Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
498
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 June 2011
This is a sumptuous feast of classic tracks culled from Fleetwood Mac's second incarnation. All the hits and memorable numbers are here in a beautifully remastered double set, currently selling for under a fiver. How good does life get? The set includes 'Dreams', 'Go Your Own Way', 'Rhiannon', 'Little Lies', 'The Chain', and many more delectable, melodically saturated slices of pure musical bliss. If you're in any doubt at all, just take a moment to listen to some of the samples, with Stevie Nicks richly seductive drawl underpinned by some glistening instrumental work, and insidious group harmonies. My only (pedantic) bitch would be that, without the glorious 'Albatross', 'Black Magic Woman' or the haunting 'Green Manilishi', this is really only half the Fleetwood Mac story. However, you can easily remedy this by exploring the wonders of Peter Green's bluesier version of this fine band on The Best Of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac So, to recap: this is possibly the bargain of the century, so grab it while you can!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
I love Fleetwood Mac

I bought Rumours on vinyl and when CD technology was developed, I bought the CD version too.

I have several albums by FM but what really narks me is that the one track that went to number 1 and was played on Top Of The Pops every week for what seemed an eternity is never included in the later compilations.

Those of you who were around in the 60's and 70's will remember the instrumental "Albatross". A very easy to listen to track that reminds one of long lazy days in the hot summer.

This track appears on only one of the albums I have and I had to search many track listings for it. Its just called "Fleetwood Mac - Greatest Hits" on the CBS label (460704-2). It has only 12 tracks on one CD and also features Green Mannalishi, Oh Well (Parts 1 & 2), Black magic Woman and Man Of The World.

I can't understand why "Albatross" does not feature on more of FM's compilation albums. Its not even on the latest 3 CD offering that is being pushed by Sainsbury's.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2004
Having seen Fleetwood Mac in a great live concert in Belfast 2003 I bought this greatest hits CD and it lived up to my expectations. Like almost everyone else on the planet I already had somme Fleetwood Mac in my collection (In my case Rumours and Tusk)but this CD brings the best of those plus some essential tracks which were missing from my collection such as Gypsy and Rhiannon.
If you do not own any Fleetwood Mac this is a great CD to start with.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2005
This should really be called "The Very Best of Fleetwood Mac 1975-1997". Whereas the single disc version of this compilation shows some of the early british blues material this double CD collection is the classic lineup only: Stevie Nicks, Linsdsey Buckingham, Christine McVie, Mick Fleetwood and John McVie. It contains all of the big hits released by this lineup up including 'Go Your Own Way', 'Tusk', 'Little Lies, 'Gypsy', 'Sara', 'Don't Stop' and of course 'Everywhere. This is worth the extra tenner as it also contains some of the best album tracks like 'Sisters of the Moon' and 'Skies the Limit'. Any new fans should buy this as it contains the ultimate mac songs that would be perfect to pull in some new fans.
22 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2009
Well *sigh* yes another best of album but the Mac. Alas I cannot justify giving this album anything other than five stars due to just how amazing they are. This is a great collect of all things Fleetwood Mac. If you are new to the band, wanting a rounded collection of the hits, or just looking to add to your collection, then this is an excellent album. It contains their "very best" songs. Faultless...but we all know that. Worth a purchase if not just to have all these songs collected together.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In the early nineties, every major group put out a BOX SET. Now the trend is to produce a double CD greatest hits package. It's all the rave - Rolling Stones, Elton John, Bee Gees, David Bowie and now Fleetwood Mac. But this is a good thing.
Fleetwood Mac's box set was nearly overly inclusive and really only sold to the most devout fans. A few years later, a single 'Greatest Hits" CD was released. Now with the double CD phenomenon, we have a more affordable and better selection of Fleetwood Mac's best. The Enhanced Sound is truly detectable and most of the hit songs are the singles versions, making for some refreshing song openings.
There is no material before 1975, however, it's a good selection and one that every true fan and every "maybe" fan will enjoy. The liner notes are good and there is a nice songlist with dates and chart notes. There is a fancy CD-ROM attachment with "sales" promotional stuff about the upcoming album, but it's really just another good excuse to keep people from burning a CD copy - yes, with a CD-ROM attachment, most people cannot make copies.
Trivia: It's tough to beleive that a group this popular only had one Number One Hit - "Dreams". They should have had more. This is a great set.
77 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
'The Very Best Of Fleetwood Mac' really highlights the magnificent career of Fleetwood Mac, and is a great reminder of all the classic hits they have given us.

However this is the exact same release as the 2002 release by the same name, only the cover picture has been changed. I am very disappointed that they were too lazy to put together a new collection, or at the very least they could have added some of the songs from their last studio album, 2003's Say You Will to this release. If you don't own the 2002 release this is well worth a buy. It contains all their biggest hits from 1975-1992, including many iconic numbers, such as 'Dreams', 'Little Lies', 'Don't Stop' and 'Everywhere'.

Unfortunately singles like 'Save Me', 'I Do', 'Peacekeeper' and 'Say You Will' are missing from this compilation, thus only 3 stars.

I would still recommend `The Very Best Of Fleetwood Mac` to any music fan, as it is a clear explanation of why Fleetwood Mav is one of the most successful bands of all time.
66 comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2005
but the two disc American version is better, i think, simply because this UK version has only a few of the peter green era tracks. the american one is just the mega-platinum stadium era stuff, while the original Mac can be sampled exclusively and far more extensively on the latest Sony compilation. do it that way, and have the best of both worlds, or just get the cd from the era you like better.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sadly this double collection while great value for money reaffirms that the Nicks/Buckingham reincarnation of Fleetwood Mac really hit its peak with their first two albums and has lived on that reputation for all subsequent releases over the decades.

While much of those two albums is included it also underlines that a lot of subsequent material (about half of this set) is rehashes and filler and rarely hits the same standard (the main tracks form Tusk being the exception). An opportunity to include a lot of singles only released mixes and rare tracks over the years is overlooked and the three live tracks are unexceptional to my ears.

If you are not owners of those early two releases (Fleetwood Mac and Rumours) then I would start with getting those before this compilation
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
I love the mid era Fleetwood Mac, that is Rumours to Mirage with the odd track off Tango, This album seems to have them all in 1 place.
Yes it has a few tracks missing like a favourite of mine for very personal reasons "Brown Eyes" but the rest seem to be here.
This is a great album for a romantic evening or an evening chilling out, some of it is great when driving, its nearly all in the mixture.
I have always loved the band and seen the highs (Very) and the lows they all create the sound.
They all sing on different tracks and every voice has a unique edge that you will not mix better than together.

This is the best compilation I have come across for Fleetwood Mac
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.09

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)