Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars449
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on 19 December 2013
This film is a hilarious story of a drug dealers journey with his 'family' to try and cross the Mexican border without being caught. When i got it, i thought it would be like the other American comedies which are quite funny, but not amazing, but I was wrong!! We're the Millers is a very funny film, it actually made me laugh out loud on several occasion, something other 'comedy' films have failed to do. As soon as i had watched it i was recommending it to my friends as it certainly will not let you down. It is perfect for young adults and teenagers, or really anybody that likes a laugh, so i would definitely recommend you buy it, it has definitely made it to my top 3 films of 2013!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on 27 August 2013
Dave (Jason Sudeikis) is a small time drug dealer who finds himself in trouble. In order to square things, he agrees to travel to Mexico and smuggle back drugs. To make passage easier he creates a family illusion with the formulas misfits. Rose (Jennifer Aniston) is a stripper who just quit her job and can't pay her rent. Kenny (Will Poulter) is the inexperienced neighbor boy abandoned by his mother. Casey (Emma Roberts) is a homeless girl who hangs out in the neighborhood.

Of course they get into trouble along the way. The plot of the film wasn't over powering. The comedy was watching these dysfunctional people come together as a family, even if it is just a mock family. The humor is often crude (It's a skateboard!) with Aniston reviving some of her potty mouth from "Horrible Bosses."

There were some laughable moments, but overall it is a soft 4 stars.

On the perv factor...the Aniston striptease which comes near the end was designed to be hot as she peels down to her undergarments. However, the truth be told, Demi Moore was better and bolder. There I said it.

Parental Guidance: Plenty of F-bombs, crude talk and humor. No sex. Brief male Internet nudity. Women bra/panties.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
We're the Millers is the tale of small-time pot-dealer David (Jason Sudeikis - Horrible Bosses) who gets mugged and loses his takings. In debt to his sharp-suited and manic supplier Brad Gurlinger (Ed Helms - The Hangover) he is tasked with making a run down to Mexico to pick up 'a smidge' of weed. Initially unconvinced, David comes up with the brilliant idea of making it look like a family holiday by recruiting neighbour/stripper Rose (Jennifer Anniston, also from Horrible Bosses) local kid Kenny (Will Poulter - Wild Bill) and homeless girl Casey (Emma Roberts - It's Kind of a Funny Story). As the quartet make their way home from Mexico in their huge Recreational Vehicle, they make bumbling mistakes that may just cost them their freedom, can 'The Millers' make it home?

At first glance, there may not be a lot to WTM - it's a pretty stupid plot that has been done in some form or another before, it plays up on the Mexican cliché that everyone either is, or is employed by, a drug dealer and all the police are corrupt. Actually whilst we're on that note; the Mexican policeman is brilliantly played by Luis Guzmán (Waiting) and he had me in stitches for his bit-part. Where WTM really comes into it's own and stands out is that everyone plays their roles so fantastically - they are all well suited to their parts. Will Poulter is the star of the show here, not only donning a convincing American accent for the duration, but really providing a tangible emotional range for the other characters to play off of.

We see stripper Rose (Anniston) get slightly maternal and look after the kids, even man-child David has some character development and by the end, I was genuinely laughing at the gags and cared for the characters in the 110 minute bit. Sure, it's a bit stupid in places and the drug-dealers are total clichés but as long as you come at this expecting an innocuous, light-hearted film, the character development will take you by surprise and you will be genuinely interested in their fates. When all this is set to a brilliant score and we get to see Jennifer Anniston do a little strip tease. What more could you want? Recommended!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 28 December 2013
It was very nice to watch something light and not too much blood and gore as most things these days
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 20 March 2014
We're The Millers is a strange one, its an amusing film with a bit of an identitiy crisis.

Jason Sudeikis plays a small time drug smuggler who enlists a pretend family to smuggle drugs across the border. There are some relatively dark themes here, the family is made up of a stripper, drug dealer, homeless teenager and a young lad seemingly abandoned by his mother. None of these themes are really explored though, what ensues is a largely slapstick Hollywood comedy. The basic plot doesnt come to much, its a loose frame to hang the gags on. And there are plenty of gags, many of them hit the mark, some dont but the ratio is pretty good.Theres a feelgood message in there as well about the importance of family in our lives etc, perhaps the film could have been even funnier if it went with the darker edge instead.

Sudeikis is as watchable as ever in the lead role. And yes Jennifer Aniston plays a stripper. And yes there is a erm interesting strip tease scene. I'll leave the rest to your imagination (unless you watch the flick).

Worth a watch for fans of The Hangover and Horrible Bosses etc. If you do, stick around for the gag reel at the end.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 3 January 2014
A must see movie, likeable characters, great script, compulsive viewing - lots to make you laugh and smile - a real FEEL GOOD MOVIE ! Watch it, you will not be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 December 2013
Singleton David Clark (Sudeikis) is a successful low level drug dealer, until he is robbed & left in big trouble with his supplier Brad Gurdlinger (Helms). However, Brad has a way that David can make it all upto him, by heading into Mexico & bringing back a 'smidge' of weed. Thinking it's an impossible task getting past the boarder patrol, the chance meeting with a camper van family , gives him an idea, who would suspect an ordinary family of smuggling ?! Hiring a few acquaintances in Kenny (Poulter) the nerd in his building, stripper Rose (Aniston) & a punk homeless girl Casey (Roberts), they set off on the road trip, that as you guessed, is going to anything but straight forward.

Essentially, We're The Millers, is an adult road trip comedy that's story is predictable, but manages to bring some interesting idea's to the table & is hilarious throughout to compensate. The trip brings together these oddball characters that all have some issue in they're lives that means they are all alone & looking for a distraction/solution to they're problems. They are very likable in different ways as they each have a flaw, and initially they all dislike each other. But as the road trip goes on, through funny situations, life lessons & near death experiences, they begin to enjoy the fact of being a family, and it's when they are together as a family unit that they seem to fill that hole they were missing in they're life, which none of them will admit, obviously. A special mention for the the music, it was upbeat & amazingly well picked for the situations throughout.

Jason Sudeikis (Horrible Bosses) really impresses as his self obsessed drug dealer character whose loner lifestyle finds it hard to adjust to family life, until he cant live without them. This is without doubt the best performance iv'e seen him produce, his range of verbal delivery & facial expressions are hilarious. It doesn't end there though, as the chemistry with his co-stars is electric. Jennifer Aniston (Just Go With It) plays one of her now fine tuned roles, as she smolders as sexy stripper Rose & her grasp of comedy as the sexy & strong Sarah, combine to produce some hilarious, more subtle situations playing off Sudeikis, while they make no bones about her being used in some sexy routines, attested by Mr Sudeikis cheeky glance to camera at one point. Emma Roberts (Nancy Drew) as street punk Casey, added the rebellious daughter figure to aplomb, although disappointingly her script seemed to have her dropping F-bombs every other word. Will Poulter (Wild Bill) was funny as the inexperienced, nerdy Kenny. The lucky little so & so get's to smooch Jennifer & Emma at the same time (so jealous). Also co-stars in good support, Kathryn Hahn (Step Brothers), Nick Offerman (Parks & Recreation), Ed Helms (The Hangover) & man mountain Matthew Willig. While the beautiful & intelligent Molly Quinn (Castle) seemed miscast & Tomer Sisley (The Burma Conspiracy) wasn't overly belivable in the baddie role.

In conclusion, We're The Millers is an hilarious, silly road trip with a mixture of adult comedy & heartfelt family unit bonding. Contains strong language & mature themes/scenes of a sexual nature throughout.Recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 11 March 2014
Must watch this.i bought this for my daughter as she said it was really funny.must admit I'm not a film lover but watched it with my 15 yr old daughter and must say it was absolutely great we laughted and laughted, going to watch again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 November 2013
We're the Millers reunites Jason Sudeikis, former SNL regular, and Jennifer Aniston who both starred in Horrible Bosses.

A low level pot dealer played by Sudeikis runs into inventory issues, and has to put together an unlikely family of misfits, which includes a down on her luck stripper (Aniston), a homeless girl (Emma Roberts), and a virgin to pose as a family of smugglers who can get across the border without attracting suspicion. Good luck.

Complications, and numerous adventures occur, and is the stripper hard hearted, or does she have a heart of gold?

What impressed me most in watching this movie was Sudeikis' vast improvement and his presence and charisma in the movie.

In previous movies he has been the also ran among greater stars, but here he occasionally displays a charisma reminiscent of George Clooney in his comedy roles, and I think this movie will prove to be a major breakthrough role for him, and put him on the map as a leading actor.

Jennifer Aniston displays her usual comedy skills, and there are a couple of raunchy stripper scenes which display her physique very well. Emma Roberts, Julia Roberts niece, shows that that she is a creditable actress in her own right. There are a number of awkward and highly inventive situations developed to great comedic effect, and to tell you more might ruin the spontaneity of your experience.

Our two main stars will also be appearing in the Horrible Bosses sequel due out next year.

I think most people will enjoy this movie, and I hope this was helpful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
I loved this. David is (unwillingly) a drug smuggler, because he's had all his money stolen and the only way he can satisfy his main creditor is by going from the US to Mexico and picking up a cache of drugs.

But how can he avoid appearing suspicious to the border authorities? Answer: rent an RV and a pretend family (mom, son & daughter), and pose as a family of holidaymakers ("The Millers").

Though there's inevitably a small amount of violence/adventure, this is chiefly a thriller ("How will he get away with it?") and a comedy (all the actors are great improvisers and there are some great laughs). But there's a serious message too: do we live in a world where in order to be trusted (cf. politicians) you have to be part of a 'nuclear' family - and, if so, how on earth did that come about?

The end of the movie is unexpected, unpredictable, but pretty satisfying.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Bad Neighbours [DVD]
Bad Neighbours [DVD] by Seth Rogen (DVD - 2014)

The Heat [DVD]
The Heat [DVD] by Sandra Bullock (DVD - 2013)

The Other Woman [DVD]
The Other Woman [DVD] by Cameron Diaz (DVD - 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.