Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars293
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£4.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2015
Whilst the orignal actually had a plot and some conedic moments this sequel virtually has neither. Who would believe that Grown Ups 2 is actually Adam Sandlers first ever sequel, and it sucks big time. Kids under 12 will most probably love the tired American values but honestly if you're any older and like this movie go to the mirror now and slap yourself.

There's only so much crassness and comptempt for the audeince watching that can be taken. Sandler and his rich buddies, who are also portrayed as rich in the movie, comfortable isn't it? are having a great time at our expense. So throw this in if you want but if you give us zero plot and zero comedy we will come after you.

Grown Ups 2 is full of casual sexism, predictable dribbling plot and little spolit brats that you would want to seriously scream at. Bottom line is is that its not funny. Sandler somehow has swum up to new low depths- and you kind of get the feeling that as his bank account grows he knows it and sadly doesn't care.
11 comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
The sequel comes with very little plot. Our foursome all have their child issues. David Spade suddenly has a long lost son so he doesn't miss out on the fun. There is an 80's theme party with a ridiculous townies vs. college boys fight.

The humor is still crude, but perhaps a bit less than before as I found it tolerable. The film mostly relies on one liners and insults as is typical in a Sandler production. This film also highlights the talents or lack thereof of many Hollywood larvae including the Sandler clan, Patrick Schwarzenegger, and Paulina Gretzky. Team Jacob fans can watch Taylor Lautner in an uncredited role as Fratboy Andy. My how they have fallen.

Will work as a rental. No hurry to rush out and see it.

Parental Guide: Brief male rear nudity. 1 f-bomb. No sex. Sex talk and general crudeness including urination, feces, and fart humor.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
I'll start by saying I loved Grown Ups 1, so maybe I was just expecting more because I liked the first one.

I think the main problem is Grown Ups 1 has something of a plot and theme; nostalgia, and modern childhood life vs 'the good old days' childhood life. Trouble is, Grown Ups 2 loses this. It doesn't have a plot. Just people randomly going about their day doing silly or funny or just weird stuff. Where as 1 had a plot/theme to hold the comedy together, this film just felt like a collection of 'funny' stuff someone went 'wouldn't it be funny if' and then just cobbled it together into one film.

The other problem is Grown Ups 1 had, mostly, realistic(ish) characters that just happened to find themselves in funny situations or doing funny things, which is what made it funny.....Grown Ups 2, however, seems to rely on what you saw a lot in old Adam Sandler films, and that's over the top and completely cartoony/unrealistic comedy characters that are meant to just be funny because of how they are generally odd. So it shifted away from (kind of) realistic(ish) comedy to slap stick silly cartoony comedy.

Having said that, for the price listed at the moment (£3), it's a bit of silly fun to have on while having a few drinks or with friends when you're likely to be chatting a bit anyway.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 April 2014
The four key families from the first film's summer holiday escapade, patriarch's Adam Sandler, Kevin James, Chris Rock & David Spade move the comedy back home this time as the parents childhood's & their children's current ones come under the madcap comedy microscope. It has some genuine funny & heartfelt moments in it's by the numbers story with bullies, first loves, family bonding & dads crush on the hot ballet teacher etc... but not all the jokes quite work & as a series it's not that attention grabbing, more of a holiday & mess around for the cast who are all friends in real life & make this when they have spare time in their schedules.

The matriarch's also all return, Salma Hayek, Maya Rudolph & Maria Bello. Along with the usual faces of Steve Buscemi, Tim Meadows, Nick Swardson, Peter Dante, Director Dennis Dugan , Adam's wife Jackie & their children. As well as a host of guest appearances & cameo's from Shaquille O'Neal, Steve Austin, Andy Samberg , Jon Lovitz & Taylor Lautner among the many famous faces.

In conclusion, Grown Up's 2 does entertain enough to make watching it not a total waste of time, arguably slightly better than the first one(?). Contains mild language, violence & mature themes. Worth a watch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 April 2015
Some days Sandler is engaged. Some days he is not, and on those days, he usually brings his friends along for the ride. Today, Sandler is unengaged.

Grown Ups 2 has no plot. It wouldn't surprise me if they had no script. It has some funny moments, because with this many comedians in one place (particularly Kevin James, who is so likeable that he tends to somehow bypass terrible material and make it funny) there are bound to be. Taylor Lautner as a villainous fratboy is perfectly cast and sinks his teeth into the role brilliantly.

Nothing really happens. Some of them have marital problems. Some of them have no problems. Some of them barely have character traits. The film squeaks by as being just about watchable, although at times it's offensive - the female bodybuilder who David Spade falls for is the butt of a lot of very distasteful, mainly transphobic jokes.

Ultimately, it's just barely watchable, but paying money for it would be insane unless you're a Sandler completist. I watched it on Netflix and I still felt like I wanted my money back.

I'll say this much though. Somehow, despite a plot, it's better than the first one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
Not as good as the first film but still with some funny moments. It was a shame there was no Rob Schneider in this follow up because I find him funny. The jokes in this movie were a bit mostly cheap jokes, not smutty as such but its like the writers tried less hard believing it would all just work out.

We watched it as a family and then put it in a box to go in the loft. We have watched the first film a few times and this one just doesn't compare. It doesn't have the cute moments and the fun factor of being away from it all for a few days.

If it had been more than £3 I wouldn't have bought it. I did get an Ultraviolet code with this DVD though. So I can not watch it again from my Flixster account.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
Terrible - the original was at least funny, this has zero laughs and zero story running through. Actually switches it off, couldn't care less how it ended.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
My son (10) really wanted to see this. It shouldn't have been a PG. Neither of us actually found much of it funny and much of the 'humour' was offensive.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
The worst movie I have ever seen. I can only assume that the good reviews on here are lampoons and/or written by Adam Sandler's friends and family.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
This film just seems like numerous comedy sketches rolled into a feature as a result of character continuity rather than plot. After an hour of watching I was still wondering what the point was and where the film was going. Once it was over, I still wasn't sure. This doesn't mean that the film isn't funny - in places it is very funny. However, it is random, disjointed and ultimately bizarre. If you like Adam Sandler and Chris Rock portraying themselves then you will love this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.