Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars10
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
0
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2013
I must strongly disagree with the previous reviewer. This is a solid documentary that analyses the life and reign of Caligula the third Emperor of Rome. The program begins by explaining his early life and upbringing where virtually all of his family were assassinated by the Emperor Tiberius, his uncle. His life during his late teens as a "guest" of his uncle on the island of Capri, where he received lessons in hedonistic excesses and the exercise of the power of life and death that would colour his later reign as Emperor. The documentary details his wild antics and lifestyle within the political and religious context of the time. Often labelled insane and power crazed, the contributing academics dispel this myth and relate an emperor who carefully planned his actions to maintain his power and humiliate those who displeased him. The end conclusion is that Caligula was a calculating amoral sociopath, rather than a madman. An interesting and informative documentary if you are interested in the Roman Empire.
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
One of the more interesting and perverted figures from Roman history. Was he really as bad as he was painted? get this DVD and find out for yourself.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
great documentary
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
I was disappointed that it was more of a documentary, perhaps I didn't read about it properly
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
same old stories presnted as history mary beard does a better job
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
great series, well worth buying
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
very good product good service
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
A bit of a documentary that I enjoyed learning about the past, as I enjoy the movies as we'll even although they are a bit exaggerated .
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
I have often found problems with History Channel DVDs in that they tend to skimp on the costumes and do not make enough effort. I recall one programme where a Roman soldier's helmet looked for all the world that it was made from milk bottle tops and the plumes on it looked like something the cat had got at.

They often have actors that do not look at all like the character they are portraying and I have seen beards and moustaches coming off because the glue holding them on has let go.

I want accuracy and attention to detail in historical programmes. I recall my holiday to Britain in 1987 where I had occasion to correct the tour guide twice when he erred on his history commentary, probably thinking that tourists wouldn't know their Plantagenets from their Tudors. It's not good enough.
22 comments4 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
Would rather have seen this with actors playing the roles,i did'nt realise it was a documentary.I've seen the film Caligula
0Comment0 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse