Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

614
4.6 out of 5 stars
The Croods [DVD] [2013]
Format: DVDChange
Price:£3.00+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
.

This is a film, which is set in prehistoric Pliocene era known as;

"The Croodaceous"

Took my 47 year old, to quench her need for to see a “cutesy” prehistoric animation, I must say I was pleasantly surprised the film was rather good. This is a very good cross-generational film that will appeal to children as well as adults – it has universal appeal. The narrative is engaging and the animation is some the best I have seen lately. The narrative deals with the “Croods”, and is a primeval comedy undertaking that follows the world's first family as they embark on a voyage of a lifetime, when the cave that has always safeguarded them from danger is demolished. Trekking across a remarkable landscape, the Croods discover an unbelievable new world filled with fantastic creatures.

As another reviewer has said the story is quite funny in the way it deals with fear of the unknown, being alone and life in general when you trying just to survive to the next day. For us it was a kind of rib-tickling, emotionally satisfying film. Your inner child should really like this film, well worth a very good five stars. I must say my 47 year old was very well behaved!

******* Update 19th August 2015 *******

It appears that a Croods part 2 is in the works for around 2017.

.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
on 25 March 2013
I took my family to see this film - age range of 9-65 and everyone came out saying how much they had enjoyed it. We have seen loads of animated films and thought we had seen it all, but this proved we haven't. There is plenty to be amused by and the story is interesting - the scene when the family are introduced to fire is really funny (the character is advised to hide from it in the tall dry grass) but there is one scene involving the dad which is quite moving (my 10 year old was crying). The basic story is that our cave family is the only one left in the area and the father has taken an overly-cautious approach to life to keep the family safe making them spend a lot of time closed in their cave. The daughter is bored and frustrated and one night sneaks out of the cave and finds a boy who can make fire. He tells her the end of the world is coming and the action begins from there after the familys cave is destroyed. Should they trust the new boy and follow him to the mountains or keep with the fathers idea of finding a new cave to hide in? The ensuing journey has plenty of ups and downs along the way and there's the message about sometimes taking risks in life to make it better. Visually the film is stunning, the animation is fantastic and I highly recommend it.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 January 2015
At this point I am pretty cynical when it comes to CGI cartoons on the big screen. Once upon a time it was the genius of Pixar and the entertainment of DreamWorks Animation. However, with these animations making more money than most live action films the number of them have increased and not always the quality. DreamWorks themselves have had a few dodgy films in their back catalogue so watching ‘The Croods’ was no guarantee. Thankfully, although it may lack some of the intelligence of the best modern animations, this is a heartfelt, colourful and fun entry.

‘The Croods’ centres around the titular family of Neanderthal people who have only managed to survive by hiding in their cave. When the cave is no longer an option they are forced to seek new ground with the aid of Guy, a Homosapien and is belt. The film is a mixture of coming of age (Ice Age) and family drama. It is the relationships between the family that makes the film fun; the protective father, overbearing grandmother, adventurous daughter etc. The dynamic is a very modern feeling one, but transported back to a lost age full of danger. It is amusing watching the naïve Croods barely managing to stay alive.

As well as having great chemistry, the film also looks extremely lush. The setting of an alternative Age means that colours and creations explode onto the screen. The makers have created many made up animals for the film that look brilliant in BluRay and are different from the norm – almost Suessian. Voice acting wise the cast do well, even Nicholas Cage seems to fit as the father. He is able to bring a bit of depth to the character which makes the finale far more powerful than it deserves to be. It is these final 20 minutes or so that really make the film as the relationships in the family are truly tested. It is credit to the film makers that you care about the Croods and their happiness. With some great action set pieces and humour thrown in, this is the type of quality CGI film that both children and adults can enjoy.

As mentioned the visuals are spectacular and would really benefit from being in HD. There are several versions of the film available; the one I saw had a fair few decent extras that covered several areas of making the film, as well as some fun activities for younger viewers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
This is an animated tale of a teen girl and her natural desire to explore the world and the angst that it causes the father who wants to keep the family safe in a cave...in this case it is not a metaphor. Emma Stone was perfect for our on screen teen girl Eep, complete with her signature cracking voice. The world around them is falling apart and their only chance for survival is to follow the new Guy (Ryan Reynolds) to the objection of Grug (Nicolas Cage).

In spite of what sounds like an adult theme, it is aimed at the kids. The comedy is slapstick and simple jokes. The animals are wildly colorful so as to not be frightening as they chase humans. As an adult I didn't find the film boring, yet its lack of depth allowed me to have frequent breaks and not miss any plot points. Eep provides girls with a positive role model, something that is becoming the norm in these animated sagas.

Cloris Leachman played the voice of Gran, most likely because Betty White was too busy playing football. Great film for the kids, so-so for adults.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on 3 April 2013
Animation is breathtaking. The opening scene is mesmerising. The humour flows from one scene to the next. There is laughter, sadness, tension and joy.
One of the best films of the year so far. Definite ten out of ten. I would say that younger viewers may get scared, so be careful to sit with the little ones as the end scenes approach.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 22 January 2014
THE CROODS [2013] [Deluxe Limited Edition] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray + DVD + DigitalHD] [US Import] One of the Best Animated Movies We’ve Ever Seen! Meet The First Modern Family!

Join the Croods on the journey of a lifetime in the epic comedy-adventure, that has the magical wonder of ‘How To Train Your Dragon.’ When their cave is destroyed, the Croods set out to explore a spectacular landscape filled with fantastic creatures, strange surprises, and a whole new world of adventure!

Voice Cast: Nicolas Cage, Emma Stone, Ryan Reynolds, Catherine Keener, Clark Duke, Cloris Leachman, Chris Sanders and Randy Thom

Directors: Chris Sanders and Kirk De Micco

Producers: Jane Hartwell and Kristine Belson

Screenplay: Chris Sanders and Kirk DeMicco

Composer: Alan Silvestri

Cinematography: Yong Duk Jhun and Roger Deakins [Visual Consultant]

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, Spanish: 5.1 Dolby Digital, French: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Russian: 5.1 DTS, Estonian: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Latvian: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Lithuanian: 5.1 Dolby Digital and Ukrainian: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English SDH, French, Spanish, Estonian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Russian and Ukrainian

Running Time: 96 minutes

Region: Region A/1

Number of discs: 3

Studio: DreamWorks Animation

Andrew's Blu-ray Review: ‘The Croods’ is a surreal, heart-warming and an intelligent animated adventure-comedy and is just a typical caveman day out, especially showing us the eponymous family of Neanderthals that is forced to leave the relative safety of their cave. This animation cartoon via DreamWorks, is the definition of a sometimes hit-or-miss animation studio. 'Rise of the Guardians' was superb in both substance and style, especially likes of 'Puss in Boots' 3D [that I thought was totally awesome], whereas 'Madagascar 3' and their most recent dreadful animation 'Turbo' have all been definitely thumbs down, big time! At some point all the CGI children's animation films that come out nowadays, sort of blend together. But the occasional release stands out, and it is usually a PIXAR production, but even that's an iffy prospect these days, but mostly it feels like a whole lot of sameness. Most of them are colourful, have simple plots, and have a few funny moments.

Anyway, we're in prehistoric times and the Croods are a loveable family of Neanderthals trying to do what every Neanderthal is trying to do, not get killed. It's a dangerous world out there, so the Croods tend to stay inside their cave cowering in fear. As Grug Crood [Nicolas Cage], papa caveman of this clan, always says, "Never not be afraid." The Croods family is taught that curiosity is just about the most dangerous thing a caveman can have, so of course their daughter Eep [Emma Stone] is naturally curious. A good old strained father-daughter relationship is brewing here. But, the movie wouldn't be complete without a few comedic generic characters like the sassy grandmother [Cloris Leachman], the doltish son [Clark Duke], the congenial mother (Catherine Keener), the wacky baby, and the loveable stranger [Ryan Reynolds]. Now that they've got the formula down it's time to run the characters through the predictable paces, picking up a few zany animal friends along the way.

So, now you know what you're in for. As far as a children's animation film goes, there's much worse out there than 'The Croods.' At least the animation is absolutely stunningly and at the same time brilliant to look at. No matter that none of the animals featured appear to have come from this planet since not one of them appears to fit into the evolutionary chain at all. Giant flying turtles, land whales with stubby legs walking around in the desert, and leafy elephants just to name a few of the stranger creations in this film.

At some point you just have to say, "Hey, if it makes Junior happy, I'm in." As far as competing with the strongest entries in the DreamWorks catalogue, 'The Croods' is great. The hardnosed father is taught a lesson by his spunky young daughter in acceptance and living life to the fullest. In turn, she discovers that maybe her dad really does care about her and all that paranoid parenting actually meant something.

That said, there's some really fun animation in this film. It's as if they said, screw the geological record, we're making our own evolutionary creations. Because of the inventiveness of the world of 'The Croods' and the creativity applied in the animation, the animation film rises above the other formulaic children's films. Not by much, but enough that it stands out among the rest.

The comedy only gets more inspired and idiosyncratic. While most new cartoons feel as if they've been assembled by committee, the only credited writers and directors here are Chris Sanders and Kirk De Micco, plus, intriguingly, John Cleese, who worked on early drafts of the screenplay and their humour, shines through. They even get laughs from mother-in-law jokes and a banana-skin pratfall, despite those chestnuts being Stone Age. It is also on par with the other brilliant Oscar® winning PIXAR/Disney animation cartoon ‘Brave’ that is also a stunning 3D Blu-ray disc.

Blu-ray Video Quality – `The Croods' looks absolutely stunning in 3D and there's nearly no difference in brightness or definition between this version and the stand alone 2D image (also included in this set). Colours are just as bold, details are just as fine. The image never appears any darker in 3D, which is a big plus, particularly in the film's more naturally darker scenes. Details still look incredible, right down to the finest terrain textures, whether gritty earthen elements or lush natural vegetation. The 3D effects are brilliant. General depth impresses me greatly. The transfer shows off the sprawling landscapes really good, again both the rocky lands to start and the more colourful vegetation areas later. Shots down on the ground are particularly impressive in terms of realistic spacing and depth. A few odds and ends do stand out; animal beaks and noses sometimes seem to extended beyond the front of the screen, while dust particles and other floating objects on the air seems to drift far back into and well out of the screen. Very little of the dreaded "crosstalk" effect was visible throughout the animation film. Overall, this is a brilliant 3D transfer.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – This 3D animation film is provided with a 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio mix, 'The Croods' matches the exceptionality of its video presentation with its audio. This is an immersive, entertaining audio mix that sucks you in and never lets you go. There are plenty of examples where the movie's sound design makes great use of the seven channels. The opening chase scene where the Croods attempt to procure breakfast by stealing an egg and uses every channel in its arsenal. The action zooms from one speaker to another. The sound travels flawlessly back and forth through the sound field. There are other moments, like when the earth starts cracking up, where the surround takes hold, providing deep, rumbling bass. Explosions of lava and smoke erupt from the earth's surface, causing the sub-woofer to roar. The rear channels are equally impressive. The soundscape of 'The Croods' prehistoric world is a lively one. Once they enter the jungle the rear channels are alive with all sorts of far off jungle noises. This is an extremely interactive audio presentation and it is definitely one that the whole family will enjoy.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Special Feature: The Croodaceous Creatures of Croods [1080p] [8:00] A lightly interactive supplement in which two of the film's characters teach audiences about the various creatures in the film through voiceover, graphics, clips from the film, animated drawings, and more. Included is the Bear Owl [0:43], the Piranhakeet [0:38], Belt [0:37], the Liyote [0:29], the Punch Monkey [0:45], the Turtle Dove [0:43], the Turkeyfish [0:42], the Girelephant [0:33] and the Sharkodile [0:42].

Special Feature: Belt's Cave Journal [1080p] [6:15] Guy shares his companion Belt's history with the help of some basic simple animation.

Special Feature: Croods' Cuts: Lost Scenes [1080p] [8:00] A Writers/Directors Chris Sanders and Kirk DeMicco introduction [0:25] is followed by the following deleted scenes: Crazy Grug [2:36], It's Rain [3:08], It's a Great Cave [1:09] and Termites [1:15]. The filmmakers also introduce each scene and explain why scenes were removed from the final cut. Some scenes appear in a very basic state of progression.

Special Feature: Be An Artist [1080p] [35:00] An introduction [0:17] to the supplement with Supervising Animator Sean Sexton is followed by his lessons on how to draw the following characters from the film: Belt [12:00], Macawnivore [15:22] and Mousephant [7:45].

Theatrical Trailer [2013] [1080p] [2:11] Here we have the original ‘The Croods’ trailer.

Sneak Peeks [1080p] Previews for `Turbo' [2:26], `Shrek the Musical' [1:03], `Epic,' various Holiday-themed films including the DreamWorks Holiday Classics collection, and `Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters.'

World of DreamWorks Animation [1080p] Titbits from `Shrek,' `Madagascar,' `How to Train Your Dragon' and `Kung Fu Panda.'

DVD Copy [Standard Definition]

DigitalHD Copy [For Portable Media Players]

Finally, `The Croods' offers a hugely satisfying animated film experience, particularly beyond the fairy-tale and predictable superficial dynamics. Under the surface is warm, welcoming story, a fun, honest, heartfelt tale of discovery, of satisfaction, of accepting new things, of understanding the greater world. It's a very sweet and touching experience amidst all of the humour, most of which hits and none of which falls completely flat. To be sure, there's not much room to reinvent the wheel, in this case, being the modern Family animated film, but there's something to be said for sprucing it up and getting the most out of its capabilities, which `The Croods' does very well. The DreamWorks Animation Blu-ray 3D release of `The Croods' delivers an awesome 2D picture as well. The 3D transfer and the amazing sound are a brilliant factor to purchase this 3D extravaganza. A very nice array of extras are included, and the animation is sure to leave audiences of all ages extremely satisfied and all in all I was so happy to get this brilliant 3D package and has gone pride of place in my Blu-ray 3D Collection. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 7 January 2014
I missed this one at the cinema but was looking forward to finally seeing it when my Blu-ray arrived, this was a pretty long wait though as for some unknown reason, the release date kept being put back. When it did finally arrive, just in time to wrap it up for my son for Christmas, I wasn't so excited to see it.
Today my son and I were ill and he picked this one out to watch and I have to say I was totally surprised at how much I loved it.As the credits rolled I had a huge smile on my face and tears in my eyes, I will definitely be giving it a second viewing very soon.
The animation of The Croods is beautiful, I only wish we had seen it in 3D as I'm sure it would look amazing. The story is good, although it takes a few ideas from Ice Age, I didn't know how it would all end and it had us both glued to the screen. The characters were all great as were the voices but I particularly liked Grug (voiced by Nicolas Cage), Guy voiced by Ryan Reynolds,the cute and funny 'Belt' and Eep (voiced by Emma Stone).
I love Dreamworks films and it's hard to criticize any of their work in my opinion, there are some stand out films such as Shrek and of course Madagascar but they always seem to get it right, this film proves that further, it is one of the best animated pictures I have seen in a while, kids and grown ups are sure to love it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
The Croods is a 2013 American 3D computer-animated adventure comedy film produced by DreamWorks Animation and distributed by 20th Century Fox. It features the voices of Nicolas Cage, Emma Stone, Ryan Reynolds, Catherine Keener, Clark Duke, and Cloris Leachman. The film is set in a fictional prehistoric Pliocene era known as The Croodaceous, a period which contains fantastical creatures, when a man's position as a "Leader of the Hunt" is threatened by the arrival of a prehistoric genius who comes up with revolutionary new inventions, like fire, as they trek through a dangerous but exotic land in search of a new home.

The Croods was written and directed by Kirk DeMicco and Chris Sanders, and produced by Kristine Belson and Jane Hartwell.[5] The film premiered at the 63rd Berlin International Film Festival on February 15, 2013,[6] and was released in the United States on March 22, 2013.[7] As part of the distribution deal, this film is the first from DreamWorks Animation to be distributed by 20th Century Fox, since the end of their distribution deal with Paramount Pictures.[8]

The Croods received generally positive reviews, and proved to be a box office success, earning more than $587 million on a budget of $135 million,[4] and launching a new franchise, with a sequel and TV series already put in development
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 1 June 2015
Allah Almighty has created all human being free and equal. We should not have to act or imitate to make a living in the society. If somebody does not appreciate our truthfulness, honesty, straightforwardness, boldness, and decency then we should reject them before they reject us. A girl should not require a "Guy" to guide her to the stars like a saint. Every girl in the world just like the "guys" should have the required freedom of mind to rise to the stars on her own without any expectation from a "guy" taking care of her. We cannot allow ourselves to be contained by fear, just as we cannot allow ourselves to be driven by fear. We got to have a mind free of all fear, greed, lust, or hatred; and try and reach out to the stars ourselves. We need to leave everybody alone to be whatever they want to be, just as we should ensure that others leave us alone to be whatever we want to be. Freedom of mind is a prerequisite to protection of honour, dignity, self-respect, and pride that define us as a human being as well as defines our boundaries and arms us with the required modesty that protects us from abuse and exploitation. A childish concept, but it is only meant for children in any case. Otherwise very interesting and eye-catching.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 3 October 2013
This film, to start with, is a great family which I believe the whole family will enjoy.
I went to see this film in the cinema with my three other friends (aged between 17 and 20!) We all thought this film was one of the best animated films we have seen! I thought the plot was great and I especially like the banter between the dad and the gran which is on going throughout the film. There is a lot of humour, thrilling and emotional moments which makes it a great family film.
I have rated this 5 stars because I thoroughly enjoyed it and will be pre-ordering it so I can watch it again and again!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Epic [DVD]
Epic [DVD] by Amanda Seyfried (DVD - 2013)
£3.00

Rise of the Guardians [DVD]
Rise of the Guardians [DVD] by Chris Pine (DVD - 2013)
£3.00

The House of Magic [DVD]
The House of Magic [DVD] by Jeremy Degruson (DVD - 2014)
£2.99
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.