Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars186
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2013
I purchased this cd thinking that this album was the 2013 remaster. I received it yesterday only to find after listening to it that this cd is a 2004, old remaster. The music isn't crisp. lively or at all sounding like a remaster done this year. I have the 2004 remaster & I listened to the 2004 version & the 2013 REMASTER & they technically sound the same. The new remaster version should have huge improvments in sound. This version doesn't. DON'T BUY THIS VERSION. PURCHASED THE REAL 2013 REMASTER-DELUXE VERSION. YOU GET THE FULL ALBLUM & BONUS TRACKS. YOU WILL GET SIGNIGICANTLY BETTER SOUND BUT THE DELUXE VERSION WILL COST YOU MORE $ £. DO NOT BUY THE SO CALLED REMASTER, BUT THE DELUXE VERSION.
11 comment19 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 June 2014
Now and again one comes across an album that hasn't got a duff or even a "make-weight" track on it. Every track is, in it's own way, a winner.
This is such an album.Wow!

The sort of record I could leave on repeat play for a while.
My opinion, yours may differ.

Variations on this boilerplate text will be applied to a very small number of albums where necessary - to a handful of "desert Island" discs that don't need trimming down or skipped tracks.

i made my daughter sit down and listen to this properly a couple of weeks ago.
it was wonderful watching her face light up.
"I know this!" and "Is THAT Fleetwood Mac?" and "Why didn't you tell me about this before?"

Like with Monty Python, she was aware of innumerable cultural references to the album in samples, soundtrack snippets...

Timeless.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
Who would have thought that an album featuring two sets of squabbling couples would go on to be one of the biggest selling records of all time.But that is exactly what Rumours is. An album where two couples vent their spleen against one another over the course of some songs. But God what songs they are. From Stevie Nicks we get Dreams(the only US no.1 lifted from the album),from Lindsay Buckingham we get Go Your Own Way(with its unforgettable opening line) and Never Going Back Again and Christine McVie with the beautiful Songbird. Of course they could also knock out killer pop tunes like Don't Stop, Second Hand News,You Make Loving Fun and The Chain complete with that amazing bass line courtesy of John McVie.And let us not forget the contribution of Mick Fleetwood who managed to hold everything together and deliver some great drumming.Alright, it is all very slick and Californian but as an album it has no equals and stands as the high point in Fleetwood Macs career.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
I have resisted giving the obligatory five stars for this review although I appreciate that most reviewers have awarded the full amount in theirs. I feel that the album, as good as it is, is brilliant with the well known tracks such as the best track on the disc and the best recorded by Mac in my opinion, "Dreams", and others such as "Go Your Own Way, Don't Stop, You Make Lovin' Fun" and "The Chain". However, some other tracks such as "Never Going Back Again, Songbird" and "I Don't Want To Know", although pleasant enough, have a filler drop in quality feel to those songs. This creates an unbalanced listen and I admit to skipping the latter songs mentioned in my review.

Despite my admittedly picky review, "Rumours" is a beautifully iconic and legendary album and it is easy to see why for many, it is their favourite album of all time. As previously aforementioned, in my opinion, "Dreams" written and performed by the gorgeous Stevie Nicks, is the highlight of the album and of the Fleetwood Mac back catalogue of songs. Macs almost as legendary personal struggles going on at the time of the recording of "Rumours" are well known and are reflected in the best songs on the album, "Dreams" and "Go Your Own Way".

The audio quality on this cd is pristine and the eight page liner contains lyrics to all the songs, photos of the band and a list of personnel and recording details.

Highly recommended, this is an almost perfect album from one of the best groups ever to enter a recording studio.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
Some albums are hyped up and upon listening to them you wonder what all the fuss is about, however Rumors is not one of those. The classic Fleetwood Mac album is an absolute joy to hear and deserves a place in everyone's collection.

It speaks volumes about the strength of the album when EVERY song is just pure gold, believe me there is no filler here! My favorite songs are: Go Your Own Way, Gold Dust Woman, Dreams, Never Going Back Again, The Chain and You Make Loving Fun.
Absolute gem of an album with 11 superbly crafted songs.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
This album is, quite simply, a class act!

The Buckingham/Nicks partnership engendered such memorable melodies, vocal chemistry on the harmonies (with Christine McVie too) and lyrical truisms.

They transformed the band from a blues-based outfit to a mainstream rock group. I hate to say this but one could argue that they could have found any decent bassist and drummer to join the band, they would have still been great, such is the contribution by Lindsey and Stevie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Rumours, what can I write about this? Most of the songs are instantly recognisable, some bits are so familiar you might swear Fleetwood Mac nicked the riff from somewhere else.

Rumours is an album of it's time, featuring a band at it's peak and has become a classic.

You might have worn your old copy out, you might never have owned it before, but whatever reason you buy this album for you will soon appreciate it for what it is.

A true classic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
When you've lost this, one of,the best Albums ever produced (yes the 70's was a big part of my development phase) then it's nice to know you can get it replaced from this supplier at an amazingly low price. Good quality recording. Every track a masterpiece, even the one that went on to become the "Top Gear" theme tune. Beautiful graphics, that cover photo is still a showstopper.
Thank You so much.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
Being focussed in a different genre, I never sampled this style of music nor indeed Fleetwood Mac at all. Without ANY DOUBT this is a magnificent album, not only of storytelling but amazing sound/music.

Really, just buy it - you won't be doing any better - it's one of the very best.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
great record classic album no doubt but this was only re released a few years ago as double cd what more do you want essentially it doesnt get any better than the 10-11 original tracks so why would you want more inferior stuff not sure
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.