Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

In spite of the rather gimmicky name, this is a very nice wine indeed. It is a blend of Malbec, Argentina's signature grape, with Shiraz and Cabernet Sauvignon which gives it plenty of flavour. It is full of fruit but nicely balanced with spice and some firmness in the tannins. It's very full-bodied, so don't have it with anything delicately flavoured, but it's really good with robust dishes and red meat, and it makes a very enjoyable glass on its own.

I've had quite a few bottles of The Waxed Bat since it appeared in Laithwaites' list a few years ago, and I've always thoroughly enjoyed it. Warmly recommended if you like a dark, full-bodied red.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
very nice full bodied red, gets better if left open awhile before serving. Great UPS service as always
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
D.E.L.I.S.C.I.O.U.S.!!!!!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
Great service from Amazon & Laithwaites and a very drinkable red!!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
Amazing flavour, spicy undertone. Great drink.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
Not quite as good as I thought it might be but very drinkable. I like my reds silky smooth so will just have to try some others. Shame!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
Super fast delivery & well packaged. Lovely wine, very drinkable. Best to open and/or decant a while before drinking.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
Had this delivered to friend in Scotland for Xmas as I am in the midlands. Great for a red wine lover
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
Good priced Argentinian wine, arrived on time and well packaged. Will order again. Thank you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
Bloody Lovely!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.