Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2014
I struggled for a while with a few choices before narrowing it down to either the Lumix DMC-SZ3EBK or the Sony, choosing the Sony mainly on the strength of its size, video quality and the fact that it has a CMOS sensor. As luck would have it, a friend recently purchased the Lumix (which is slightly cheaper) and i have had the opportunity to shoot a few hundred photos through both of them under the exact same conditions and of the same subjects. While the Lumix has a slightly crisper lens in bright lighting, the Sony wins in almost every other comparison of features. In low light conditions it is vastly superior (no surprise there), the auto-focus is faster, the battery life is superior, the video is better, the audio is better and more importantly it is much, much smaller. There isn't much to say about this camera that is negative. If I had to find fault I would say that the faceplate of the camera body does have a slightly cheap, plastic feel to it, but who cares? The only other fault I have noticed is that the auto-focus occasionally gets things badly wrong (what compact doesn't?), no problem for someone like myself who tends to take 10 shots instead of 1 (isn't that the big bonus of digital photography?). The size of the camera is quite amazing given the features packed into it; a true slip-it-in-your-top-pocket camera that delivers at an outstanding level. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a top quality, small point and shoot compact.
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
I was in need of a compact point and shoot camera as I gave my previous cybershot away to my sister and was only left with my Nikon DSLR. While there is no compact camera that can compete with the image quality of a modern DSLR they can still come in handy when it's not feasible to lug around a large bodied camera.
After reading many reviews I narrowed my choice down to the Sony Cybershot WX200 or the more expensive Panasonic Lumix TZ40. I could not decide so I bought both and was very surprised to see there was a big difference in image quality.
In all test photo's I took from both cameras the Sony cybershot was noticeably sharper in both outdoor/bright conditions as well as low light conditions. I was not expecting this as the Lumix is being marketed to be the higher end compact.
Needless to say I returned the Panasonic Lumix camera.

Pros:
Ultra compact- Seriously this thing is tiny. It will fit in any pocket!
Weight- without a doubt the lightest camera I've ever held.
Image quality- Very sharp even in low light it holds up very well.
x10 optical zoom, It's amazing how sony managed to fit this focal length into such a small body!
Video- Full HD in both AVCHD and MP4 format.

Cons:
Even though the body is quite solid it does feel a little plasticky compared to my previous Cybershot WSC-W300.
In certain lighting conditions the color balance can be a bit off and over saturated. This is also something I found in the Panasonic lumix., just a minor niggle and not really a deal breaker.

This camera is quite remarkable considering it's size. Sony have not sacrificed image quality to achieve this as it easily out performs some of the higher end compact cameras around.

Buy it and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|111 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Still getting to grips with the camera but so far performing brilliantly as a point and shoot. We have a Digital SLR but the photo quality is as good here and so much easier to carry around. Great feature is that you can be shooting video and can capture stills as you are recording. Comfortably a 5 star product at the price.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
I was in need of a compact point and shoot camera as I gave my previous cybershot away to my sister and was only left with my Nikon DSLR. While there is no compact camera that can compete with the image quality of a modern DSLR they can still come in handy when it's not feasible to lug around a large bodied camera.
After reading many reviews I narrowed my choice down to the Sony Cybershot WX200 or the more expensive Panasonic Lumix TZ40. I could not decide so I bought both and was very surprised to see there was a big difference in image quality.
In all test photo's I took from both cameras the Sony cybershot was noticeably sharper in both outdoor/bright conditions as well as low light conditions. I was not expecting this as the Lumix is being marketed to be the higher end compact.
Needless to say I returned the Panasonic Lumix camera.

Pros:
Ultra compact- Seriously this thing is tiny. It will fit in any pocket!
Weight- without a doubt the lightest camera I've ever held.
Image quality- Very sharp even in low light it holds up very well.
x10 optical zoom, It's amazing how sony managed to fit this focal length into such a small body!
Video- Full HD in both AVCHD and MP4 format.

Cons:
Even though the body is quite solid it does feel a little plasticky compared to my previous Cybershot WSC-W300.
In certain lighting conditions the color balance can be a bit off and over saturated. This is also something I found in the Panasonic lumix., just a minor niggle and not really a deal breaker.

This camera is quite remarkable considering it's size. Sony have not sacrificed image quality to achieve this as it easily out performs some of the higher end compacts cameras around.

Buy it and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
I was attracted to the Sony DSC-WX 200 by its small size and capabilities.

I was not disappointed as the camera is small yet well made for a camera of this type. The front panel and lens housing are made of metal, the rest appears to be plastic. The camera feels solid but is not heavy.

By old-fashioned 35mm standards it has a 25mm-250mm lens, in other words a 10 times zoom range but also a meaningful wide angle as well as telephoto end to the zoom range. It’s not strongly advertised, but in fact there is a digital zoom that extends this by a factor of 2, so that you can in effect achieve a focal length, in 35mm terms, of 500 mm. At its full extension, with maximum optical zoom, it’s not going to break world records for clarity, but here you have a tiny little device that you can hand hold, with good optical stabilisation, that will let you take pictures wherever you are.

The lens is very capable for such a small camera. It focuses down to 5 cm, and, without the benefit of detailed technical tests, it seems to hold its own throughout the zoom range. The built-in image stabilisation means that handheld shots are possible with the zoom well extended, even in low light conditions. The response is a little bit slow, but bearing in mind the size and weight and performance of this little device, it’s not bad. Also the 18 MP capability results in sharp and detailed images that could have been taken on a larger camera, especially at the wide and normal focal lengths. Image contrast suffers a little at the longer focal lengths but this can easily be corrected later.

Experimenting one dark and rainy evening, all too common in the UK, it was possible to take perfectly acceptable pictures at the top setting of 12,500 ASA. They were grainy, of course, that that is to be expected at this sensitivity level, but it was quite remarkable that the camera of this size and weight is able to take photographs under these conditions at all. The camera combines several images to come up with the result, and the result is not highly detailed, and will not compare with a DSLR, but for a camera of this size and weight, the results are quite competent. They have a bit of a watercolour feel to them which is not unattractive. This camera will give you far better photographs than most smart phones and is arguably easier and quicker to use than most, as well as being far cheaper.

The menu structure is relatively simple and intuitive. This is a camera that you can leave automatic if you wish, but if you seek to explore then there are a reasonable range of options available to you, although not full manual control. I particularly like the fact that it is relatively easy to switch between matrix and spot metering, and to dial in exposure compensation, as well as to change the ISO setting. These features are more commonly available in more advanced cameras and it is commendable that they are available here.

The built-in flash is tiny, like the camera, but works extremely well especially at close range. The coverage also appears very even.

Wi-Fi is also quick and simple to use, whether using a smartphone to control the camera, or simply transferring photographs from camera to other devices. The Wi-Fi connection is a little quirky, and sometimes needed to be restarted more than once, but apart from that, it worked well.

The panorama feature on the camera also seems to work well, as does the HD video. Overall, this little device is highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
really delighted with the miniature Sony DSCWX200. So much smaller than the Olympus it was replacing, but easy to handle and I have been delighted with the results.
Photo quality and zoom excellent. Easy to link by wi-fi to the computer - have not yet tried to link with the tv.
Still finding out about all the different settings but finding it all very straightforward to understand.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 June 2013
Colour Name: Black|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The DSC-WX200 is a new-for-2013 digital compact camera from Sony, that replaces last year's DSC-WX100. It's available in three different colours (Black, Silver, White) and comes packaged in a small (15.3 x 6.8 x 13.9 cm) box that contains the following 11 items, but no SDHC card or HDMI cable:

- Sony DSC-WX200 Camera (black)
- Sony NP-BN Battery Pack (silver, lithium-ion, type N, 600 mAh)
- Micro USB Cable
- AC Adaptor
- Power Cord (UK plug)
- Wrist Strap (black, but no slide adjuster)
- Instruction Manual (34 pages)
- Wi-Fi Connection Guide
- European Guarantee Information Document
- Accessories leaflet
- Register Online leaflet

On the back of the camera is a switch for selecting one of three modes (Still Image, iSweep Panorama, Movie). And within each mode, further modes are accessible by turning the control wheel.

Still Image mode:

- Intelligent Auto (Exposure adjustment with automatic settings)
- Superior Auto (Shoot sharp image reducing blur and noise automatically)
- Program Auto (Auto exposure with adjustable settings)
- 3D Still Image (Shoots images that can be displayed on 3D TVs in 3D)
- Scene Selection (Select best scene mode for environment and shoot)
- Picture Effect (Shoot images selecting the desired effect)
- Background Defocus (Shoot with background defocus)

iSweep Panorama mode:

- iSweep Panorama (Shoot panoramic image by panning across scene)
- Underwater Sweep Panorama (Shoot underwater panorama with natural colours)
- Picture Effect (Shoot images selecting the desired effect)

Movie mode:

- Intelligent Auto (Exposure adjustment with automatic settings)
- Scene Selection (Select best scene mode for environment and shoot)

I spent the last few days testing out the camera and exploring its main features. Here are my observations.

Pros:

- The camera is very small, measuring just 92 x 52 x 21 mm, about the same size as a pack of playing cards
- The camera is very light, weighing just 123 g with the NP-BN battery and an 8 GB SDHC card inserted
- The 10x optical zoom lens hides within the camera when off, but protrudes an astonishing 38 mm when fully zoomed to 10x
- The 25 mm wide-angle lens is really useful for taking photos indoors and capturing interiors
- In Continuous Shooting mode, the camera can take a burst of 10 photos at an impressive rate of 10 per second
- The range of ISO values available goes all the way up to ISO 12800 (ISO 100, ISO 200, ISO 400, ISO 800, ISO 1600, ISO 3200, ISO 6400, ISO 12800)
- The 2.7" LCD screen looks sharp (480x320) and bright (brighter than the Retina display on the iPhone 4S)
- The interface can be customised with one of three Display colours (Black, White, Pink). Black looks best, I think
- The camera accepts 11 different types of memory card (SD, SDHC, SDXC, microSD, microSDHC, microSDXC, Memory Stick XC-HG Duo, Memory Stick PRO Duo, Memory Stick PRO-HG Duo, Memory Stick Duo, Memory Stick Micro M2)
- The camera has 48 MB of built-in internal memory, which will let you take seven photos without a memory card
- In Scene Selection mode, there are 15 presets you can choose from (Soft Skin, Soft Snap, Anti Motion Blur, Landscape, Backlight Correction HDR, Night Portrait, Night Scene, Hand-held Twilight, High Sensitivity, Gourmet, Pet, Beach, Snow, Fireworks, Underwater)
- In Intelligent Auto mode, the camera recognises the shooting conditions and automatically chooses an appropriate Scene from the presets available
- There are nine Picture Effects that you can shoot with (HDR Painting, Rich-tone Monochrome, Miniature, Toy camera, Pop Colour, Partial Colour, Soft High-key, Watercolour, Illustration)
- The Face Detection function is capable of detecting (but not recognising) an impressive eight faces in one photo
- In Playback mode, there's a bizarre Beauty Effect that enables you to lighten, darken, smooth and de-shine skin, enlarge eyes and whiten teeth
- In iSweep Panorama mode, you can take a full 360˚ (11,520x1080) panorama, all the way around you
- In Movie mode, you can choose between AVCHD (1920x1080 50i at 24 Mbps, 1920x1080 50i at 17 Mbps, 1440x1080 50i at 9 Mbps) or MP4 (1440x1080 25p at 12 Mbps, 1280x720 25p at 6 Mbps, 640x480 25p at 3 Mbps) formats
- In Movie mode, you can use Sony's new Active SteadyShot technology, which does an excellent job of smoothing out walking shots
- In Movie mode, you can use the 10x optical zoom, which has a very quiet motor that doesn't ruin the sound recorded
- In Movie mode, the recorded sound quality is great, with good stereo imaging, thanks to the two microphones on the top of the camera
- There's an HDMI micro port on the bottom of the camera, that enables you to physically connect it directly to a TV, via an HDMI cable
- There's a View on TV option that enables you to wirelessly beam your photos directly to a TV with Wi-FI Direct Mode (just like Apple's AirPlay)
- There's a useful In-Camera Guide (built-in instruction manual) that has its own dedicated button for easy access
- You can charge the camera in just 2 hours, via the supplied Micro USB Cable, which is compatible with Apple's 5W USB Power Adapter

Cons:

- The battery life provided by the NP-BN Battery Pack is very poor. I used it for an hour or so, before getting a low battery warning
- The Battery Charge indicator doesn't show the percentage or remaining time left, meaning you never truly know when you're going to run out
- The camera feels a bit plasticky and cheap, creaking slightly when squeezed. It's not exactly the build quality you'd expect from Sony
- Because it's so small and doesn't have a grip, the camera is quite fiddly and difficult to hold. Make sure you use the supplied Wrist Strap
- The viewing angle of the 2.7" LCD screen is quite limited, and darkens/solarises easily when viewed from the side
- The sensor size is only 1/2.3", with 18.2 Megapixels crammed onto it, resulting in noisy images that exhibit the dreaded "watercolour effect" when viewed at 100%
- There are no 3:2 or 1:1 aspect ratio options in Still Image mode, only 4:3 and 16:9
- You can't set the Aperture or Shutter Speed manually, even in Program Auto mode
- You can't limit the maximum ISO value that the camera will choose (e.g. ISO 800) when the ISO is set to ISO Auto
- You can't turn off the Review Image that's automatically shown after you take a photo, which limits how quickly you can take photos
- You can't silence the annoying musical operation tones, without also silencing the useful double beep that indicates when a shot is in focus

Overall, I think the Sony DSC-WX200 is a good camera, and an impressive feat of miniaturisation considering its 10x optical zoom lens, Full HD video recording, and Wi-Fi circuitry. However, poor battery life, awkward handling, and "watercolour effect" image quality are all issues that make me hesitant to recommend it. Unless your main concern is size and pocketability, you might be better off looking at a larger yet similarly priced camera, such as the Sony DSC-HX20V or even the Canon SX240 HS.
44 comments|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
I got this so i didnt have to carry my larger bulky DSLR when going away on holiday (good old cheap airlines baggage allowance) .
This works great and is tiny , even though it was only a long weekend i didnt have to worry about charging the battery and took plenty of pictures .
Photos and focus and shutter speed are all fine for such a small unit , still cant beat the DSLR but well worth a purchase .
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
Everything seemed perfect with this camera, until I made a test video; on using the zoom function, from approximately 8x to 10x focal length, the camera was recording a warping, shimmering like disturbance, which rendered the recordings unuseable.

It was most likely a fault with the lens mechanism, although Amazon were unable to provide a replacement. I was advised to return the camera for a refund, which I did.

What a shame, as on full wide-angle setting the camera takes great pictures and superb video - it's also incredibly small and would easily fit into a shirt pocket.

If you're someone who likes to "zoom-in close" on your subject, then perhaps look for another camera - or, as I mentioned above, the refurbished camera I purchased was more likely to have a defect.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
This was purchased as a travel camera to supplement other - much larger - bits of kit. After 1 month and around 300 pictures later I am pleased with the result but beware - the battery is a NP-BN and NOT NP-BN1 which so many write ups, including Sony docs, state. The NP-BN is a post 2012 battery and strangely hard to find in the UK and is thinner - to fit a thin camera. The NP-BN1 will not fit. If you are happy with one battery - fine. If not - ensure you buy the right one. The camera is not overloaded with features but it is nevertheless very accurate on exposure and unobtrusive. Would get 5 stars with a separate battery charger [charge in camera only but can charge from usb port on a computer], written documentation and commonality with the freely available NL-BG1 but - it 'aint got them!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 27 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)