Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
372
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£4.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2014
Feels like the film has already been done.. and it has twice... full of LOL's but not as good as the first two films. still worth a watch but feels like its being milked for all it can and the franchise didn't need a 3rd film..
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It goes without saying that ‘The Hangover’ (part I) was a great film. Its sequel (part II) was met with a mixed reception (personally, I quite liked it, while thinking it wasn’t quite as good as the first one). However, now with Part III, they really seem to be dragging something out simply to make money.

The sad fact: Part III just isn’t that funny. There simply aren’t enough jokes in there to warrant calling it a ‘comedy.’

Other people have noted how they’ve ‘changed the formula’ with this one, i.e. there’s no actual hangover in this one where the cast wake up, not knowing what they did the night before and having to piece together the clues. Of course if Part III HAD followed this rule, everyone would be saying that it was just a second copy of the original, so the film-makers probably couldn’t win either way.

Also, coupled with Part III being a little low on jokes, Zach Galifianakis’ character ‘Alan’ has completed changed since the last two movies. Before, he used to be a loveable, but dumb sort. Now he’s a complete idiot (and not a very nice one at that), leaving us finding it much harder to root for him during this third outing.

However, whether you notice, or are that bothered by, the change in his character, it doesn’t make much difference to the script, i.e. it’s still short on jokes. Yes, the movie is watchable and short enough not to make me think I’d wasted an hour and a half of my life, but, when you compare it to Part I, it’s noticeable how far it’s fallen.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
I went to see this film just last week at the cinema and I had high expectations as I love the hangover series. I was satisfied. This film granted, was not as good as the second or first one but was still hilarious. People are giving it a right beating just because it's not as good as the first two but it's still quality entertainment. Maybe it's not Todd Philips best film and I did prefer The Hangover Part 1 & 2 and Due Date but i don't think people should be so harsh. This is a hilarious film and a great end to The Hangover Trilogy ;)
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 March 2014
When Doug (Bartha) is kidnapped by crime boss Marshall (Goodman), it falls to the wolfpack to track down & bring in recently escaped convict Leslie Chow(Jeong) & the stolen loot he took, to get Doug back alive. They embark on a crazy & wild ride across Mexico & Las Vegas.

Part III is quite different from the previous two installments, as there is no drunken 'hangover' amnesia mayhem that traditionally starts these films off, hence the title. But instead an interesting & totally nuts unfolding of events focusing around an intervention with Alan whose off his med's & Leslie Chow whose affiliation drags the wolfpack into the gun sights of crime boss Marshall. The intervention side of the story allows for some heartfelt nostalgia & flashbacks of the good times over the trilogy. While Chow's side offers up the bulk of the trip they go on during the film, which adds a darker, serious edge to make the danger/threat element beliveable.

The jokes are a little hit & miss in some places, but they're is some consistency with the laughs & situations they get into, from small subtle nuggets to in your face hilarity as Alan's & Chow's eccentric humor takes the front seat with Phil (Bradley Cooper) & Stu (Ed Helms) chipping in to good effect. The celebrity appearances by John Goodman & Melissa McCarthy add well to the film, Goodman's larger than life menacing baddie heightens the threat element & McCarthy's larger than life comedy injection rapport with Zach Galifianakis (Alan) is brilliant, although i may not eat a lolly again *shudder*. Keep watching as the end credits roll for a snippet of classic Hangover.

In conclusion, from the huge success of Part I they obviously cashed in on Part II with a much more OTT retread. Part III at least offers up a slightly different approach/twist on the material & as a result is a lot better than Part II, while not far off Part I in all honesty. Contains strong language, violence & mature themes. Recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
They should have stopped making these after the first one - there are only so many times you can watch this chain of events before it just becomes utterly ridiculous, which this film is. I absolutely loved the first film, hated the second, and would say that this is only marginally better than the second.

When your opening scene is a guy driving down the motorway towing a giraffe in a trailer, you pretty much understand what the rest of the film was like, and I wasn't wrong.

It's just slapstick madness and that's just not my bag I'm afraid. Here's hoping they don't make number 4 - although I'm sure they will.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
Ok, this isn't what Hangover fans are used to, but I say it was necessary to move away from the same plot of the first two movies.
At times the humour is just forced but comedy takes a back seat in this with character development taking over. Many are unhappy with this but if you are making 3 movies with the same characters it is necessary
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
I enjoyed this more than Hangover 2 as it wasn't just a rehash of the 1st film but had a bit more of a plot of it's own. Although it was still very much part of the trilogy, with running jokes and such. Also, you needed to have seen the others to understand why they would put up with Alan (Zach Galifianakis), who is potentially the MOST annoying character EVER.
Love these films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
I found that I had to fast forward much of this film. The style of humour is very reminiscent of American Pie - gross out, vulgar and offensive - which tires after a while, especially in people who presumably graduated some time back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Just no way near as good as the other 2, as a massive fan of the the first two was really excited for this one, but just rubbish even found it hard to watch all the way through, so disappointed, and such a shame as the first two were awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
Such a funny film. I love the hangover series and thought this was brilliant too.
However, it is the weakest out of the three. If you didn't enjoy the previous two, or didn't rate them, I wouldn't watch this film. Only for fans of the hangover films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)