Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
527
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 2013
This film is a hilarious story of a drug dealers journey with his 'family' to try and cross the Mexican border without being caught. When i got it, i thought it would be like the other American comedies which are quite funny, but not amazing, but I was wrong!! We're the Millers is a very funny film, it actually made me laugh out loud on several occasion, something other 'comedy' films have failed to do. As soon as i had watched it i was recommending it to my friends as it certainly will not let you down. It is perfect for young adults and teenagers, or really anybody that likes a laugh, so i would definitely recommend you buy it, it has definitely made it to my top 3 films of 2013!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
We're the Millers is the tale of small-time pot-dealer David (Jason Sudeikis - Horrible Bosses) who gets mugged and loses his takings. In debt to his sharp-suited and manic supplier Brad Gurlinger (Ed Helms - The Hangover) he is tasked with making a run down to Mexico to pick up 'a smidge' of weed. Initially unconvinced, David comes up with the brilliant idea of making it look like a family holiday by recruiting neighbour/stripper Rose (Jennifer Anniston, also from Horrible Bosses) local kid Kenny (Will Poulter - Wild Bill) and homeless girl Casey (Emma Roberts - It's Kind of a Funny Story). As the quartet make their way home from Mexico in their huge Recreational Vehicle, they make bumbling mistakes that may just cost them their freedom, can 'The Millers' make it home?

At first glance, there may not be a lot to WTM - it's a pretty stupid plot that has been done in some form or another before, it plays up on the Mexican cliché that everyone either is, or is employed by, a drug dealer and all the police are corrupt. Actually whilst we're on that note; the Mexican policeman is brilliantly played by Luis Guzmán (Waiting) and he had me in stitches for his bit-part. Where WTM really comes into it's own and stands out is that everyone plays their roles so fantastically - they are all well suited to their parts. Will Poulter is the star of the show here, not only donning a convincing American accent for the duration, but really providing a tangible emotional range for the other characters to play off of.

We see stripper Rose (Anniston) get slightly maternal and look after the kids, even man-child David has some character development and by the end, I was genuinely laughing at the gags and cared for the characters in the 110 minute bit. Sure, it's a bit stupid in places and the drug-dealers are total clichés but as long as you come at this expecting an innocuous, light-hearted film, the character development will take you by surprise and you will be genuinely interested in their fates. When all this is set to a brilliant score and we get to see Jennifer Anniston do a little strip tease. What more could you want? Recommended!
22 comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Dave (Jason Sudeikis) is a small time drug dealer who finds himself in trouble. In order to square things, he agrees to travel to Mexico and smuggle back drugs. To make passage easier he creates a family illusion with the formulas misfits. Rose (Jennifer Aniston) is a stripper who just quit her job and can't pay her rent. Kenny (Will Poulter) is the inexperienced neighbor boy abandoned by his mother. Casey (Emma Roberts) is a homeless girl who hangs out in the neighborhood.

Of course they get into trouble along the way. The plot of the film wasn't over powering. The comedy was watching these dysfunctional people come together as a family, even if it is just a mock family. The humor is often crude (It's a skateboard!) with Aniston reviving some of her potty mouth from "Horrible Bosses."

There were some laughable moments, but overall it is a soft 4 stars.

On the perv factor...the Aniston striptease which comes near the end was designed to be hot as she peels down to her undergarments. However, the truth be told, Demi Moore was better and bolder. There I said it.

Parental Guidance: Plenty of F-bombs, crude talk and humor. No sex. Brief male Internet nudity. Women bra/panties.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
It was very nice to watch something light and not too much blood and gore as most things these days
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
I was looking for a film to watch on a rainy Sunday afternoon and this fits the bill perfectly. It is not intellectually challenging and there isn't a complicated plot to try to keep track of.

The film follows a small time drug dealer who ends up owing a debt to a bigger drug dealer. To repay the debt he has to go to Mexico and pick up a small consignment of drugs. He hits on the idea of making it look like a family holiday and ropes in his stripper neighbour, the boy who lives in his apartment building and a seemingly homeless girl as his makeshift family. What follows is a standard road trip movie where they hire a big caravan type thing to blend in when trying to get back across the border. Along the way they meet another family who are travelling in a similar vehicle on a family holiday. It is this other family (the Fitzgeralds) that make the film for me and provide some real comic moments.

The film is full of the typical drug dealing stereotypes and the storyline is a little weak in places but there were a good few laugh out loud moments and it did its job of cheering up a dreary Sunday afternoon!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
Must watch this.i bought this for my daughter as she said it was really funny.must admit I'm not a film lover but watched it with my 15 yr old daughter and must say it was absolutely great we laughted and laughted, going to watch again.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 November 2013
We're the Millers reunites Jason Sudeikis, former SNL regular, and Jennifer Aniston who both starred in Horrible Bosses.

A low level pot dealer played by Sudeikis runs into inventory issues, and has to put together an unlikely family of misfits, which includes a down on her luck stripper (Aniston), a homeless girl (Emma Roberts), and a virgin to pose as a family of smugglers who can get across the border without attracting suspicion. Good luck.

Complications, and numerous adventures occur, and is the stripper hard hearted, or does she have a heart of gold?

What impressed me most in watching this movie was Sudeikis' vast improvement and his presence and charisma in the movie.

In previous movies he has been the also ran among greater stars, but here he occasionally displays a charisma reminiscent of George Clooney in his comedy roles, and I think this movie will prove to be a major breakthrough role for him, and put him on the map as a leading actor.

Jennifer Aniston displays her usual comedy skills, and there are a couple of raunchy stripper scenes which display her physique very well. Emma Roberts, Julia Roberts niece, shows that that she is a creditable actress in her own right. There are a number of awkward and highly inventive situations developed to great comedic effect, and to tell you more might ruin the spontaneity of your experience.

Our two main stars will also be appearing in the Horrible Bosses sequel due out next year.

I think most people will enjoy this movie, and I hope this was helpful.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2016
Thoroughly entertaining, funny and some great acting. A few holes in the plot meant I gave 4 stars rather then 5. There were too many "implausible coincidences" that weren't really necessary e.g. the appearance of illegal immigrants distracting the border guard from searching the RV when we had been told that the police had been paid off - the drug boss surely would have done that rather than risk losing 2 tons of drugs and it would have been fun to see the border guard officer "search" the RV, see the Millers terrified of being caught and then see him let the Millers go with a wink. But I would watch it again - and may well do that right now. .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
Normally I wouldn't watch what the Americans laughingly enough call comedy, however this, despite not being clever humour, is watchable. Loved watching Ms Aniston putting most fat American women to shame with her fantastic figure, hated watching that fool out of the Hangover open his mouth and overact. Some nearly funny moments kept me entertained, the motorcycle cop, the spider bite and the tent scene are worth a mention, Aniston's steamy dance was superb, but foul language from her was there only for shock value and made me grimace more than once. Worth a look, but perhaps only the once. It has to be said, Aniston is eye candy and she gets better with age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
A bit of a chick flick, but we see J Anniston is a very different role...a bunch of misfits form a 'family' to collect a huge drug haul and payout.....what could go wrong? , everything! And all done with some great laugh out loud moments!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)