting and pointless. On the other half they integrate the Extremis storyline from the comics as well as Tony Stark's ability to remote control suits from his armoury but what should have been a pretty thunderous finale simply turned into a dull thud when his suits were as useful as paper dolls. There were special effects everywhere at the end but it felt so hollow.

So much of the film was also surprisingly slow. The idea of the film was to focus on the character of Stark rather than Iron Man but I feel they forgot Stark is Iron Man. In both Iron Man 1 & 2 they manage to develop both Stark and the other characters without bogging it down yet the reverse is true here, I feel they tried too hard and they lost the charm the first film had, even Robert Downey Jr could only carry it so far.

All in all I really didn't like it, I would go so far to say I hated it in fact, I was bored in fact for most of it. As a non comic book fan or casual movie goer I can see how people may enjoy it but to me it's just a blemish on Marvel's record.

Not recommended.

+ Robert Downey Jr and Ben Kinsley are superb.

- Music is terrible.
- Made a mockery of the Mandarin for fans.
- Wasted the Extremis storyline.
- Finale went out with a pop, not a bang.
- Felt slow.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on 30 January 2014
Iron Man 3 (IM3) is a somewhat tricky film to review, as, looked at in isolation, it's not a terrible movie, nor a great one, it's simply okay, but has some smart dialogue some decent action sequences and the odd good twist. However, you can't looked at it in isolation, neither what has gone before in the film franchise, nor, crucially, from the source material.

For the casual viewer what IM3 does in it's limping away from what has gone before on screen is uncomfortable. Yes, the film nods vaguely in the direction of the first two and at The Avengers, but it never truly handles them well. It's really just a cursory glance at what has gone before in order that it can tell it's own story. That would be fine, truly fine, if the story it wanted to tell was worth it. But it isn't the story of IM3 (nerd rage + vengeance = Tony's screwed) is poor. The jokes are okay, but hardly worth the cost by themselves. Indeed, without the brilliance in a can which is Robert Downey Jr. I suspect that it would have been a disaster.

The biggest problem is Shane Black's utter disregard for the source material. The very particular run of comics from which this film was hewn (the run of six following the extremis storyline by Warren Ellis) is one of the best in the whole of Iron Man. It combines excellent writing, fascinating political, philosophical and moral arguments and some quite brilliant action. It presents us with a different type of villain, one who's motivations make a whole lot more sense that that which Guy Pierce was given (Lord above I feel sorry for Pierce in this role). I mean why bother telling the Extremis story if you're going to do this with it? Why on earth do we need to use Extremis at all? Any macguffin would do. So why use Extremis which is so much more than that? It honestly saddens me, as if it had been done properly this would have been head and shoulders the best film in the franchise. Deeply troubling with an horrifically sharp edge, but brilliant.

It would seem though that Shane Black doesn't give a damn about any concept which the audience might find difficult to grasp so he gave us this meh-mess of a movie, with some sharp dialogue and a couple of decent action scenes.

It's sad.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 19 December 2014
poor film other two far better
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
A good film but with one fatal flaw the mandarin is a bumbling idiot he could have been so much better given the chance but in this film Shane black turns him into a puppet which turned a great film into a good film. Also at £13.99 after being out for two years its expensive as like I say it isn't a great film wait for it to come down in price if you want to buy it as it really isn't worth the money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 12 January 2015
This was okay but this is the third film in this franchise I'm realy not sure there should be a fourth .
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Iron Man [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Iron Man [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Robert Downey Jr (Blu-ray - 2013)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.