Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars117
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 15 July 2007
Those of you who are criticising this as a "cash-in" are missing the point. The tracks on this CD have all been remastered from the original master tapes and as such are sonically far superior to the other Roses CDs, particularly the debut album and the earlier 'Complete Stone Roses' compilation. Both of these CDs sound flat and lifeless by comparison despite the wonderful music. As well as including most of the best tracks on the 1st.album, there's a number of non-album tracks like 'One Love','What the world is waiting for','Sally Cinnamon',etc.
'Elephant Stone' and 'I am the resurrection' are both the full-length versions too. Obviously a compilation like this isn't going to please everyone, but this really is wonderful timeless music.
All we need now are proper remasters of the debut, Second Coming, and also the Complete Stone Roses compilation.....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
on 18 August 2005
If you're wondering which album to buy then dont falter in buying this one because this album satisfies from start to finish. This album has the full version of I Wanna Be Adored- one of their best tunes. There are few albums which dont disappoint at some point and this album stands out in the minority. If you're looking to complete your collection then this is a must buy or if you've never heard the Stone Roses before then this is all you'll ever need.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 31 March 2014
Not being a listener to the radio , or a watcher of tv musical programmes , I don't get to hear much new music , just the odd snatch here and there , which is what happened with the Stone Roses , liked what I heard , found this album at a bargain price on Amazon , so took a chance and bought it , wow what a treat it is , I had heard of this group but never heard them , if you understand what I mean , I am a 50 's Rock ' n ' Roll person basically , although I have a large eclectic collection , ranging from Bruce Springsteen ( the best ) , through Classical , Blues , Jazz , Pop etc , I consider myself fortunate to have , at long last , come to the Stone Roses , because they are very , very talented musically , with some great songs that meld several musical strands into a very melodic and exciting blend , they have gone straight into my personal favourites , if you have not heard them , give them a listen , they get better with every play !!!!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
on 16 September 2004
Beautifully packaged and remastered version of the Stone Roses' best album tracks and their singles. Informative and attractive booklet with discography included.
Nothing new in terms of musical content but the ideal one-buy Stone Roses CD for your collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 7 May 2014
You don't have to be a stereophile to notice - it's a glaring difference. Listening to She Bangs The Drums off their self-titled debut CD versus the same song on The Very Best Of is night and day. Pretty much everything sounds better on The Very Best Of when compared with the debut album (or collections of singles/b-sides). However, the songs included from the Second Coming were already near-perfect recordings on the original CD so there are no noticeable differences in terms of improvements due to remastering, etc. Song selection was as good as can be expected given they wanted to keep it down to 80 minutes. Even cutting out the extremely long intro to Breaking Into Heaven is forgivable for this reason. Flaws: While I certainly find Sally Cinammon (from The Compete Stone Roses) to be a below average song of inferior recording quality, they worked such wonders on it here that I can somewhat enjoy it on this CD. However, I would still jettison this song in favor of Shoot You Down. It is the only song that really needs to be on this CD that is absent. There are also better songs they excluded from the Second Coming in favor of Begging You, but that is opinion whereas Sally Cinammon is a horrible pick in the opinion bordering fact catagory for a Very Best Of.

Overall feeling about this CD: I previously owned all their offerings and did not get a "deal" price-wise, but still thought I made a great purchase. This is the best sound quality and representation mainly of their 2 "real" albums The Stone Roses & The Second Coming with a few other tunes (singles/b-sides) thrown in.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 5 November 2002
At long last we finally have a "Best of" compilation from the greatest band of all time. Unlike "The Complete Stone Roses" this compilation includes tracks from The Stone Roses' triumphant yet somewhat underrated album "Second Coming".
The album opens in true Stone Roses style. The fantastic introduction to "I Wanna Be Adored" brings the same excited anticipation as sitting on an airport runway, waiting to begin what promises to be an experience of a lifetime. Indeed, this is what you get.
Fans of the Stone Roses will be pleased to see the best tracks from their "pop-rock" era (She Bangs the Drums, Waterfall, Sally Cinnamon) as well as their more mature, more classic rock tunes (Love Spreads, Breaking into Heaven). Of course the album had to include perhaps the best known and most undeniable nomination for a classic by the band, "Fools Gold".
The biggest disappointment about the album is that it can't last forever and therefore some magnificent tracks like Sugar Spun Sister, Tightrope and Mersey Paradise had to be omitted. The time constriction has also taken its toll on the Stone Roses' love for incredibly long tunes which had to be abbreviated, unfortunately.
The Stone Roses are no longer together so there is of course, no new material on this album. In the eternal quest by fans of the Stone Roses to own every recording by the band there will be a core of die-hard fans who will by this album for the sake of it. Having only recorded two albums (excluding Turns to Stone and the Garage Flower), anyone already owning Stone Roses material might be better off giving this one a miss if they want more Stone Roses for their money.
However, the Very Best of The Stone Roses is ideal for anyone who, for whatever reason, does not yet own anything by the band. This album would make a terrific addition to any CD collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 12 June 2012
I originally got this album in 2002 but my copy was scratched from various moves, so with the boys back together again this has come at a perfect time. This version comes fully remastered by John Leckie in 2012 (original album tracks remastered for the albums 20th anniversary, and additional track done this year)and the sound quality is can hear the individual genius of each of the band members so clearly.

For a band with only 2 albums (so far!) it is pretty incredible that there would be even more tracks that should be on this, but for a 1CD Best Of, this is spot on.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 29 November 2012
Can't believe some people have actually given this 1-star. Yes it is probably a cash-in, but as cash-in's go it's a pretty good one. Fully remastered tracks, none album tracks, extended versions of some songs. Comes in a very attractive fold out album including some great artwork. If this is ripping me off, then rip me off all you want.
Just wish there was a longer version of - I wanna be adored - 4.51 is no where near long enough.......
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 April 2015
Here's the thing, if you don't own any of the studio albums, and wish to hear virtually all the best-known hits in the most excellent remastered sound quality, all of them on just the one album, 'The Very Best of the Stones Roses' is the compilation you need.

For starters, the contents were hand-picked by the band members themselves, and not only does this CD contain six songs from their self-titled 1989 debut, but this 'Very Best Of' is helpfully structured to open and close with the same songs in their album versions. 15 carefully selected tracks, including 'Sally Cinnamon', 'Fools Good', 'She Bangs the Drums' and 'World is the World Waiting For', there's nothing at all new in the track listing, but the biggest songs from one of Manchester's finest ever rock bands are all present, what more could you ask for?

I must also mention the excellent packaging of this collection, illustrated with awesome artwork, and the booklet, which contains a well-written account of the band and their history, plus brand new quotes and memories from the lad's themselves, which are very insightful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 10 September 2014
An Indie Band of the highest quality I will always be listening to. I saw these guys in concert last year and they were tremendous. I would imagine that a lot of new bands today would be influenced by the Roses expertise in how they perform. However it is about time we had some new music from this band. Rock on!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Second Coming
Second Coming by The Stone Roses

The Remixes
The Remixes by The Stone Roses

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.